We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santiago Bay Garden & Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

'Santiago' has a good beachfront location with 2 swimming pools and great view from the ocean-view rooms. Our room was clean and cosy and had a balcony facing beach (which is public, but pretty clean), we had no maintenance problems, so won't be able to rate resort's service in this terms.
The only little disappointment was that most of their offerred indoor activities are not really available (no pool as stick is broken, no cards or any other board games, etc.). As the weather is not always sunny, it would be helpful if they got all that fixed so guests can enjoy their stay even if it's raining.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is definintely the one you would need to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    70
    47
    10
    13
See reviews for
28
67
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dumaguete
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were fortunate to have arrived at night time. Just imagine our delighted surprise with the unforgettable view of the shallow, wide, white sanded beach which greeted us in the morning's light. It was spectacular!
Unfortunately it is the resort's ONLY outstanding feature. God alone deserves the credit for it.

Our initial favourable impression didn't last long. Reception of our large group proceeded more or less quickly and efficiently. Room keys had been pre-delivered to our assigned quarters and air conditioners pre-started to relieve some of the humidity. A nice touch. This was quickly dampened when several of us discovered that our names had been misspelled on our welcoming signs. If you get this sort of thing wrong, you create greater damage than any good will which might have otherwise been earned.

The view is spectacular but otherwise this property is entirely over rated.

There is no such thing as preventative maintenance. The single pair of floor level electric outlets in our room were Afro engineered together with scotch tape! As our room's description had nor specifically mentioned HOT WATER, my wife had advised me to expect none. She was correct!
I did, at least, expect the water to flow to the shower head. It would have, too, with the installation of the necessary and missing faucet gasket at the faucet's handle. What water existed arrived at extremely low pressure - wait for it. On our last day that 'low pressure' became 'no pressure'.

The toilet paper roller had been installed incorrectly against the ceramic wall during construction of the resort, whenever that was. Nobody had ever bothered to modify or correct it since. The paper roll was left to fend for itself.

There is a free Wi-Fi connection available at the restaurant. It is marginal at best.

We stayed at this property as part of the Suroy Suroy Sugbo 2014 visit to the Camotes Islands. This resort might have somehow "conned" the Province of Cebu tourism department that it was worthy of patronage. The majority of ordinary tour participants likely felt otherwise.

The duty of a manager is to manage. I stopped reading after about 20 Trip Advisor reviews as the 'new' manager, who has been around long enough to address at least the minor complaints has FAILED to do so. My further reading was only reminding me of further and further deficiencies of this property.

The rooms at this property are of 1960 roadside motel style and type. They could be so much better if the owners / manager actually cared about their property.

Do visit the Camotes Island group. Do witness this unforgettable vista. Do have fun in the shallow waters of this gorgeous beach. Do stay someplace else!

In today's competitive tourism market, I could NOT recommend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: Do so at another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco ,CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We ended up staying here on the 2nd since it was our only choice.
( See my review on Pito's Sutokil )
The price wasn't bad at all. I think it came down to like $36 per night. The hotel view was excellent! Breathtaking..... The hotel grounds was ok. Lots and lots of stairs. We walked from the beach to the lobby and it was a good hike. They have 2 pools, bar with pool table and dart boards. Although, most,if not, all of their guests goes to Pito's to drink and eat. The staff was not so great.We crossed paths with a lot of their employees and none of them said hello. Front desk is a little on the slow side. The room was so outdated. We just used this place to sleep. We spent 99% of our time at Pito's Sutokil.

Room Tip: Whichever room your staying at, its gonna be a walk to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AveinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel facilities were basic:
- AC
- 2 beds (which were larger than I expected, good for 2-3)
- bathroom
- TV (don't think they had cable)
- closet (which we didn't really use); and
- a vanity table with a big mirror

The view on the second floor is great and they have chairs and a table outside the room, if you like to hang out. At first the AC seemed like a fan and didn't cool the room fast enough, even though we've set it to cool right away.

There's not really much to do in the resort. The beach is shallow and when it's low tide, the water goes far enough that you can walk on a wide sand strip. There's pool that's up to 5-6ft and provides a view of the sea.

I only wish they could have the restaurant open for 24 hours. I wanted to eat something sweet that evening but no staff was around as they have a 10PM curfew. I think it's good for staying the night. Besides, we were there to explore the island for most of the day, not stay in one resort.

I'm not sure if our guide/driver was employed by the resort but he was great! Kuya Wil, albeit the silent type, brought us to the usual tourist spots and was approachable when we had questions about the places or adjusting our schedule. The best thing he did for us was on our last day, he managed to get us on the last trip back to Cebu, when the lady at the ticket office wouldn't sell us any more tickets because the roro was "full na".

Room Tip: We got a room on the second floor and although climbing can be quite taxing, the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Camotes is similar to any other small islands of the Philippines but the view from the Santiago Bay is excellent especially at 5:30pm. Low tide, wide shore, moon on the left and the sun setting on the right, the scene is perfect! The shore is clean, too. Yup, no trash... Yet.
The resort is above average, clean rooms. The only thing I didn't like about the resort is that the villa we rented had no hot water.
If you are on a budget, Santiago Bay has small resorts around the beach.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TAGT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a medium sized resort with a small children friendly large beach on Camtoes island Cebu. First let me tell you of the pluses: inexpensive, nice towels in the room, small but nice outdoor pool, well maintained gardens and grounds, and a very nice shallow beach with nearby local but small restaurants on the beach. Now let me tell you the minuses: poor customer service- seems as if the owner has forgotten to train his staff on being helpful in anyway. We were given the keys and set on our way to our rooms without a single word. The restaurant on the grounds is not very good at all- the food was not very good and it was surprisingly expensive compared to food on the beach- right next door. The rooms were clean but spartan...the aircon worked but it got warm as it cycled from hot to cold. There is absolutely no hot water anywhere- but not a huge issue for us. After all of this, yes I would recommend this resort as it is clean and somewhat comfortable and value for money. But, do not expect much and you will not be disappointed....expect a lot and you will hate it.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are decent but do not expect too much from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Immune01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The view in this resort is really good with two infinity pools overlooking the beach. The rooms are ok however breakfast is not included. We loved our stay here that I even included Camotes in my top ten summer recommendations at http://www.iamafrustratedblogger.com/2014/02/summer-destinations-in-philippines.html

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank khrysskroez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
10.9 mi away
My Little Island Hotel
My Little Island Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poro Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
21.8 mi away
Las Flores
Las Flores
#49 of 212 in Cebu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coco Grove Nature Resort
Coco Grove Nature Resort
#9 of 17 in Camotes Islands
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aizawa Beach Resort
Aizawa Beach Resort
#8 of 13 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swisslagoon Camotes
Swisslagoon Camotes
#2 of 13 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mangodlong Rock Resort
Mangodlong Rock Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacijan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Bay Garden & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Bay Garden & Resort

Property: Santiago Bay Garden & Resort
Address: A.C. cortes Ave. Cambaro, Mandaue City (Cebu office), San Francisco 6050, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Camotes Islands > Pacijan Island > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santiago Bay Garden & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Camotes Islands, Santiago Bay Garden and Resort is an ideal spot from which to discover Cebu. Set 157.4 Km from the excitement of the city, this 3-star hotel commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Santiago Bay Garden and Resort is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are meeting facilities, room service, restaurant, airport transfer, bicycle rental. Step into one of 51 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as television, non smoking rooms, shower, balcony/terrace which can be found in some rooms. The hotel offers fantastic facilities, including pool (kids), outdoor pool, water sports (motorized), massage, garden, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Santiago Bay Garden and Resort the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Cebu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Santiago Bay Garden & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiago Bay Garden Hotel San Francisco
Santiago Bay Garden And Resort
Santiago Bay Garden & Resort Camotes Islands/San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing