We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
My Little Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poro Island
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Travelled here from Mangodlong where we where staying. We wanted to visit and probably stay here. Long drive to get here and when you arrived first thing you notice is the isolation and quitness. For honeymoon, when you only want one other person PERFECT. For families, too quiet and remote. Beautiful views and swimming pool. Furnishing etc lovely.Penthouse accomodation with seperate lounge and bar very nice.Staff we met very helpful and friendly.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank HughandMedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We came to My Little island resort primarily for the highly rated views (as per some people we had heard). However, do note - it is more of a hill top resort - interesting views of the island (I found them ok - I expected some coral fringed waters, but sadly did not see any of that), nothing stunning, lots of greenery and birds.

Pros -
There is a big swimming pool, and I have to admit this, the rooms are amazingly beautiful! More like four star rooms! And at rather reasonable costs (Deluxe room costs 2100, the executive suite is 3400 pesos which I felt was fantastic - soft bed, big balcony, all bathrooms have bath tubs). eh restaurant has excellent ambience - they have a grand piano which we played (despite our terrible sense of music) - the staff encouraged us, saying that the piano is there for guests to use. There is a big basketball court too.

There is a high sense of privacy and desolateness. If you like walks with inclines, have your own transport and like isolation, you will like this place.

Cons
The place is far from everything, so you MUST have your own transport (either brought from mainland, or a bike hired locally) - nothing is walking distance. The resort itself is about 10 minutes uphill driving from the closest sari sari store / (near the elementary school) and a good 30 minutes by motorcycle from the causeway / Baywalk trail)

The restaurant is big and has a good ambience, but the menu is limited, and kitchen staff has moderate knowledge. When we said we wanted a cold coffee, they fumbled a bit, then finally told us they did not know how to make it... would we help them? We said sure! and together made it.

PS - The ice cream sundae is fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank New_YLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel charged me for a night that I was stranded in Cebu because if typhoon conditions not allowing ferry boats. We ate one meal, and had two "free" continental breakfasts. The dinners totaled 700php, suddenly it's now 2100php. The manager cited use of Tabasco sauce, two extra orders of toast with butter from our "free" breakfast!! It is a nice place, but management is EXTREMELY crooked !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Martin6roks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cagayan de oro city
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I never heard of Camotes island before. My sister told me that it can be considered as little Boracay because of its white sand beaches. But in any how, this place is just A-mazing! The view is just breath-taking expecially when you're staying at this hotel. It's on a hilltop giving you the best scene you could ever think of! Aside from the great view, the staff of My Little Island Hotel is very accommodating! They give their utmost service to make your stay indeed unforgettable! Two thumbs up for this hotel! What's more, they now cater direct online booking in their website! Visit http://www.mylittleislandhotel.com/ book online and be sure to bring your cameras with you!

Room Tip: For accurate information, just visit their website http://www.mylittleislandhotel.com/
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jannahl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My little island hotel is situated on a hilltop that enjoys a great sea view. You can reach the hotel through ferry from Danao, which is getting frequent by summer season. There might be fast boats from Cebu as well, just ask around. The hotel arranges pick up from the port and once you enter you'll be greeted by the magnificent view. The hotel has a Mediterranean look and feel. I stayed at a standard room that had its own balcony facing the sea. The room had cable tv and the bathroom had a tub. The hotel also offers a tour around camotes islands. Don't miss out on the caves where you can swim. A local told me there are thousands of caves on the island. Happy trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank monique730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Keen to visit the Camotes Islands, I booked this hotel as in reality the only upmarket one there ! I took the Golden Express ferry from Cebu Port, a journey of just over two hours in a filthy, rusty old vessel with very limited leg room . Randy, the charming hotel driver, met me at Poro for the twenty minute drive to the hotel which is situated high on a hill overlooking the sea .

I had originally booked an Executive Room, which would have been perfect except for the tiny and dirty bathroom and so I was offered the Penthouse Suite at a marginally higher rate which I readily accepted . A very large suite with terrific sitting room and fabulous views, good bedroom with decent ensuite and second separate wc off hallway, large terrace as well .

Managed two island tours with Randy, including a boat trip to one of the smaller islands and both were great fun as there are some worthwhile sights including a couple of caves and some pleasant beaches to visit . One of my favourite activities in the Phils is driving around and taking in the local scenery, here in the Camotes it's as good as anywhere, the principal islands are perfectly proportioned and unspoilt .
Very few Nipa huts, largely breeze brick built, presumably due to the fact that here receives the brunt of any bad weather and storms so the locals appear to be more comfortable than many other places I have visited . Generally tidy gardens with beautiful arrays of plants everywhere, dudes hanging around chilling outside whilst hundreds of young children play and wander about innocently, always taking care to move out of the way as a rare car approaches tooting it's horn .
Not so the dogs who sleep in the middle of the road and protesting with a yawn, arise at the last minute, rather like a boxer getting to his feet on the count of nine...why get up any sooner , after all this is the Phils and there's a really wonderful island mentality in the Camotes .
As for the hotel itself, the usual charming staff eager to assist in anyway possible and the common parts are good, the larger of the two pools is brilliant but with dirty sun beds and some issues elsewhere !

The food is terrible, even accepting that there were no other guests and possibly thus limited provisions . Many dishes from the over large menu were unavailable, including ice cream, no tonic water either and I suspect a huge element of frozen foods on an island where fresh produce and seafood must be easily sourced . Coffee is a cup of boiling water and two packets of powder, why not invest in a fresh coffee machine which would pay for itself in a week ?
It's the same old story and not only in the Phils, with too many hotels and restaurants imagining that customers will be impressed by a massive menu when in reality I'm sure that most guests are looking for a smaller quality selection of simple fresh food .

Their menu consisted a choice of six soups, obviously from packets or tins, the meat was either tough or overcooked, a pizza was presented with virtually uncooked dough, a Chow mein was salty and the noodles dry, in fact only the breakfast was enjoyable and I wondered whether the owners found all this palatable for themselves? A serious reality check is needed here, a drastic menu revision and some clear instructions to the kitchen staff as how to prepare and present the food, I suggest they take a visit to Las Flores in Sogod to see how things should be done .

The Phils urgently needs some good medium range hotels and this place could easily be up there with some of the best if they attended to their restaurant . Their main man, Randy seems to know what's going on and has some good ideas, probably because he is an intelligent guy and more than anyone has lots of direct contact with the guests .

The Camotes is one of many island destinations in the Visayas and although witnessing an increase in tourism, needs more facilities in the way of shops and restaurants although investors will probably want to see many more visitors before anything major takes place . I loved it and will definitely return but hopefully to experience vastly improved food !

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

The Camotes Islands are a new tourist desitinations and there are only a few hotels. This one is - by a distance - the best in terms of quality.

I liked:
- the staff (they enthusiastically tried to be great hosts)
- the rooms (do not expect 5 star - but all amenities are there; beds are very good and, yes, it's warm water - still a rarity on Camotes)
- the food (really nice and affordable)
- the location overlooking the island (ok, there is no beach)

I would have loved:
- Internet (they are working on this)

If you go to Camotes and look for quality, this is the hotel of your choice. The 3 beach resorts which you could choose alternatively are very basic with often just a bed, a fridge and cold water - and a rich animal life...

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank TomCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poro Island
24.9 mi away
Ormoc Villa Hotel
Ormoc Villa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ormoc
62 reviews
24.8 mi away
Don Felipe Hotel
Don Felipe Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ormoc
76 reviews
10.9 mi away
Santiago Bay Garden & Resort
Santiago Bay Garden & Resort
#2 of 13 in San Francisco
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Coco Grove Nature Resort
Coco Grove Nature Resort
#9 of 17 in Camotes Islands
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aladin White Beach Resort
Aladin White Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in San Francisco
4 reviews
10.7 mi away
Swisslagoon Camotes
Swisslagoon Camotes
#3 of 13 in San Francisco
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Little Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Little Island Hotel

Property: My Little Island Hotel
Address: Esperanza, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Camotes Islands > Poro Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poro Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — My Little Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your My Little Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Little Island Hotel Camotes Islands, Philippines - Poro Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing