We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel where haggling is a must”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sikatuna Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Sikatuna Beach Hotel is a little put the way and is a pretty basic hotel. On first looks you'd think it was a decent hotel, but the rooms are small, worn out and aren't brilliant. The bathroom was very small and everything got soaked when you had a shower. It was quiet at night though.

The best thing about the hotel was the view. Otherwise the food was appalling (we had chopsuey that wasn't cooked and made me want to throw up) and the rooms were ok for the 1,100 Peso rate we haggled, but would have been very bad for their original 1,500 Peso rate quoted.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JolyonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Sikatuna Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed in room 107 for one night before our flight to Manila. When we arrived, the room was full of mosquitos but the reception promptly sent a guy to spray it. The aircon unit was pretty noisy but it was possible to leave it on while we were out for dinner to cool the room down before going to sleep. The restaurant served good food at decent prices except for their awful instant coffee. Please invest in an espresso machine! Their free van to the airport was a nice gesture. Overall, very good value.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank michalprgbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

I showed up without a booking and ended up in a nice aircon room with a seaview balcony. The staff and family who runs it were very helpful and friendly to me. I needed to book two domestic flights which I couldn't do on my iPhone. They let me use a computer and made prints of the boarding passes for me. Will also get an airport transfer. Laundry service also available.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tibele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We had our regional meeting in San Jose Occidental Mindoro and it was at Sikatuna Beach Hotel so we booked a room for one night. It was really close to the airport so getting there was so convenient. We arrived at 10AM and since the rooms we booked were already available, we were able to check in at that very moment. Please keep in mind that this is not a five-star accommodation so don't expect too much. The rooms are ok, but they provide only one towel for each guest plus a small soap each and a roll of bathroom tissue. There is hot and cold shower but considering the weather in Mindoro, who would need hot water, anyway? The beach is practically right at your doorstep so you could hear the waves even from inside your room. Since it was a meeting, our food were already prepared and everything tasted great! The following morning our flight was at 7:30 so we requested for breakfast at around 5:30 and we were given a set of bacon, toast, butter, jam and coffee.
All in all, the experience was pleasant. We were just not able to enjoy the beach due to our hectic schedule but given another chance, I might stay at SBH again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms that are good for three to four persons are located on the ground floor only.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chumadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Sikatuna is a popular place for group gatherings, birthday parties and conventions. Having said that, this place is not a good place for people who's on vacation and just want to relax. There are many activities in the hotel's function rooms which make the entire place so noisy, and the rooms are packed with employees sent by their companies to attend trainings or seminars.

The rooms need improvement, to say the least. The bed was hard, as well as the pillows which gave me a stiff neck. The cover of our A/C just fell off and revealed a very dusty A/C which looked like it hadn't been cleaned for years. The toilet had a nasty smell, and the sink had a leak which flooded the toilet every time we use it. They didn't provide us with any towel.

Upsides: Friendly and helpful staff (if they are not busy with all the activities in the function rooms), and food was great (don't forget to try their cakes especially the blueberry and carrot cake). Good location since it is near the town center.

We were in San Jose for work, and we only stayed in Sikatuna because we needed wi-fi to check and send emails; the internet connection was fast, by the way.

Room Tip: Get the rooms that are far from the function rooms since it can get really noisy there.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eloyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Its my first time in san jose, and no hotel to compare with but for 1,350.00 im not sure the room is worth. Dining area looks okay, but the room is awful. I got a double bed, with very thin bed sheet, pillows that are covered with thin pillowcase. The aircon is not well functioning and very noisy. So the room is a bit warm, considering the warm weather in Mindoro. The closet is maybe for small people, the floor is dirty there are strands of hair, i had to ask for towel from room service. Theres only one channel on TV, abs cbn. Although, they have a free airport transfer since the airport is just a few mins away. Staff are friendly though but then again the room... Good thing it was just for a night.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Everydaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Reading the posts in here, I thought I should also share our thoughts about this hotel Sikatuna Beach Hotel. First we only paid 850pesos/room - the room is basic but you have what you really need: bed, TV, toilet, bathroom and a clean and nice place to stay. We had a beautiful view from our room and it was very nice to wake up in the morning seeing Sikatuna beach. Don't expect too much if you pay just that much money, this is not a five star hotel.

I had no bad experiences with the staff, they are all friendly and helful the whole time we were there. The food was fantastic, but some of the lists from their menu sometimes wasn't available because they weren't available from the market that day or vice versa. They will tell you straight away once you order.

All in all we stayed in this hotel for more than three weeks aside from the fact that our marriage was also held at this hotel. We will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time we visit Philippines - this time with our children.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach is much nicer
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.0 mi away
Coron Visitors Hotel
Coron Visitors Hotel
#16 of 20 in Coron
36 reviews
157.1 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
157.2 mi away
Mermaid Resort
Mermaid Resort
#16 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
157.0 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
151 reviews
237.3 mi away
Seasons Hotel and Convention Center
236.3 mi away
Villa Paulina Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sikatuna Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sikatuna Beach Hotel

Address: San Roque I, San Jose, Mindoro, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Occidental Mindoro Province > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £15 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Sikatuna Beach Hotel San Jose, Philippines - Mindoro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing