We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rough diamond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel Napoleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Hotel Napoleone
Zürich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A rough diamond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Spent one full week at Park Hotel Napoleone with my wife and a couple of friends.
Plus:
-beauty of the main villa
-park
-location, perfect to explore the island
-nice swimming pool, very useful when you don't feel to go to the beach
-good food
-price
-attentive, kind staff

Minus:
-might need some renovation, although our room was nice
-no room Wi Fi
-sometimes dinner was a bit slow

All in all I think it's a good hotel with an excellent price/quality ratio; you can't complain about anything at this kind of rates! I cannot understand the bad reviews I read on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    93
    82
    46
    66
See reviews for
89
201
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel did not have the facilities advertised. The staff was unable to point us to a hiking trail shown in the vicinity on National Park maps. Over all a terrible blue for the money. We got charged an additional 20 Euro for a room that had a window that didn't face a blank wall and a bathroom door that didn't hit the sink when opened. Blanket of bed was filthy, etc.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HermanGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Martino di Portoferraio hotels

Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

If you place to stay here, avoid Room 202! This room was like a closet. Toilet was inaccessible. Shower was small but worked. Horrible smell in the morning time. Very strange energy. The few pluses were the pool and the lounge. They served us a picture of Nescafe Instant for coffee! I don't know where they got their 4 stars. More like 1.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a full description of the room before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvrends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is a pleasant hotel in nice grounds with a good pool.However it is not a 4 star. It is a 3 star at best and in fairness the price reflects this . The family room we got was very spcious and cool even without the air conditioning.The food is mainly buffet style and was basic but nice. The beach is beautiful, and I suppose €20 for 2 beds with an umbrella is standard enough for Italy. There is a real 4 star and a 5 star at the beach with prices to match. All in all a nice hotel in nice grounds for a reasonable price, but a bit tired around the edges. If money is no object stay in the hotels at the beach, otherwise this is a good value option.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank o2barebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

This Hotel is situated some 4 Kms from the nearest resort and is somewhat isolated. There are a couple of small bars and souvenir shops just outside the gates, mainly to cater for the myriad daytime visitors to Napoleon’s country villa.
I have never been in a 4* Hotel where one had to search for some-one to open the bar every time one wanted a drink. It transpired that the bar man was (doubling – tripling?) as the Head Waiter, Maître ‘D’ and Sommelier, as well as sweeping up the leaves outside the Hotel.
If I had to make a judgement I would say that the Hotel is obviously not used having to British Tourists as the descriptions of the meal options left very much to be desired! ‘Flattened chicken’ in my case turned out to be a tiny leg off a scrawny tough old chicken + a miserable portion of (warm) green beans; Roast beef was extremely rare (cold) beef in a gelatine.
Whilst our room on the first floor was OK it was somewhat let down by the fact that the large external shutters couldn’t be latched back and we resorted to trying to ‘jam’ them open with pieces of card board. This I believe is not the case with all the rooms as friends had no such problems.
A large (25 metre?) pool which, when we were there, had obviously just opened for the season. A bit surprised to find that the Hotel charged 5 Euros for the hire of a pool towel (not a deposit). Despite there being a sign for a pool snack bar there was no-one to man it. Neither, I would suggest, had the pool toilets been cleaned since the previous year given their state and the number of creepy crawlies inhabiting the wash basin! At the side of the pool we also removed a number of pieces of broken glass.
As another reviewer has already mentioned if you want to go to the private beach it has to be arranged the day before and will cost you 20 Euros.
It really is a pity – this hotel has character – it could be very good if it received a little bit of TLC; and if it were properly staffed.

Room Tip: Stay low - one lift is (very) small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozymandias69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mechelen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

I stayed at the hotel Napoleone for 4 nights with a group of friends. Rooms were very noisy and freezing cold; it was im posible to turn heathing on. I was told by receptionstaff heathing could not be provided!!!! Nights are still chilly in may like 7 C,
.My single room was very small and the bed made for a' petite Lady'; I ve never seen this before!
Television and phone were not working and it took 2 days to be fixed...
Regarding the breakfast; nothing hot like an omelett or scrambled eggs; instant cofee, but on request wonderful cafee latte or espresso...
Receptionist was unable to work out a payment by creditcard! I had to help him out!
Location is nice , next to Emperror Napoleon's summer residence , but you definately need a car or cap to get to Porto Ferraio....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybird340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed in Hotel Napoleone for 3 nights. When we checked in children were running wild throwing cushions around the lobby! We were then told that the beach would cost us €20 per day. This was contrary to the description provided on various websites including the Hotel Napoleone site. Tripadivsor: "shuttle to the beach included in rates" Booking.com: "The hotel’s beach in La Biodola Bay is located only 5 minutes away and can be quickly and conveniently reached with a free shuttle service" Hotel Website: "Sea lovers can enjoy Park Hotel private beach in stunning La Biodola bay, 5 minutes from the hotel, with free shuttle service."
The room was clean and comfortable but not 4 star. The information in the room about local amenities was in Italian and German. I wanted information about scuba diving on the island so I went to the reception to enquire about the details. The guy at reception seemed to want to get rid of me as soon as possible and told me to contact the dive company directly myself. Any other hotel staff we experienced during our travels in Italy were very helpful in stark contrast to the majority of the staff at Hotel Napoleone.
The food at the hotel is average. We arrived late after a €20 taxi from the ferry in Portoferraio, realised that the hotel is in a remote area and decided to avail of the buffet dinner at the hotel despite not having paid half board. When we entered the dining area there was nobody at the desk to take room numbers or to enquire about adding the dinner to our bill. The dinner was an average buffet and after about 10 minutes a man came around checking our room numbers. He seemed taken aback when we explained that we had arrived late and wanted the dinner added to our bill. His manner was blunt and he seemed annoyed that we were eating despite not paying half board. The buffet breakfast is very average with cheap bread, juice, jam and meats.
We also witnessed another couple arguing with the front desk regarding the misleading information about the hotel on various websites. When we checked out we raised the issue of the €20 per day charge to go to the beach. The girl at the desk explained that the shuttle bus is free but the beach is not. We explained that the websites (quoted above) do not contain that information. She agreed to a point but still maintained that everything was above board. She then said that another company maintained the website and that she would pass our feedback on (We left the hotel on the 11th August and as of 22nd August the website still has not been updated) She offered to remove our dinner from the bill. We got the impression that she'd had this argument before!
Overall there was a strange atmosphere at the hotel, the staff were unfriendly and the lights in the lobby were turned off every evening when we arrived back at the hotel! We couldn't find any trails around the hotel for walks or cycling. Any trails we found led to private houses in the area surrounding the hotel. The staff didn't provide us with any information whatsoever about local amenities. We slept in the hotel but left first thing in the morning and came back late in the evening having made use of the local buses to get to Marino de Campo. We had a lovely time on the island but this had nothing to do with Park Hotel Napoleone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martino di Portoferraio
2.3 mi away
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#6 of 10 in Procchio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Brigantino
Hotel Brigantino
#3 of 10 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
6.4 mi away
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 25 in Capoliveri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Napoleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Napoleone

Property: Park Hotel Napoleone
Address: Localita San Martino, 57037 San Martino di Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > San Martino di Portoferraio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Martino di Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Napoleone 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderdful country house dating from the late 19th Century trasformed into a hotel for a quiet holiday in an uncontaminated Mediterranean nature. Close to the Villa of Napoleone, in an 85 hectares of private park, the Hotel offers:2 swimming pools, snack bar, private beach and private parking on Biodola Gulf, shuttle to the beach included in rates. Children (0-2 years) free for all periods. 25% of discount for the 3rd adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Hotel Napoleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Livorno
Park Hotel Napoleone Elba Island/San Martino Di Portoferraio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing