We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke and Mirrors”
Review of York on Lilydale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
York on Lilydale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Evelyn
Reviewed 27 January 2013

"Resort" facilities are nothing like advertised, and service smacks of 'Fawlty Towers' . Like many other reviewers we stayed at the York On Lilydale as a wedding was being held next door (I suspect we would never have ventured here otherwise). During our stay reception advised they'd double booked our room (this took approx 1 hour to sort out) the pool was out of order, tennis court swamped in muddy puddles, dated rooms backed out over mosquito infested swap (aka lake) and the heavily advertised cocktail bar seemed more like a dodgy roadside tavern, completely empty apart from a couple of sad poker machine players.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TruffleQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We had a spa room with a balcony and were pleasantly surprised by the efficient and friendly check in, cleanliness of the room and the lovely view from our balcony. Bottle shop and restaurant on site were a bonus. Great value for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shockedanddismayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stopped here 1 night for a wedding close by and it was a decent nights stay. Rooms we're huge but the interior was a little outdated. Room featured a spa bath with amazing water pressure. Plenty of parking and easy to find heading from Melbourne.

Room also features basic needs such as hair dryer, radio, tv etc but no ironing board? Heated Pool was closed during my stopover. Had a quick meal in the bistro on arrival which was alright but not great and also took advantage of the Sunday buffet breakfast on offer in the Bistro as well that was not at all worth the $20 cost for it. It was very average.

Customer Service was average on check in. Check out was much better. All in all, if you need a decent room as a stopover - perfect! If your looking for a resort for a week or 2 away - probably not the type of "resort" your looking for!

Room Tip: Great Shower and Air Con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedi1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We have stayed here before and always find the rooms large, clean and well maintained.

I brought my kids this time as we were going to Lake Mountain the next day. We received a $20 meal voucher for staying more than 2 days which was helpful. We ate in the Sports Bar the 2nd night to have a Chicken Parma for $10 which was good. The meals come over from the main bistro so they are much cheaper in the Sport Bar.

The pool is always closed and covered at this time of year. Wanted to have a hit of tennis with the kids but the tennis courts have been stripped back to the cement so are out of action.

We enjoyed our stay but dont expect resort facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room as no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

The accommodation is ok, but it is no resort.
Don't bother with the bistro, it was very poor (check out the reviews)
The kids loved it here and it's close to the ranges.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra-fay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Motel accommodation with good selection of well maintained basic needs. Adjoins busy leisure complex but this is not intrusive. Delightful park like grounds, easy parking and nearby facilities. Did not try the onsite restaraunt so cannot comment but looked adequate if a bit basic. Would definitely recommend for short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view room on upper floor (balcony but no lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrData70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

stayed about a week,great spa,great view of the lake,clean room(a little out dated)great for a sexy weekender ?? had my 4 kids!! pool a little dirty and cold,no micro,no dvd,no mobile reception!! when returning back to Montrose I will stay here again,just for the food and the pokies,need something for the kids.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamWestAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Evelyn
6.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
555 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
137 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dorset Gardens Hotel
Dorset Gardens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Croydon
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Linley Estate
Linley Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilsyth
46 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
#1 of 2 in Ferntree Gully
110 reviews
17.1 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York on Lilydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York on Lilydale

Address: Cnr York & Swansea Rds, Mount Evelyn, Victoria 3796, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mount Evelyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Evelyn
Price Range: £73 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — York on Lilydale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located on 4.5 hectares of natural bushland, including a picturesque lake and free form pool the beautiful sounds of the local Bellbirds will entrance guests as they enjoy a beautiful view from the balcony or garden room, to the lake and surrounding bushland. Our manicured gardens and outdoor pool along with our 40 3.5 star AAA suites furnished with sitting/dining area, queen size bed plus a pull out and a twin corner spa are sure to provide guests with the luxury of a Yarra Valley stay to remember. The York is central to some of Victoria's major tourist attractions including the Yarra Valley wine growing district, the beautiful Dandenong Ranges, Healesville Sanctuary and the Rhododendron Gardens. Situated 45 minutes east of Melbourne at the foothills of the Dandenong Ranges and Gateway to the Yarra Valley it has an enviable reputation as a versatile corporate and social venue; functions guests can rely on the convenience of long or short stays in our accommodation rooms. Guests can enjoy our room service offered for lunch and dinner, with breakfast available daily, along with the accessibility of the hotel's facilities, dining in our bistro or relaxing in our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your York on Lilydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Lilydale
Lilydale Quality Inn
York Lilydale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing