We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a most pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of York on Lilydale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
York on Lilydale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Evelyn
Kyneton, Australia
1 review
“Overall a most pleasant stay”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We chose to stay here for 2 nights to attend a concert at a winery. Upon check in I found reception to be polite and helpful. Once we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised with the space and layout. Although we didn't get a chance to use it, the spa in the bathroom looked awesome. A balcony overlooking a small lake where we could sit and watch the ducks and other bird life was lovely.
We ordered a continental breakfast for our first morning and it arrived bang on the time requested and my spaghetti was still hot which was a bonus. The lady who delivered it was lovely and when I told her our room didn't need to be made up for the day she made a point of letting me know that if I changed my mind all I had to do was call reception and she'd be back in a flash.
On our second morning we had the buffet in the restaurant. The food was ample and very tasty but for an early riser like me I thought the 8:30 start was probably a little late. The other thing that had me a little disappointed with breaky was that there was no fruit.
Overall I found York on lilydale to be a delightful suburban motel. For the price it's great value and both myself and my partner agree that we would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    36
    28
    21
    14
See reviews for
31
42
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I was disappointed after reading the generally positive review of this hotel. If I ever have to attend another wedding next door, I'll book somewhere in Yarra Glen and travel 15 minutes.

Our check-in experience set the tone for our stay at this hotel. The venue itself is on par with a very average roadside motel. The person had a surprisingly snooty attitude and manner in which she chose to welcome us - we didn't ask difficult questions or carrying-on in any way. Everything about this place is basic. The glasses were dirty, I could hear conversations being held next door and outside our room. The breakfast option was really poor - the type of breakfast a kid would get at school camp in the 80s. individual packs of cornflakes, weetbix and goulburn valley fruit cup, toast, tinned spagetti and baked beans option, no eggs, nothing warm.

All this would've been bearable it if had been for our experience with the person at front desk at check-in and other occasions of her unhelpful response to simple requests for help or information.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Websites S, Owner at York on Lilydale, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Hi CL, thank you for your review of the York on Lilydale. We would like to find out more details in regards to your stay so we can improve our level of service. Are you able to email onlinefeedback@alhgroup.com.au with further details of your stay so we can address some of the issues that you encountered? Again thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Evelyn hotels

Warragul, Victoria
Level Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Recently stayed at this property and it was a pleasant experience. Whilst the rooms are a little tired they are clean and comfortable. Dinned in the Bistro and it was very good pub food and on another night dined in the function room and the food was great. Breakfast was huge and tasty.
The service was very pleasant and will stay and dine again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the York after riding the lilydale to warburton rail trail. The spa was exactly what I needed after a gruelling 82km bike ride. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite large. The only downfall is that the hotel itself is out of town in Mount Evelyn. But I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocpaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Good value accommodation which is clean, with a good bed, quiet heater and quiet overall. Check in was efficient and there is plenty of parking on site. The reception area is a little distant from the actual rooms.

Room Tip: This is a 2 story motel with no lift. If you are not keen on carrying your bags up stairs then reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, SA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed only for 1 night as I was passing through, but I was very happy with the room - comfortable beds, quiet and affordable (booked through wotif.com). Close to shops and eateries including the delicious Bubba Pizza.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank familytree17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here two nights as it was close to a wedding we attended at nearby Bram Leigh.

Arriving late (early morning 1am) from Perth - we were a bit hungry, the bistro wasnt open - however a nice young lady from the gaming room heated up a couple of sausage rolls for us which hit the spot.

The staff were all friendly and welcoming. There is a cheeky possum who visits, if you are lucky you will see him in the tree just outside the entrance to the gaming room.

Hotel room was clean and comfortable - we had an excellent night sleep.

We ate in the Bistro for both dinner and buffet breakfast the next morning. Dinner was nice - very large serving sizes but good food. Breakfast was one of the better buffet breakfasts I have had in a hotel for some time. It was a Sunday - Im not sure if it is a regular feature so perhaps check.

Lovely little location - didnt have time to explore but it looked very nice hear at the foot of the Dandenongs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Evelyn
2.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
128 reviews
6.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
517 reviews
2.1 mi away
Linley Estate
Linley Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilsyth
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dorset Gardens Hotel
Dorset Gardens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Croydon
46 reviews
4.0 mi away
Victoria House Motor Inn
2.9 mi away
Golden Chain Lilydale Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York on Lilydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York on Lilydale

Property: York on Lilydale
Address: Cnr York & Swansea Rds, Mount Evelyn, Victoria 3796, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mount Evelyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Evelyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — York on Lilydale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located on 4.5 hectares of natural bushland, including a picturesque lake and free form pool the beautiful sounds of the local Bellbirds will entrance guests as they enjoy a beautiful view from the balcony or garden room, to the lake and surrounding bushland. Our manicured gardens and outdoor pool along with our 40 3.5 star AAA suites furnished with sitting/dining area, queen size bed plus a pull out and a twin corner spa are sure to provide guests with the luxury of a Yarra Valley stay to remember. The York is central to some of Victoria's major tourist attractions including the Yarra Valley wine growing district, the beautiful Dandenong Ranges, Healesville Sanctuary and the Rhododendron Gardens. Situated 45 minutes east of Melbourne at the foothills of the Dandenong Ranges and Gateway to the Yarra Valley it has an enviable reputation as a versatile corporate and social venue; functions guests can rely on the convenience of long or short stays in our accommodation rooms. Guests can enjoy our room service offered for lunch and dinner, with breakfast available daily, along with the accessibility of the hotel's facilities, dining in our bistro or relaxing in our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your York on Lilydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Lilydale
Lilydale Quality Inn
York Lilydale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing