We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best place I've stayed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon North
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not the best place I've stayed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have stayed at this motel before, but many years ago. As it was clean and tidy then, I chose it when in the area last March. I will not be staying there again, though.
Fixtures in the rooms were broken and worn out, the paintwork needed refreshing, the alarm clock was broken, the bathroom mirror was cracked - and when I moved a bed to retrieve something that fell to the floor, I found a pile of rubbish had accumulated between the bed and the wall. The unit's television was the smallest I have seen in recent years.
It was a busy time for the motel - and all car spaces were taken up, so I had to park my expensive hire car in the street outside the motel - and sure enough, it was broken into overnight . . .. not the motel's fault, but it wouldn't have happened if sufficient off-street parking was available.
Once upon a time Comfort Inns were good quality and value for money. I'n afraid this is no longer necessarily so.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    10
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
20
15
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The motel is superbly located for freeway access to the airport and distributors to the east and west, as well as to the Hume Highway. Travel to the city centre is also convenient via frequent trams that are only a five minute walk away. A large direct factory outlet complex is 200 metres from the motel.
The motel has ample parking, and the room that I stayed in was large and functional. In spite of the proximity of the freeway, there was virtually no noise in the room. The bathroom needed a bit of maintenance, but overall the room provided me with a very comfortable 2-night stay. The booking came with an offer of limited wi-fi internet access. However, this service proved to be extremely slow, and one would be advised not to rely on it.
There is an excellent variety of eating places within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. Considering the location and accommodation, it provided excellent value for money.

Room Tip: There is no lift to the first floor rooms, so if you have lots of luggage or have difficulty climbin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rld_traveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel/motel is located out of the city but a 15 minute walk gets you to the Melbourne tram system. The rooms were large and clean. The staff were very helpful and internet was free. It is near the Melbourne airport so aircraft noise was noticeable but not annoying.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in February on business, but I won't stay again.

I am really not hard to please but although the room was a good size my laptop had a bigger screen and there was no FOXTEL (my fault for not reading the small print!!!)

The good news was that the staff were friendly and the room was clean and tidy and the location is good for the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Arrived late in the evening, lady at reception appeared very preoccupied but helpful. I was given a room but then asked to give the key back as the room had been allocated to someone else.

Wifi very hit and miss but one of the hotel staff tried to help with connection. Hotel is on a very busy road junction and the flight path of Essendon airfield. As per other reviewers, the hotel decor is very tired and old used furniture but of average cleanliness.

Food left outside rooms and outdoor pool VERY dirty. Only recommend this if you want a room quickly due to delayed flights or to get your head down for a few hours. Sleep and relaxation not guaranteed

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank central2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed with my husband and two children for one night in January. The accomodation is very dated and no effort has been made to modernise these motel rooms. The rooms were very clean but the furniture, decor and bedding has been used many times over. The staff were friendly, and assisted with free wifi access. If staying, your expectations need to match the price you pay - reasonable accomodation for a reasonably cheap price, in a rather convenient location. Good for arriving late and leaving early. Traffic noise was not an issue during our stay, and there was access to off street parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123_alicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

I changed ny normal Motel for this trip to Melbourne, will certainly be back there in the future. From start to finish this was a disaster. My first mistake was checking inn whiole the staff were haveing lunch in the attached(and closed) restaurant. Very perfunctary and could not care less attitude, there is the key, I'm going back to lunch. Later in the afternoon I needed a WHite Pages to check and address(non in the room!). The English of the lady at reception was so poor that she had no idea what I wanted. I eventually pointed to the phone and a book on the counter, she offered me one of their buisiness cards!!!. Room were average, very old, the fridge was steel, and freezer all iced up, caqrpet frayed, several lights not working(could not face the language barrier to have anything done). I was depoarting very early, and there was no provision, or information about checkout/key return. I had to ring a "locum service" who said leave key in room and go!!! Know where I will be staying next time

Room Tip: Avoid it like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POOWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Essendon North hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essendon North
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre
4.0 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
3.4 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon
Address: 93 Bulla Rd, Essendon North, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3041, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moonee Valley > Essendon North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Melbourne
Melbourne Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing