We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“businessman's motel; clean but not maintained”
Review of Essendon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Essendon Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon North
Reviewed 10 August 2013

SUMMARY: Small business man's motel; very clean but broken things not fixed; seems a family affair; cheapest place I could find; quick to Melbourne airport

DETAILS: I expected a lot better from a Comfort Inn, but it was very economical. The room was big but basic. Everything was very clean but broken things were obviously not repaired. A couple of km down the road is a small restaurant area. North on the freeway is a large Westfield shopping mall with a cinema. I stayed there because it was the cheaps place I could find near the airport. Service was good. They gave me a relatively quite room. I was surprised there wasn't more noise because of the proximity to a very busy freeway. Free WiFi but I had difficulty getting on.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room since the motel is very near a busy freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

This motel is in a good position to access the freeway, which was handy for us.
Was not impressed with old heating system. Too noisy.
Internet access was limited and there were fees for each extra laptop. .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have stayed at this motel before, but many years ago. As it was clean and tidy then, I chose it when in the area last March. I will not be staying there again, though.
Fixtures in the rooms were broken and worn out, the paintwork needed refreshing, the alarm clock was broken, the bathroom mirror was cracked - and when I moved a bed to retrieve something that fell to the floor, I found a pile of rubbish had accumulated between the bed and the wall. The unit's television was the smallest I have seen in recent years.
It was a busy time for the motel - and all car spaces were taken up, so I had to park my expensive hire car in the street outside the motel - and sure enough, it was broken into overnight . . .. not the motel's fault, but it wouldn't have happened if sufficient off-street parking was available.
Once upon a time Comfort Inns were good quality and value for money. I'n afraid this is no longer necessarily so.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The motel is superbly located for freeway access to the airport and distributors to the east and west, as well as to the Hume Highway. Travel to the city centre is also convenient via frequent trams that are only a five minute walk away. A large direct factory outlet complex is 200 metres from the motel.
The motel has ample parking, and the room that I stayed in was large and functional. In spite of the proximity of the freeway, there was virtually no noise in the room. The bathroom needed a bit of maintenance, but overall the room provided me with a very comfortable 2-night stay. The booking came with an offer of limited wi-fi internet access. However, this service proved to be extremely slow, and one would be advised not to rely on it.
There is an excellent variety of eating places within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. Considering the location and accommodation, it provided excellent value for money.

Room Tip: There is no lift to the first floor rooms, so if you have lots of luggage or have difficulty climbin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rld_traveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel/motel is located out of the city but a 15 minute walk gets you to the Melbourne tram system. The rooms were large and clean. The staff were very helpful and internet was free. It is near the Melbourne airport so aircraft noise was noticeable but not annoying.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in February on business, but I won't stay again.

I am really not hard to please but although the room was a good size my laptop had a bigger screen and there was no FOXTEL (my fault for not reading the small print!!!)

The good news was that the staff were friendly and the room was clean and tidy and the location is good for the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Arrived late in the evening, lady at reception appeared very preoccupied but helpful. I was given a room but then asked to give the key back as the room had been allocated to someone else.

Wifi very hit and miss but one of the hotel staff tried to help with connection. Hotel is on a very busy road junction and the flight path of Essendon airfield. As per other reviewers, the hotel decor is very tired and old used furniture but of average cleanliness.

Food left outside rooms and outdoor pool VERY dirty. Only recommend this if you want a room quickly due to delayed flights or to get your head down for a few hours. Sleep and relaxation not guaranteed

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank central2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essendon North
4.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
4.5 mi away
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre
3.4 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
636 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Melbourne, Essendon Fields
3.4 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essendon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essendon Motel

Address: 93 Bulla Rd, Essendon North, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3041, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moonee Valley > Essendon North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon North
Price Range: £59 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essendon Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Essendon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Melbourne
Melbourne Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing