We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book room number one!!!”
Review of Allanton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Allanton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Allanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Every minute there was a pleasure.The room was beautiful,clean and most comfortable."luxury".
Every need catered for and if you forgot your toiletries no bother as each room had beautiful provisions.Plenty of tea,coffee etc in rooms too.Breakfast was scrumptious and kept you going all day.The owners and staff were warm,friendly and very caring nothing was too much bother.Can't wait for our next stay!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms excellent but room number one is "the best in our view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rach_and_andi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just arrived home from a brilliant night at the Allanton Inn. The food was excellent, the service was excellent. The staff are lovely, very attentive and helpful. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Debsandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Arrived and was warmly welcomed have just this minute returned from an evening meal can only say that everything from the superb meal to the great sevice was spot on cant wait for breakfast they have a lot to live up too

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuartscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Pleasant welcome and a very pleasant room. Efficient service. An excellent meal of local produce and a fine Scottish breakfast. Sorry we were only there for one night and had no time to follow the helpful and informative notes on the area left for guests. Very good value. We had two friends join us for dinner and, in spite a crowded dining-room we were able to enjoy a very good reunion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_mary159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This public house is more than welcoming. All staff are very friendly and helpful. The food in the resturant was all locally sourced and excellent.
The room was comfortable and bathroom products, locallymade and excellent.
Very relaxing stay with a fantastic Scotish breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

I have been all around the world and stayed in many hotels, this is by far one of the worst I have been in.

Extremely noisy rooms, I was told that the "The Noise is Reflected in The Price", we left after 1 night of our two night stay and explained the noise was shocking, the owner still took full price, disgusted even after she admitted it was noisy!!!!

Very greedy and will never return to this, in my view, awful place, sours the Scottish Borders, it makes me sad when I am from the Borders!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hoprigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllantonInn, Owner at Allanton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to review the Allanton Inn.

As an old coaching inn there will always be a certain amount of noise transfer between the bar and the room directly above it. However, we operate predominantly as a restaurant and during the week (when you stayed) we would normally be closed between 10pm & 11pm.

I think it should be mentioned that you checked out on the evening of your second day. Had you left in the morning there would have been no charge. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay but 'greedy' & 'awful' is by no means representative of other reviews. Tripadvisor has awarded the Allanton Inn their Certificate of Excellence 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here for one night a few months ago. Rooms were quite dirty, windows were smudged, the bed was lumpy and the shower and bathroom floor was not adequately cleaned. The walls were thin, you could hear people next door. Staff were very unwelcoming, we were never asked if our room/stay was okay. The breakfast was poor at best. We will not return, definitely not worth the price, can't understand the good reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wells89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Allanton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allanton Inn

Address: Allanton TD11 3JZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Allanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Allanton
Price Range: £82 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allanton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of the peaceful conservation village of Allanton, Berwickshire, The Allanton Inn is a charming coaching inn dating from the eighteenth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Allanton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allanton Hotel Allanton
Allanton Inn Borders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing