We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Quiet Country Inn”
Review of Allanton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Allanton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Allanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stopped overnight on the way to Edinburgh. Pleasant room overlooking the main street,but for all that was quiet apart from one early morning harvester. Pleasant garden area to the rear. The food was good if a little expensive. Good breakfast Obviously a very popular eating venue as the restaurant was very busy. Attentive and pleasant staff and hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Allanton Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent a night here on a trip back home from Northumberland and had a great afternoon/evening.
I particularly enjoyed the "gin club" concept in the bar and both lunch and dinner were first rate.

We'll spend a little more time here on our next visit,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VANCES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stopped here as we were recommended to. The service was excellent and the prices reasonable for a nice meal out.
The specials were looked excellent although we didn't eat here.
Good choices of beers and wine.
Great pit stop

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very clean and spacious, lovely views onto the garden and beyond to the rolling countryside, excellent buffet and cooked breakfast included, enthusiastic and friendly staff, always happy to help, a good choice of meals for lunch and dinner, a very pleasant stay in walking distance to Pauline Burbidge's Open Studio event and in easy reach of Berwick upon Tweed and Edinburgh.
We loved it!

Room Tip: Room 5 is quiet and airy
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

No disappointment with an overnight stay. The place is charming and the team youthful, enthusiastic and very competent. For us it was really just a way of breaking the journey en route from London to Edinburgh for our son's wedding. But we hit lucky both with the weather and the choice here. Dinner and breakfast were absolutely fine; not claiming to be Michelin starred cooking (that of itself could be a positive) but interesting, well presented and delicious. We arrived early enough to want to do a walk and found instructions in the room for a charming circular route around the old Blackadder estate. Took us slightly longer than the hotel suggested and towards the end the directions were capable of being misinterpreted (we did.....and got lost briefly) - but in all respects a good pre-dinner expedition. The Scottish Borders were new to us and we found them charming. Our room was compact but that was not an issue for the overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardRaeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Every minute there was a pleasure.The room was beautiful,clean and most comfortable."luxury".
Every need catered for and if you forgot your toiletries no bother as each room had beautiful provisions.Plenty of tea,coffee etc in rooms too.Breakfast was scrumptious and kept you going all day.The owners and staff were warm,friendly and very caring nothing was too much bother.Can't wait for our next stay!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms excellent but room number one is "the best in our view".
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rach_and_andi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just arrived home from a brilliant night at the Allanton Inn. The food was excellent, the service was excellent. The staff are lovely, very attentive and helpful. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Debsandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allanton
1.8 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
38 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
346 reviews
7.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
423 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swinton
322 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Craw Inn
The Craw Inn
#6 of 12 in Eyemouth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allanton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allanton Inn

Address: Allanton TD11 3JZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Allanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Allanton
Price Range: £80 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allanton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of the peaceful conservation village of Allanton, Berwickshire, The Allanton Inn is a charming coaching inn dating from the eighteenth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Allanton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allanton Hotel Allanton
Allanton Inn Borders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing