We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner”
Review of Allanton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Allanton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Allanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere for a dinner out in the area and this is where was recommended. It did not disappoint. Lovely food, friendly service and good atmosphere. Portions were large leaving little room for dessert but we managed one or two between five with the help of some extra spoons. I am sure we will be making a return visit on our next trip.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Coupera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    55
    6
    9
    1
See reviews for
62
161
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stopped overnight on the way to Edinburgh. Pleasant room overlooking the main street,but for all that was quiet apart from one early morning harvester. Pleasant garden area to the rear. The food was good if a little expensive. Good breakfast Obviously a very popular eating venue as the restaurant was very busy. Attentive and pleasant staff and hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent a night here on a trip back home from Northumberland and had a great afternoon/evening.
I particularly enjoyed the "gin club" concept in the bar and both lunch and dinner were first rate.

We'll spend a little more time here on our next visit,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VANCES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped here as we were recommended to. The service was excellent and the prices reasonable for a nice meal out.
The specials were looked excellent although we didn't eat here.
Good choices of beers and wine.
Great pit stop

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very clean and spacious, lovely views onto the garden and beyond to the rolling countryside, excellent buffet and cooked breakfast included, enthusiastic and friendly staff, always happy to help, a good choice of meals for lunch and dinner, a very pleasant stay in walking distance to Pauline Burbidge's Open Studio event and in easy reach of Berwick upon Tweed and Edinburgh.
We loved it!

Room Tip: Room 5 is quiet and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

No disappointment with an overnight stay. The place is charming and the team youthful, enthusiastic and very competent. For us it was really just a way of breaking the journey en route from London to Edinburgh for our son's wedding. But we hit lucky both with the weather and the choice here. Dinner and breakfast were absolutely fine; not claiming to be Michelin starred cooking (that of itself could be a positive) but interesting, well presented and delicious. We arrived early enough to want to do a walk and found instructions in the room for a charming circular route around the old Blackadder estate. Took us slightly longer than the hotel suggested and towards the end the directions were capable of being misinterpreted (we did.....and got lost briefly) - but in all respects a good pre-dinner expedition. The Scottish Borders were new to us and we found them charming. Our room was compact but that was not an issue for the overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardRaeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Every minute there was a pleasure.The room was beautiful,clean and most comfortable."luxury".
Every need catered for and if you forgot your toiletries no bother as each room had beautiful provisions.Plenty of tea,coffee etc in rooms too.Breakfast was scrumptious and kept you going all day.The owners and staff were warm,friendly and very caring nothing was too much bother.Can't wait for our next stay!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms excellent but room number one is "the best in our view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach_and_andi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allanton
7.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
472 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
340 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
36 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swinton
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allanton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allanton Inn

Property: Allanton Inn
Address: Allanton TD11 3JZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Allanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Allanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allanton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of the peaceful conservation village of Allanton, Berwickshire, The Allanton Inn is a charming coaching inn dating from the eighteenth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Allanton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allanton Hotel Allanton
Allanton Inn Borders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing