We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Allanton Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eye Sleep Over(Eyemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed(Berwick-upon-Tweed)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
St. Vedas Hotel(Coldingham)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Queens Head Hotel(Berwick-upon-Tweed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Castle Hotel(Coldstream)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Collingwood Arms Hotel(Cornhill-on-Tweed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
310
62
6
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
310
62
6
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowners and stafflocal honeysmall villagelovely toiletriesbeer gardenscottish bordersfamily suitepreservesroom was very clean and comfortablewell stocked barfantastic foodattending a weddingberwick upon tweedkipperstwo night stayreal alewarm welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Cannot recommend the Allanton inn enough. We stayed 2 nights with our 6 week old son. The room we were given was thoughtfully set aside for extra privacy and we were also offered a second vacant room so that one of us could get some sleep if the other was up with the baby. It was really sweet to find that some toys had been left in the room as well. The rooms were very comfortable, and the bathroom facilities were good with a decent sized bath and really nice toiletries. Breakfast was probably the best I've had, with a decent selection on the menu. We went for the full Scottish breakfast, with lots of local produce. It was delicious, and cooked perfectly. We were especially grateful of the offer by one of the staff to entertain our son so we could eat our breakfast. Pre planned dinner invitations elsewhere meant that we didn't get a chance to try the restaurant in the evenings, but I'm sure that we will next time we stay. Overall the staff made us feel very welcome and well looked after. Thank you all very much !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We celebrated New Year in the Allanton Inn. The 5-course meal and the service were excellent. The entertainment arranged by the staff was great including the mignight piper. Always exceptional and I highly recommend this Inn/restaurant.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank DWMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed just the one night but if we are ever in the area it will definitely be our first choice. We opted for the super king bed room and felt it was worth the little extra for the space. All facilities were well kept and the bathroom was well stocked with toiletries.
Breakfast was superb, fresh fruit and even homemade granola. Excellent choice of freshly cooked food too. One of the best Scottish breakfasts I've ever had!

Room Tip: We had room one, couldn't fault it, spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soss2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked this accommodation without knowing anything about it and it was great! The food is excellent, the room was spotless and the price was very reasonable. When I booked(several weeks ago) I mentioned that we were attending a wedding at nearby Wedderburn Castle. The hotel proprietor and staff all took time to ask about the wedding etc making us feel really special.
I travelled with my husband and sister and we were all very impressed and highly delighted.
Thank you Allanton Inn, you can be sure we will visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllantonInn, Owner at Allanton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the weekend. Wedderburn Castle is a great setting for a wedding. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

William & Katrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were staying in a holiday cottage near Berwick upon Tweed for two weeks. We had enjoyed meals at the Allanton Inn during previous holidays so went back for lunch - not once but three times. Local seafood, game, good "butchers meat". Really excellent. Do book.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank kikiflowerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews