We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.”
Review of Allanton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Allanton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Allanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Allanton Inn, as we were attending a wedding in nearby Chirnside. We were both very impressed with the hotel. Our room was big, with lovely decor, and a huge comfy bed. The bathroom was nice, with great toiletries provided. There was a tray with tea and coffee making facilities, and a good hairdryer, which is unusual for a hotel. The breakfasts were great too, a lovely full Scottish, and the hot smoked salmon and scrambled egg was the best I have ever tasted. We didn't have any other meals, but the menu looked good, especially the cheese board. There was a nice beer garden out the back too, where we enjoyed a cold drink. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purebraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We all loved the meal at The Allanton. Everything was just right - the atmosphere, the surroundings, the food and the friendly, welcoming staff. I am assured the beer was good too (I was driving). My 83 year old mum asked if she could have a smaller portion, which they did without any fuss and amended the price accordingly. We were staying in the area and are sorry we can't eat here more often. Great choice on menu and well cooked.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank gcook68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

After coming across the Allanton Inn by chance whilst visiting the area recently what a fabulous hidden gem we found . We decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary a day early with their lunch time menu offering some splendid meal choices, Well presented , cooked and served 3 courses with good range of local seasonal produce used. Great to have a varied sweet choice all homemade and not the usual selection you are offered. Good selection of beer for the beer drinkers. Very friendly welcoming staff and helpful.
This was our first visit to the area but will certainly not be our last .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 606Ashley220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

First of all, I'm a business traveller, so I do have a comaprison between a variaty of hotels. The Allanton Inn is a very nice and friendly place to stay. The rooms are nice, not too big, but also not small - just enough for a stay. Nice beds, all equipment needed is in place. As it is a family owned place, you can easly get a lot extra, e.i. I needed an extension cord - was no problem to get it. The best thing about the place is the food and drinks in the afternoon. Great food, always a daily special, a lot of local beer to choose from and of course whisky. I would recommend staying there for a few days and if not possible, just pop in for dinner!

Room Tip: All rooms are quite similar, but the ones directly above the pub seem a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrzej L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Allanton Inn is the best place to eat around Duns - hands down! The owners and staff are always very welcoming and friendly. The menu changes regularly and always includes local produce. Definitely worth a visit!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 2013rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Went to the Allanton Inn for dinner during a 4 day visit to The Borders as it had been recommended. It's welcoming from the time you park. Nice cosey bar and dining room with panelling. Not an extensive menu but we all found something very nice and one of us is a vegetarian and one doesn't eat fish. Friendly staff are efficient. Cant say much better than we returned the next day to have lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigT2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We are regular visitors to our local. What a treat to have such a great pub in walking distance! The lunches and evening meals have quality local ingredients and seasonal choices. William and Katrina are always so welcoming. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenandnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allanton
1.8 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
38 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
346 reviews
7.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
426 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swinton
323 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Craw Inn
The Craw Inn
#6 of 13 in Eyemouth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allanton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allanton Inn

Address: Allanton TD11 3JZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Allanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Allanton
Price Range: £83 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allanton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of the peaceful conservation village of Allanton, Berwickshire, The Allanton Inn is a charming coaching inn dating from the eighteenth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Allanton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allanton Hotel Allanton
Allanton Inn Borders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing