We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Class by Far !!”
Review of Munden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Munden House
Ranked #1 of 1 Alweston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Munden House is a true benchmark for how a Boutique Hotel, Country Inn or B&B should be run. Colin and Annie are charming hosts who made us feel at home the moment we set foot in the front door. Our room was well appointed with all we needed for a comfortable stay. Annie cooked us a lovely three course meal washed down with a Prosecco from a small but interesting list of Italian wines. If you want a place to chill out Munden House is a perfect venue and there is a lovely easy walk into Sherborne and then a taxi back for a fiver !! Great stay, thank you Colin and Annie we loved it.

Room Tip: Try the garden cottage !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bakkies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

I wanted to book a surprise family weekend away for my husband who had just retired and spent ages looking around and reading reviews and stumbled across Munden House, so decided to book. If you're looking to stay somewhere really special this is the place. Everything was perfect and Annie and Colin the owners went out of their way to make the weekend brilliant. We stayed in the Summer House which is truly beautiful. There is nothing corporate or standard about Munden House. The meal Annie prepared for us on the saturday evening was delicious. None of us wanted to leave, and we will definitely be back. There are lots of lots of places to choose to stay but if you choose Munden House - you will not be disappointed. Magical.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milfordboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Nice place, all the reviews are accurate, however this is still a B&B so for $150 per night you would expect it to be hotel standard.

It's situated in the country a bit out of Sherbourne which means you need to a car to get to the main town because it is too far to walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dani162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLINFLETCHER, Owner at Munden House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

I felt the need to respond to this review. What is hotel standard? These guests stayed in a beautifully furnished double room with a king sized sleigh bed, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen freeview TV, with tea and coffee (fresh ground coffee and cafetiere) and complimentary mineral waters. The room is equipped with an en-suite bath, shower, basin and loo, White Company shampoos and shower gels and premium quality towels, hand towels and flannels. The tariff was £95 per night which included VAT and a full cooked breakfast in the dining room. We are fully licensed, offer free WIFI and like to bring a personal service to all our guests and I am surprised that it was found to be pricey. Take out the VAT element and it’s less than £40 per person per night. I can only assume things are much cheaper down under.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The best b&b I have ever stayed at. Owners are welcoming & very attentive. Rooms are immaculate with really comfortable beds with that extre special touch. Beautiful views of the countryside from the dining room. The breakfast was of good quality and very tasty. Would deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smbcdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I tease.
We asked for the Garden Room and got a lovely chalet all by itself in a secluded corner of the garden.
Huge comfortable bed, huge room, kitchen too.
Morning sunlight streaming in.
Chickens clucking, dog amiably following after us.
Idyllic.
Annie provided a lovely dinner with fresh local produce & Colin supplied a delicious Gavi from their exclusively Italian list.
A great freshly cooked breakfast set us off on our way.
They have it absolutely right. Well done.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We can only concur with previous glowing reviews of this charming B&B. We particularly enjoyed a home cooked dinner of very high quality and the warm and attentive service throughout our stay. This is a great place to stay to explore this attractive corner of Dorset

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carpetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We wanted somewhere comfortable and lovely for us and our immediate family to stay for two nights for our nearby wedding in Sherborne. We booked all 7 rooms in this gorgeous B&B, and we could not have made a better choice than to stay at Munden House. Our family were all so excited with their rooms, and secretly telling us 'I think we've got the best room!'. As bride and groom, WE obviously did get the best room! We stayed in the Summer House, where the 'shed with a chandelier' (as described by Colin, the owner, when I first phoned!) was a gorgeous self-contained holiday house, but also a dressing room for the bride and bidesmaid and gave our photographer a beautiful backdrop for some gorgeous images. Our stay was just wonderful, and we wished we could have stay longer!

Annie prepared beautiful breakfasts for us all, and gave us, the Bride and Groom, a breakfast on our private decking the morning after our Big Day. Delicious! Annie was so helpful with offers of a home cooked dinner, recommendations for restaurants in town and taxis. As hosts, they were warm and welcoming. Anyone lucky enough to find this B&B will be in for a treat! We had the most amazing wedding day, and no doubt our stay at Munden House started and finished it off perfectly.

Room Tip: The Summer House offers you a bit of privacy, and wonderful views of the gorgeous gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrAndMrsLauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alweston
2.8 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
708 reviews
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
959 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Chetnole Inn
The Chetnole Inn
#1 of 2 in Chetnole
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munden House

Address: Mundens Lane, Alweston, Sherborne DT9 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Alweston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alweston
Price Range: £91 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Munden House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munden House is a luxury award winning B&B with six individual en-suite rooms and three cottages only two and a half miles from Sherborne, Dorset. Originally a collection of old farm buildings dating back over three centuries it retains all the old period features and combines modern day comfort with tradition. All rooms are individually furnished, with comfortable beds and crisp Egyptian cotton linen, HD TVs, DAB radios and tea and coffee making facilities. The three self contained cottages offer flexible and spacious accommodation with fully equipped kitchens. In the heart of Thomas Hardy country,Munden House with 5 star rated accommodation is the perfect base from which to explore Dorset, or rest overnight on journeys to or from the West Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Munden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munden House Alweston, Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing