We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good representation of asian fusion”
Review of Chi Restaurant

Chi Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Kenton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
565 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“good representation of asian fusion”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

this restaurant has a nice little garden outside which you walk through to the restaurant. the food was good and up there with other good fusion restaurants i have been too. it certainly isnt the best but they are close and if the food was a little bit better then this would be a really great restaurant

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodfootballbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    26
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We drove from Torbay for a birthday meal and it was worth every mile! The food, service and ambience were faultless and I look forward to returning again to try more delicious dishes from the menu. It was very well priced and it was a welcomed sight to see local produce on the menu, too! I would definitely recommend a visit!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeahDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fresh ingredients & ample choice”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Both the interior and exterior of this gorgeous restaurant felt luxurious and decedent without being unfriendly. We came in from the car park through a pretty oriental garden, and once inside were led through to our table where we could see fish tanks and fountains.

On a Friday night the place was quite full and the atmosphere was good - staff on hand at all times and happy faces and bustling chat from the other customers - always a good sign. If I have one small gripe, the background music was a little loud for us.

Service was prompt and helpful without being overbearing, and advice was given without any problem to one of our party with a special dietary requirement.

The best thing by far about this place was the food. We orderd the set menu for four and every single item was delicious. Particular praise goes to the vegetable main and the fish cakes (part of starter) but everything was good - you could taste the freshness of the ingredients and the attention paid to the combination of spices and seasoning.

I've eaten in a lot of Asian inspired restaurants and this has got to be one of the best food wise. Next time I'll sample one of the fish dishes, as these specials come highly recommended and the fish is freshly and locally sourced.

Yes this place is expensive but it's worth every penny. It is not your average Chinese / Thai restaurant. Please start saving as it is worth the culinary experience!

We left feeling very impressed and very full. Well done Chi, we'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stookie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Ive been to this restaurant many times over the last 6 years and have never been dissapointed. In fact Im going there next wednesday night.

The food is always good, in fact the best oriental food ive tasted in the UK. The decore is modern and very stylish and the staff are always freindly and polite.
Id recommend this restaurant to all

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

What a fantastic restaurant nestled in a rural village just outside Dawlish Warren in Devon. I took my husband and family there on Saturday evening and we were absolutely amazed at the quality of the food and service offered at this hidden gem of a restaurant. The restaurant is a mix of Chinese and Thai and offers some unusual dishes that are of the highest quality and not over priced. All the staff were exceptionally trained and nothing was too much trouble. The advice given on the dishes was also helpful as some of the Thai dishes we didnt know about, but after the staff help we were happy to try dishes we hadnt tried before, and we were not disappointed. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes good restaurants with a great ambience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barnie107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chi Restaurant also viewed

 
Dawlish, Devon
 

Been to Chi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing