We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kims - a very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kims Beachside Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toowoon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband & I have been going to Kims now for many years and we love it every time we go there. The Kershaws have always been very welcoming as are their staff. The Reception staff, Dining Room & The Cocktail Lounge staff are always courteous as well as the housekeeping and maintenance staff.

Upon arrival, when you walk through the gate, you feel like you are in another world!

We always stay at the Beachfront Villas where the view is magnificent. The villas are quite spacious with a lounge to sit and relax. In fact, relaxation is what Kims is all about. After meals, we enjoy sitting on the verandah and admiring the view.

The meals are fabulous and there are lots to choices. Before dinner, you can go to the Cocktail Lounge where you can enjoy a variety of cocktails and other drinks. When the weather is colder, the open fire warms up the room and on some nights, there is a pianist and another musician.

We would recommend Kims to those who would like to stay at "a very special place"! You wont be disappointed!

We look forward to returning again early next year and we thank the Kershaws and all the staff again for their courtesy and hospitality.

Room Tip: Beachfront Villas are fabuolous.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

It is always our aim for people to be transported to a special place or another world where they are just able to relax and enjoy the experience and time together. Thank you for your beautiful comments on the rooms, the food and our very special staff and management. We appreciate and thank you for returning time and time again and we also look forward to your next escape to Kims.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Kims Beachside Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

My partner and I paid our second visit to Kims in March. It was several years since our first visit and we were concerned that our expectations might be too high. We weren't worried for long. Kims was just as we remembered. The service warm and welcoming, the food plentiful and fresh. The cocktails brilliant - with the bar tender creating some very special creations.

The location is great. We will be back again.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Wanye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you have written a lovely review about your second stay in March of this year. We take the most pride in providing consistency and meeting expectations is something we strive to achieve. We are so very pleased that Kims is just as you remembered. We look forward to welcoming you again soon perhaps for another interesting cocktail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My now fiance arranged an overnight stay at Kim's to celebrate my birthday, and so it turned out, our engagement. Considering his family have been coming to Toowoon Bay for a week every January for the last 10 or so years, it was very surprising that no one ever new what layed behind the large wooden gate, and what a shame, because a place like this should be known!! From the moment we arrived, the staff were super friendly, even personally showing us to our room and explaining all the features and meal times. We arrived for lunch on the first day and what a feast we had. Although it was a buffet, it was the most amazing buffet we have ever had. The variety was outstanding and the quality superb. We at so much, we weren't sure we would make it back for dinner. But after a dip in our private heated Jacuzzi, we found our appetite again. The seafood buffet dinner was lovely. Not as big of a range of seafood as first thought, but the quality was 5 star and we left with full belly's again. Breakfast was again very good, with a large selection of quality home made food, but I was hoping they would have had a larger choice of pastries. As for the rooms, they were beautifully set out. Very appropriate for the surroundings. We literally felt like were were in a jungle somewhere, because with all the trees, we couldn't really see any other bungalows. The king size bed and array of pillows were very comfortable, and we were surprised with a turn down service when arriving back after dinner (which I think should be mentioned to guests, as we had clothes and stuff everywhere, which we would have tidied up if we knew the were providing the service). While I think the price is slightly expensive, I highly recommend this place to anyone, and can't wait to stay here again, hopefully longer next time!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke240711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Firstly may we congratulate you both on your engagement. We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday celebration at Kims too. Thank you for the lovely comments about your stay and we hope that many more people discover the magic of Kims behind the wooden gates! We will proudly display your review for all our staff to see as they appreciate knowing that the food was immensely enjoyed and that even things like the quality of the pillows chosen was found to be a good choice. We will also look forward to welcoming you again for a longer visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed at Kim's for our wedding anniversary and it was spectacular. We chose one of the Terrace Spa Bungalows (named Hillside) and it was perfect, with privacy, beautiful filtered water views, an amazing shower and spa bath and just fabulous jacuzzi which was totally private but still with great views. From the welcome at reception to the service in the bar and restaurant and the lovely turndown service, we could not fault a thing. The food was buffet style, and the seafood at dinner was cold, fresh and tasted delicious. Only thing I think they could improve on is the toiletries in the bathroom - when the facilities are so amazing, high quality toiletries I think are a must! Already planning when we can get back there!

Room Tip: We stayed in Hillside, which offered privacy with lovely views. I loved the decor and layout of the...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johann Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

We are delighted that you choose Kims for your wedding anniversary celebration and that you enjoyed the special features of your accommodation and the wonderful service provided by our staff. Thank you also for the comments on the food and how delicious it tasted, our Chef’s will be pleased. I will show the staff a copy of your review as they are always so pleased to read what our guests are saying. I appreciate your comment on the guest toiletries and will have our Housekeeping Supervisor review this. We look forward to welcoming you again to Kims soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at Kims some time ago but were far from dissapointed. You feel secluded, luxuriated and VIP from the moment you arrive. Pure indulgence this is!! Check in was very helpful and you feel right at home from the minute you arrive. Our bungalow wasn't quite ready so we had a couple of cocktails at the bar overlooking the beautiful resort and Toowoon Bay, nice start! The bungalow itself was very spacious, elegant and private. The rain shower was amazing and the size of the bathroom was as big as one of my kids bedrooms. The stunning views from the bedroom blew our minds, it was simply amazing pulling back the shutters to watch the sunrise in the mornings. The meals were out of this world, loved the way so much food was home cooked and there was so much of it it was almost too much sometimes, but always of superb quality, especially the seafood buffet. I was also very happy when they displayed my Welsh flag at dinner time one evening and they actually put the flags displayed that evening on the menu with the names of the guest staying - LOL! Overall, stunning place, very pricey but very worthwhile. We hope to be back again....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. It is always so nice when guests are welcomed into “our home” and actually feel and comment “we felt right at home”, it is just so wonderful to hear. We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation and most especially our large marble bathrooms that are intended to wash away the stress and pressure of everyday life. The view is amazing and even after all these years I am also still amazed when I awake each day – it is simply stunning and mesmerizing. Our Chefs will be extremely pleased that you enjoyed their meals and we will gladly pass on your comments about the lovely home cooked, abundance and quality of the food. Our flags are another small touch to make guests feel welcome and if we have a guests flag and know where they were born we will fly it proudly for all to see. We hope to welcome you again soon too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The stay was a surprise for my girlfriend and Kim's came through in every way. The resort itself is located in an improbably mundane suburb, but once on the wooden boardwalk leading to reception through bamboo and ferns, you're somewhere quite different and wonderful. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful, the bungalow was beautifully finished, and the spa bath, outdoor jacuzzi and temple shower (6 jets!!) we're all very relaxing. I should note the kingside bed was very comfortable too. Onto the food, a real highlight, buffet style, but very high quality, many items homemade (baked goods, butter, custard etc were all amazingly tasty) and the choices on offer were excellent for breakfast lunch and dinner. The dessert selections in particular were outstanding! The wait staff were attentive and helpful and the view of the ocean from the restaurant was lovely. The bar is also a great little place with comfy chairs, an interesting library and a good selection of beverages.
I recommend Kim's unreservedly if you're after a Sydney getaway (the website says 1 hr drive, with Friday afternoon traffic it was closer to 2 hrs). Our stay was incredibly relaxing and we wanted for nothing, we can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

We are truly delighted that your surprise for your girlfriend turned out so superbly and that you both enjoyed a wonderful stay. Thank you for your lovely comments on our place, the product and the service as we constantly strive to deliver only the best. The Chef’s will be extremely pleased that you found the food to be the real highlight and the choices and quality were very high. We hope to be home to many Sydney siders for weekend escapes for many years to come. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at Kim's for 2 nights over the June long weekend. Kim's is made up of individual bungalows on the beach at Toowoon Bay.
The service is very good, however the resort itself is getting a bit tired and probably well overdue due for a refurbishment. The pine wall panels, oldish bathrooms and dated soft furnishing show Kim's age. The outside light on our bungalow didn't work and we had a commanding view of the outside car park which meant we had to close our curtains when the lights were on to prevent people seeing in.
Meals are served buffet style at set meal times - 8.30am, 1pm and 7.30pm. Food is cleared after 60 minutes so the window of opportunity to eat is limited. We were disappointed that breakfast was only available at 8.30am as all we really wanted was a sleep in over the cold rainy long weekend. In fact we skipped Sunday breakfast preferring to sleep in until 9.00 and drove to a cafe up the road for a later breakfast.
We also found the food to be disappointing. On our first night the left over lamb shanks from the night before reappeared reheated on the buffet. On the Sunday night we could see the pea and ham soup,lamb, avocado pieces and salad reappear at dinner after being served at the lunchtime buffet. Also on Sunday night was the reheated left over butter chicken from the night before alongside the left over sushimi from the night before. The hot food sitting in casserole dishes on hot plates was cold because the open heating plate it was sitting on didn't retain the heat (and there was no overhead heat lamp to assist).
The weekend we were there was cold and wet, yet the staff didn't light the fire in the bar which is the only place other than your room to go when the weather is bad. The drinks are relatively expensive and service in the bar slow.
Two nights for 2 people costs us $1200 (this was the bottom end accommodation). We didn't find it to be good value for money and probably wouldn't go back.
And Yes they did run out of food items on both nights we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Street_Smart_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

We recently reviewed your comments and thank you for taking time to provide feedback. The staff will be extremely pleased that you found their service to be very good. Food has always been an important part of the Kims experience and to cater for our guests our Chef’s prepare food for the buffet and then only cook what is needed by guests for that meal. You will often witness us ordering additional quantities of food featured on the menu to serve to our guests if required. It is when not all the prepared food is cooked that we will cook and serve it the next evening. This presents the opportunity to enjoy a dish again. The buffet is only cleared away when the Restaurant supervisor is confident that guests have finished. However, as relaxation is the main reason of guests stay, should they miss the meal time we would always offer an alternate option. The décor is fitting for the theme of Kims being natural wood with a beach feel. I can assure you that we update our furnishings continuously throughout the property. We are sorry that you do not think that you would return as we are very proud of the large number of repeat guests that we have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toowoon Bay
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#2 of 6 in Terrigal
1,047 reviews
6.7 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#2 of 9 in The Entrance
168 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
1.4 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kims Beachside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kims Beachside Retreat

Address: 16 Charlton Street | PO Box 1, Toowoon Bay, New South Wales 2261, Australia (Formerly Kims Beach Hideaway)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Toowoon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toowoon Bay
Price Range: £273 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kims Beachside Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kims Beach Hideaway is located right on the beach with absolute ocean views and just over an hours drive north of Kims. Accommodation is in individual timber lodges with a seperate restaurant and cocktail lounge. Meals are included in most packages and served buffet style. Kims in adults only and a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Kims Beachside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kims Beach Hideaway Hotel Toowoon Bay
Kims Beach Hideaway Wyong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing