We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISAPOINTED” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kims Beachside Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kims Beachside Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toowoon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DISAPOINTED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Yesterday we went to Kims for Christmas function for tennis club We were told there was seafood and buffet style roasts sweets etc for cost of $60 a head we had 8 attend

On arrival place is stunning beach views spectacular On approaching the buffet all you could see is one roast and helper cooks one piece of fish at a time some sort of gem fish not bad not all that great when asked couldn't tell what fish it was
We could not see any seafood as told all I could see mostly was lots of sweets we asked where all the seafood was and manager came over and said no way would you have been told that there was seafood more or less suggested we were liars... as if we could have gone all the way to have a lambs no wonder we were the only ones in the restaurant

I thought she was rude to us as well I never complain but was a ripoff for what was there yesterday

I have heard it is magnificent in the past but gone down hill as one of the ladies there said used to be fabulous
at that time of year only ones in restaurant week out of Christmas probably says it all

The waitresses and kitchen staff were really really lovely couldn't fault there lovely personalities but the meal was worth no more than $20

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharyn882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We are very proud of our buffet meals, they always offer fresh quality product with plenty of choice. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch and that your expectation was we provided cold seafood on our lunch buffets. We certainly try to ensure that when you make a booking with us you are clearly advise the menu on offer and it is disappointing that sometimes people who dine with us do confuse the food choices on each meal. Our menus are extensive and the on the day you visited some of the items served included: Gazpacho soup, fresh asparagus with béarnaise sauce, avocado with raspberry vinaigrette, roast Mudgee lamb, local sweeplip fish, vegetable and salad selection, freshly baked breads, large dessert selection (this is the main feature of the lunch buffet) including the mouthwatering chocolate profiteroles, homemade ice-cream and sorbets, cheese boards with seven cheeses. The main feature on our evening buffet is a large selection of cold seafood and sashimi. When we realized that you were not happy with the menu we did give you an option of rescheduling your booking to an evening. Food is an integral part of the Kims experience and so thoroughly enjoyed by the majority of our guests. The selection offered provides choices for all people and we cater to any dietary needs. Again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch day with us and hope you return to enjoy dinner one night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    73
    31
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
244
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We had heard so much about Kims and were amazed that they had sustained such a great reputation over so many years. We had to try it out, so we booked for our 15th anniversary.

The day we arrived was pretty wet and windy, but we were welcomed in for lunch. Kims gives you breakfast lunch and dinner in the tariff, even if you are only staying for a day (you can have lunch before you check in or after you check out - pretty cool). We were taken to our table, and you get to "keep" your table for the duration of the time you are there (although you can request to book an outside table if the weather permits).

Lunch was beautiful and I was impressed that they saved some cost for us by suggesting that we order a bottle of wine, have the couple of glasses we wanted, and they would seal the bottle and refrigerate it for us to finish at dinner - which we did.

The rooms are stunning - beautifully appointed, spacious and impressive. We booked a beachfront room (the Long Beach Room) which was adjacent to the restaurant but very quiet. We settled down in the comfortable chairs in the sun room looking out at the beach, and it was so tempting we went for a long walk on the semi-private beach. The rain had stopped, and although it was still a bit windy and cool, it was still lovely.

Prior to dinner we had a drink in the bar where a pianist was playing great music, and he even did a request for us as we enjoyed our cocktails. Dinner was magic. Entrees were excellent, especially some mussels in a lovely sauce. The mains were magic. Four choices and if my conscience and my waistline had not spoken, I would have sampled all 4. As it was we each had a taste of each other's different choices. Dessert again was plentiful and impressive.

The beds are comfortable, service is quietly efficient, and overall it is just an excellent experience.

It's not cheap to stay there, but in view of 3 great meals and fantastic accommodation, it is well worth every cent for a special occasion with a special person. We're converted. Kims reputation is well-earned.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had a fabulous 15th Wedding Anniversary with us and found the whole experience excellent. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and our beautiful restaurant. How wonderful that you were able to take a long walk on what, we also see as our “private” beach. We are glad that you found your room, Long Beach, spacious, impressive and quiet with a very comfortable bed with ocean views. It is fantastic that you felt your special occasion visit was worth every cent and that you were able to spend quality time together. We look forward to welcoming you both again soon and we truly appreciated your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from 5 nights at Kim's Beach and I must say I was sad to leave. The food and service were absolutely fantastic - we felt like we were being cared for in someone's home. The surroundings are beautiful. I was attending a leadership development program and unfortunately didn't get much down time to relax. However the environment was just what we needed to get away from the city and the typical daily treadmill and reflect. The rooms were great - but the highlight is definitely the food and the service. Our group (of 8) looked forward to every meal and relished the freshness, variety and quality. Homemade butter, breads, jams and chutneys give you an idea! Not to mention the decadent ice creams and sorbets - I would return to Kim's for coconut sorbet alone! Thank you Km's - I will always remember this week and will definitely be back for a personal trip with my loved ones!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenfieldsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We are truly thrilled that you enjoyed your recent week long stay with us. It is a saying of ours to those sad to leave “you must depart so that you can look forward to returning again” and something we also boost is; “your first visit is only the first of many”. From your fabulous review we know that you enjoyed your Kims experience and for that we are grateful. We appreciate your comments on our beautiful environment, food, accommodation and service and will proudly display a copy of your comments for our staff, most especially our wonderful Chef’s whom lovingly prepare our home baked items including our own Coconut Sorbet. Remember us fondly and return shortly for another memorable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were made feel very welcome. We had everything necessary explained to us and were then shown to our gorgeous clean room. The timber used inside and out is in keeping of the whole property and experience. This place is tranquil. A rainforest set on the beach. Kim's is maintained so well and updated when necessary. The dining experience is also very special. You are shown to a table that has been allocated with your name on it, beautiful fresh seafood, and lovely chef prepared meals. The service is friendly but professional, what you would expect from a 5 star resort. The beds and pillows are quality. Breakfast is equal to the best I have had elsewhere, fresh with variety. I would highly recommend Kim's to couples looking for somewhere private, relaxing and secluded.

Room Tip: We had the 2nd cheapest room, it was still only one room back from the beach and close to everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your delightful review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are extremely proud that you noticed how clean and maintained Kims is, it is something we take so much care to provide. We are equally glad that you enjoyed your dining experience. We also believe that couples who want to enjoy just spending some quality, peaceful time together should escape to our private beach lodges. We hope that you visit again soon for another beautiful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Last night I took my parents for Dinner at Kim's and we were thrilled. All the staff were so welcoming and friendly, the food was superb and the outlook was stunning. Our waiter Daniel was fantastic, nothing was a trouble and he was so polite.
We will definitely be back again soon.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessicat1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review and we are also thrilled that you and your parents enjoyed dinner at Kims. We appreciate your comments on our fabulous food and fantastic staff and one of our waiters Daniel, we were proudly display on our notice board for all to enjoy reading. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again for dinning or accommodation reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Idyllic location, amazing accommodation and food that leaves you wondering how you can possibly eat another meal but you can't wait to go back.

Our ocean view terrace room has a modern feel with all the comforts to make it feel homely with all the luxury inclusions that make this the perfect place to spend a few days. Our room has the luxury of two balconies - one with a jacuzzi where we can relax and still watch the ocean. Idyllic!!

All included breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food is superb. Home made jams, butters, breads, excellent seafood and perfectly cooked meats. Buffet in style and the staff are well trained - friendly and efficient. Casual and relaxed - but it can be as formal as you want it to be.

You have to experience this at least once .... but I can guarantee we will be back. It seems expensive but when you get here you soon realise that it is worth every $$. Off to the beach for a few hours and then a spa before our next meal ... Luxury in comfort at Kim's.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eat_Sleep_Play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review which we believe perfectly describes a Kims experience and we appreciate your honest comments and are so extremely pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your beautiful terrace level bungalow with Jacuzzi, our lovingly prepared homemade food, our team and the relaxed atmosphere created in our hideaway. We look forward to welcoming you both again for another luxurious getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I had herd how good this location was , it wasn't until I got there, that I can only say "Breathtaking". It was like a private oasis. The buffet was fantastic, the selection was amazing. but the fresh creams and butters were delicious on top of warm home made bread. Whilst looking out over the ocean. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our lunch buffet and we are delighted that you enjoyed our food, amazing view and homemade items that are featured daily on our menus. We look forward to welcoming you again to our private breathtaking oasis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toowoon Bay
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
6.7 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
3.6 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
0.6 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#3 of 9 in The Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Toowoon Bay Holiday Park
Toowoon Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Toowoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kims Beachside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kims Beachside Retreat

Property: Kims Beachside Retreat
Address: 16 Charlton Street | PO Box 1, Toowoon Bay, New South Wales 2261, Australia (Formerly Kims Beach Hideaway)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Toowoon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toowoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kims Beachside Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kims Beach Hideaway is located right on the beach with absolute ocean views and just over an hours drive north of Kims. Accommodation is in individual timber lodges with a seperate restaurant and cocktail lounge. Meals are included in most packages and served buffet style. Kims in adults only and a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kims Beachside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kims Beach Hideaway Hotel Toowoon Bay
Kims Beach Hideaway Wyong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing