We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kims Beachside Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toowoon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was out first stay at Kim's and we arrived on a Tuesday and left on a Sunday. We were celebrating a birthday and they very kindly organised a cake - home-made and delicious, and when we couldn't finish it, they wrapped it, and let us take the plate back to our cabin. That set the tone for the stay - good food, generous hospitality and a strong personal touch.

Our cabin was on the beach - a gorgeous outlook and with the soothing sound of the waves to send us to sleep. The bathroom was large and well-appointed with a fantastic shower and instant hot water - brilliant. The room service never disrupted our activities as it coincided with meal times, meaning that we returned from breakfast to a sparkling room, with the bed made etc. Unlike a hotel where you often have to navigate the housekeeping, Kim's attention to this detail meant we got the most from our room while we were staying.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful, without being intrusive, managing to strike just the right tone. The massage each of us had was heavenly.

Everything from the bottle of champagne and roses when we arrived, to the little gift on departure, made the experience memorable.

Kim's have worked out how to deliver something special. We'll be coming back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maserop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to Kims. We are pleased to have made your birthday celebration more memorable and that you found everything from the lodge, food, staff and massage all wonderful.

We will proudly display a copy of your review for all our staff to see as they always enjoy knowing that our guests enjoy their experience with us.

We felt immense pride with all your comments and most especially your last line “Kims have worked out how to deliver something special”. It is what we strive to achieve and we are thrilled you stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Kims Beachside Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Have stayed here several times before and it's a pleasure to return each time.
High quality timber bungalows set on the beach in a tropical garden. Heaven !
Rooms are very spacious, discreet, with balconies, superior bathrooms, extremely well equipped.
Rates include full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. The choice and quality are of a superior level hardly found in other places. Finest fresh seafood, cold cuts, salads, hot dishes, fine cheeses.
Only the very best is served here.
Attractive bar with huge choice of drinks and cocktails. Great terraces overlooking the ocean.
Excellent service trough out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review and it was lovely to welcome you and the family to Kims again recently. We are very humbled with your comments and are pleased that you find the accommodation, food, cocktail bar, location and service all excellent. We loved the comment “choice and quality are of a superior level hardly found in other places”, thank you this is our aim and we are delighted you experienced this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place is delightful; the palms, the superb tropical gardens, the history and the ambiance could be straight out of "South Pacific". We had a beachfront bungalow which was terrific - how beautiful to wake up to the sea and the sunrise. The buffet style meals are like staying at a friend's house; lots of high quality fresh food and amazing desserts. The seafood was stunning! Worth a visit as a special treat - recommended highly!

Room Tip: The garden bungalows are very close to the beachfront anyway and half the price.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazeyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you felt the beach location and ambiance, wrapped within our sub tropical rainforest could have been anywhere in the South Pacific. We are pleased you enjoyed waking up right on the beach with stunning uninterrupted ocean views and even early enough to enjoy watching the sunrise. We pride ourselves on our fresh homely prepared dishes and we truly enjoy sharing our creations with our guests, glad that you also enjoyed them. Hope you return soon for another special visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We recently spent two nights at Kims and loved our experience. The location is superb.We stayed in a terrace villa which was fantastic. Very well appointed, spotless and spacious. A one minute walk to the beach was wonderful. Staff were attentive without being intrusive. We were however rather disappointed with the food. Certainly plenty of it but felt it lacked flair and creativity and not what we would have expected from such a high end resort. Aside from this, we are pleased we have experienced this little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: We chose a terrace villa with a jacuzzi and would highly recommend.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP2182014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We are pleased that you experienced our piece of paradise and found your villa fantastic and our absolute beachfront location superb. We are sorry that you found the food lacked flair, we continuously change our menus and update products to today’s trends and it is disappointing that you felt this way. We are so proud of our product and staff and once again delighted that you had a lovely time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We finally went to kims, WOW. A 3 night mid week stay. 1. Perfect beachside accommodation on the sand. Check in easy. Bay view terrace superb, wonderfully comfortable bed. Awesome double shower infact I would say the best shower outside of my own I have ever had. Bose ipod dock so bring your ipod. Whether in bed on deck or in jacuzzi you have a full view of the beach and sounds of the water. Watch a sunrise and also have option of closing shutter for complete darkness for a sleep in, breakfast doesn't start till 8.30. The menu has frequent changes. All meals are buffet with service of hot foods. Also things like eggs cooked in small numbers so not left sitting to long. But rest assured everything you eat will be in its freshest state. Our choices for breakfast went from cereal to slipper lobster. Lunch included the largest desserts choices and dinners included chicken to seafood magnificent. For 3 nights we didn't have to think about food it was done for us everything we could have possibly wanted and then some. We sat in jacuzzi and took in the ocean views, we walked on the beach had afternoon sleeps and completely relaxed. And thankyou to kims for the bottle of champagne in our bungalow. So many features at kims that made this short break unforgettable I just say you have to go and experience it for yourself. We will get back to kims for sure. Absolutely loved it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank phillirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

We are absolutely delighted that you experience the WOW factor during your recent stay and even more pleased that you loved the total experience.
Thank you for all the wonderful mentions on our perfect beachside accommodation and the facilities that the rooms offer. We are also glad that you enjoyed the variety of choice and freshest food offered and on our menus.
We are glad that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with walks along the beach and afternoon sleeps, followed by sparkling wine.
Look forward to you returning for another unforgettable short escape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Ken & I have just returned from 3 nights @ beautiful Kims!
We have been there many times & every time is magic!
The view from the Beachside Lodge is fantastic!
We received a warm welcome upon arrival from Diana & Peter Kershaw & were made welcome by the Reception staff!
The meals were scrumptious, as usual, & the service in the dining room was very good!
We will be going back again later in the year & will look forward to the Hideaway once more!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

It was wonderful to receive your comments on your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure welcoming back our many special regular guests. We are pleased you enjoyed our food , service and the magic of Kims.
Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was our fourth visit to Kim's and I must say it just gets better and better!! When arriving we were greeted by the lovely Diana Kershaw (General Manager) she made us feel so welcome, like a member of the Kim's family. This visit we stayed at "Treetops" and it was so beautiful. The rooms were all well appointed, spotless and a lovely bottle of bubbly to greet us. We had our own private pool, sauna and spa. The food at Kim's is beyond fantastic, the service was excellent all the staff could not do enough for us and made our stay perfect. I can highly recommend Kim's to anyone who wants a getaway and feel pampered with all the luxury that a five star hotel. We love it at Kim's it is our favourite destination, we will be going again this year. Thank you to Diana and Peter for making our visit so special. Kim's gets a 10 out of 10 from me.

Room Tip: We always choose a bungalow with a pool.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your 10 out of 10 score, and the lovely review on Treetops, our property, staff, myself and husband. We have been the owners and operators for the past 30 years and it is welcoming guests like yourselves that really enjoy everything about their Kims experience that makes us so very proud. We are pleased that you found the villa, private pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and spa beautiful. We appreciate the comments on the food, service and staff that helped make your stay excellent. Very glad that we are your favourite destination and we look forward to making you feel special every time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toowoon Bay
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,054 reviews
6.7 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
0.7 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#3 of 9 in The Entrance
168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kims Beachside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kims Beachside Retreat

Address: 16 Charlton Street | PO Box 1, Toowoon Bay, New South Wales 2261, Australia (Formerly Kims Beach Hideaway)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Toowoon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toowoon Bay
Price Range: £279 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kims Beachside Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kims Beach Hideaway is located right on the beach with absolute ocean views and just over an hours drive north of Kims. Accommodation is in individual timber lodges with a seperate restaurant and cocktail lounge. Meals are included in most packages and served buffet style. Kims in adults only and a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Kims Beachside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kims Beach Hideaway Hotel Toowoon Bay
Kims Beach Hideaway Wyong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing