We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kims Beachside Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toowoon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice place but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2007

Stayed recently for a couple of nights in a beachside bungalow on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. Kims has a fantastic location on the beach nestled between a stand of Norfolk pines and a small piece of rainforest.
The cabins themselves are well appointed but fell short of luxurious. Only the more premium cabins are equipped with outdoor spas and only about half have absolute beachfront. That said the cabins are comfortable and come with indoor spa, TV , DVD (with large library available) and stereo system, although with such a great settting the outdooors offers more appeal. For those staying in winter most of the cabins do not come with log fires.
Apart from location the other special part of Kims is the food. Although it is not al a carte the buffet is a gastronomic feast offering a choice of premium hot and cold foods, the menu changing daily. One minor inconvenience is food is served at set times , dinner from 7:30pm and breakfast from 8am with service lasting approx. 90min, the price to be payed for ensuring a fresh buffet I guess. Dont miss the canapes served from 7pm and, although not included, alcohol was not overly expensive for a 5 star hotel. Also would suggest not getting a package which includes three meals as we found even with 2 meals we were still too full to appreciate the food fully.
In all we found Kims to be a great hotel in a perfect location however it is expensive and felt it was a little overpriced which would make us consider staying again. But by the number of repeat clientele encountered during our visit it appears that others do not feel the same.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Location and food
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alena&Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    73
    32
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
247
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2007

Kims (sic) is a collection of luxurious chalets on the beach about 90 minutes north of Sydney and has been owned and run by the same family for over 50 years. We were after a few days of chill-out time in the sun following a fairly busy trip and before returning home to the snow. Kims exactly hit the spot.

The rate includes all meals, (not drinks), and although these are buffet style, they are of exceptionally high quality. There are always fantastic fresh seafoods and salads, using a lot of local produce, plus plenty of choice for carnivores. The cheeseboard is extensive and changes everyday. They make their own breads and preserves and the range of desserts, particularly at lunchtime, made me grateful that we were only there for 4 days! There was no sense of the excesses of some "all inclusive" resorts, this was definitely a case of having as much, or as little, to eat as you wanted.

The style was informal and relaxed, and the staff were genuinely friendly and really helpful, nothing at all was too much trouble. When we had a flat battery in the car, one of the gardener/maintenance guys went off to get jump leads and his own car to sort us out.

The chalets themselves vary in size and price, and none of them could remotely be considered a budget option, but they were comfortable and luxurious and we went to sleep at night listening to the sound of waves lapping against the shore, about 25 feet from where we slept.

There isn't a lot to do here, which was fine by us. Each of the beach facing chalets (which is most of them) has direct access to the beach, which is beautiful with fine sand, and there were people kite-surfing and swimming. There is a lake very nearby where you can hire boats, kayaks etc, if you want, but if you are after a few days of lazing around and reading books, either in the sun or on your own terrace, then this is the place to be. We actually couldn't think of anything at all we didn't like or were unhappy about, other than it is more than 24 hours of travel from where we live to get there!

We found Kims through the Small Luxury Hotels website.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank puffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2006

What a beautiful place - the location is right on the beach, set amidst 100+ year old Norfolk island pine trees and lush terraced gardens. The sound of the waves is the only thing you hear. The rooms are not contemporary (or cold) but beach themed, very rustic and warm - exactly what you would want from a beachside retreat. Our spa bungalow was superbly appointed with king-size bed, a substantial library of books (something for all tastes/interests), complimentary magazines, beautiful silk yukatas, louvered windows to let the ocean breeze in and your own private deck and balcony with jacuzzi. Privacy and relaxation is the focus here. The granite tile bathroom is large and there is a double shower with massaging double shower heads. There is a cd player, tv (which we didn't watch!) and complimentary dvds available from reception. They even have an evening turndown service.
The 1st morning we woke up to rain and wondered how we were going to get to the car to retrieve our umbrella so that we could walk up to the restaurant for breakfast. When we opened the door, we discovered that housekeeping had left us an umbrella at the door (which we had for the rest of our stay). No need for us to even ask. It's these small touches that make it special.
The feeling that you get is one of understated elegance - from the unobtrusive but superb service, to the absolutely gorgeous buffets. Fresh seafood (oysters, prawns, crabs, balmain bugs, lobster), homemade food (freshly churned butter, homemade preserves) the taste of which I have never experienced. Good old-fashioned cooking, an absolute delight. The use of fresh local ingredients and the daily changing menu make it a true culinary experience. If you don't like food - don't come here. Whilst the price may appear to be on the higher side - when you factor in that all your meals are included then it is a bargain - true value for money. It's just another thing you don't have to worry about - all you need to do is relax, eat and unwind.
The general managers are part of the family that own the hotel. They dine with the guests and see to it that all is in order and your needs are taken care of. They have a personal interest in maintaining Kim's high reputation and this adds to the warm welcoming feeling you get here, as you are a guest at their place, not just at another big-name, impersonal hotel.
We came to celebrate our wedding anniversary and I would never go anywhere else again. Time loses all meaning here. It is truly a retreat, a lover’s haven
Many of Kim's guests are regulars, and we can honestly say that we will be back year after year. Kim's has spoiled us forever - it is our new benchmark!

  • Liked — Privacy, seclusion & attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was perfect
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jailo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,361 reviews
379 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,002 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2006

We have stayed in this retreat numerous times and found it to be truly romantic and a great weekend getaway. Its approx 1.5hrs drive from Sydney, and is situated on the gorgeous Toowoon Bay. The hotel is entrenched with family history and is in absolute prime waterfront position.

The resort consists of private bungalows, some with ocean frontage and others tucked away in the Balinese tropical gardens. The bungalows are fabulous consisting of a large bedroom, lounge room, small kitchenette and bathroom. Our oceanfront bungalow is facing the Pacific Ocean and with just two steps you are on the beach. The garden bungalows have their own private heated plunge pool or outdoor spa.

To stay here, you must pay for the complete deal which includes breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is only one restaurant , which serves all these meals with the loveliest atmosphere and views. Make sure when booking in you book an ocean front table on the veranda. There is also a bar which is lovely for pre dinner drinks or afternoon cocktails.

This hotel is really just for a romantic getaway or for honeymooners as its not cheap and really there is nothing else around except for the beach or if you have a car, its just a short drive into The Entrance.

The meals are all buffet style, all home cooked with recipes being used for years. I found it to be too much, as I usually do not eat three huge meals a day.

Overall, we loved our stay here, it truly was wonderful sitting on our balcony watching the ocean and taking in the sea breezes. We also have stayed in the other bungalows which again are different but very private and serene. All are built in wood with louvre windows and come in different styles and sizes. You can also get a family two storey bungalow or even rent the beachfront villa. Take into count, these bungalows are not trendy or chic but offer a very beach casual atmosphere.

If you are looking for romance, spoiling your partner or just wanting to do nothing but relax then this little gem of a hotel will cater for your every need. (There is also the Spa Villa which one can indulge with private massages.)

The Hotel is a member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”.

  • Liked — our ocean front bungalow
  • Disliked — expensive
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2003

Kim's is a lovely place, rooms are ...ok the buffets are also probably above average but definitely not worth the cost. Whislt the seafood buffet on a thursday and sat night is good, the seafood is not the most expensive available, no lobsters, crayfish tails etc. The sunday night is very weak and they use a lot of leftovers from the night before. the price needs to definitely come down.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toowoon Bay
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
6.7 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
3.6 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
0.7 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#3 of 9 in The Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Toowoon Bay Holiday Park
Toowoon Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Toowoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kims Beachside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kims Beachside Retreat

Property: Kims Beachside Retreat
Address: 16 Charlton Street | PO Box 1, Toowoon Bay, New South Wales 2261, Australia (Formerly Kims Beach Hideaway)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Toowoon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toowoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kims Beachside Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kims Beach Hideaway is located right on the beach with absolute ocean views and just over an hours drive north of Kims. Accommodation is in individual timber lodges with a seperate restaurant and cocktail lounge. Meals are included in most packages and served buffet style. Kims in adults only and a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kims Beachside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kims Beach Hideaway Hotel Toowoon Bay
Kims Beach Hideaway Wyong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing