We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; Handy to Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

First stop after flying into Adelaide and collecting our motorhome for our trip across the Nullarbor.
We got ourselves an ensuite powered site.o problems.
Because we had booked ahead there was no problem with bookin. Staff were spot on.
Good location.
Would recommend to people looking for a longer stay.
No need to go off site for supplies and meals as there is a goog shop with restaurant attached as part of the complex.

Room Tip: If you have a choice- perhaps a water outlook.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our facilities.

Hope you enjoyed motorhoming across the Nullarbor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have been going there for over twenty years. We live in Adelaide but we go to work from here over summer. The customer service has always been questionable but never more so than last Xmas. Where despite what they say, we have always moved in in the morning, they would not let anyone in until midday, I believe this year it is two o clock. We checked our site and even spoke to the gardener our site was ready at 9.30. It was a forty plus degree day, cars and vans were backed up down the road. When we were finally allowed in the temperature was extreme and we had a large tent to put up. My husband got so ill we had to go to the hospital. My husband is only 58 I wonder how many older people were distressed setting up. The toilet blocks in twenty years have not been improved, they are too busy expanding the park. Not to mention we always book a few days before Xmas and leave on a weekend, so we pay for nights we are not even there.
So if you are happy setting up in extreme heat, wearing a ridiculous wrist band where a security guard stands at the gate questioning you like you were at school, I would seriously suggest you stay elsewhere. I believe Semaphore is a great caravan park or even Kingston.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PocketPt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback from your stay with us last Christmas. Your enjoyment is our number one priority so it helps us to continue to improve our services.

Last year’s check-in was an exceptional circumstance and we would firstly like to apologise for the experience you had when staying with us. We can assure you that as soon as sites are ready from the previous night’s departure, guests will be able to check-in to their site this Christmas.

We would love to discuss your feedback with you further. Should you wish to do so, please phone our Customer Service Manager on 8355 7320.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I would have to say that I was very disappointed with the Adelaide Shores Caravan Park management. We booked our stay with them more than 6 months before arriving and we paid in full long before the date. Our stay was for 6 nights at $230.00 per night. We specifically asked for a cabin with 2 double beds and we were assured that the one and only cabin had been booked for us. When we arrived there was no mention of the fact that they were putting us into another cabin because they had double booked it. We went back to the office to complain and after waiting 1/2 hour for service we were told they couldn't do anything but put us into another room for the one night. We would then have to re-pack and move to the original room the following day once the other people had moved out. When we finally got into the correct room (the following day) the flush button on the toilet was broken, the tap in the toilet was not connected to the sink properly, the globe in the bathroom was blown and the blankets for the beds had pubic hair all through them. On top of this we were only provided with 2 towels (4 people). We were told that they wouldn't be changing the towels or providing us any services for the whole 6 days although we didn't get a discount for them not having to provide anything. --no cleaning, no milk, no tea or coffee replacements for six days. They did offer us a one night credit, but this didn't make up for all the problems. We were not the only ones complaining, we were with a group of 25, and they all were disappointed with the park. If you want to charge such high rates, the least you can do is give service.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UnhappyLady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

We would firstly like to apologise for the experience you had when staying with us.

Your experience is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests.

Adelaide Shores prides itself on its high percentage of returning guests and we take guest satisfaction very seriously. Your enjoyment of our facilities really is our number one priority. We were very disappointed to receive your feedback but appreciate the opportunity to share it with our management team.

We understand that you have since had communication with our Customer Service Manager however we'd love to discuss your feedback with you further. Should you wish to do so, please phone our General Manager - Sales and Marketing on 08 8355 7320.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in a 5 berth cabin. Very small. Was told my porta cot would fit in the second bedroom but it didn't. Had to move the bed in the main bedroom around against a wall to fit the cot in there. The cabin was old, small, not terribly clean (hair all through the beds, pubic hair in shower and on bathroom floor and floor looked unwashed) and dated and we were boxed in on all sides looking at other cabins walls from each view.
The facilities were good (jumping pillow, play ground, pool, splash park). We were there at the end of school holidays so expected it to be busy but was disappointed at the lack of staff presence ie other parks have a staff member occasionally walk past the jumping pillow and play ground to enforce the "rules" like bigger/older kids and grown men on the bouncing pillow somersaulting, fighting and bouncing small children off DELIBERATELY (no parents supervising)' bikes on footpaths. The other was late night noise from other guests well until the night/morning. Being in close proximity to each cabin accentuated this.
The staff were friendly and relatively accommodating (maintenance aimed to fix the washing machine that had an unlockable door with my clothes in it relatively quickly).
Overall I would recommend the park for its location but we feel the cabin was pricey for what it was and in comparison to other Big 4/caravan parks.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aamgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I visit Adelaide once or twice a year to visit family and always stay at this property. It can't be faulted. I've stayed in the budget cabins, executive and tourist cabins and just last month the Seaspray Deluxe cabins. They are excellent.

I stay at this park because its close to the airport and I always arrive late at night. The reception always have a code ready for me in the safe with excellent directions to my cabin.

The lawns are always lovely and green and the trees and shrubs always look very well watered and cared for.

Its just a very short stroll over to the beach and down some wooden steps.

Harbour Town is near by with all manner of shopping and there's the Henley Beach Tavern up the road overlooking the ocean and Glenelg just a few kilometres the other way.

This is the perfect property for a great family holiday or just overnighting like I do.

For some crazy reason last year I stayed at another park down the road, and vowed and declared I would never do that again.

The shop and cafe are excellent as is the reception area which is loaded with tourist information.

A very nice and pleasant park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyElle000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a turtle cabin for one night, room has double bed in the one room with kitchen and dining table 2 seater sofa. Found parking confusing and keypad of Boomgates need replacing as number wearing off. The park it self has everything and well maintained and clean. The camp kitchen looks great. Recommend it for travellers with children.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WazzaTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here on the last night of our Perth to Adelaide Nullarbor road trip. In comparison to the en suite facilities of the previous night at Port Augusta Big 4, Adelaide Shores presented as a little tired. We prebooked and paid AUD 39 for the night. Our site was just one row back from the beachside boardwalk, the empty sites behind us being labelled Premium, but did not seem to have any different facilities, just the water view.

A very welcoming and efficient reception however when the receptionist outlined the directions to our site on their own map, she had forgotten that internal roadworks were underway so we had to figure out our own way to the allocated site, on the far side of the hole in the road.

The en suite was serviceable but only a bath mat was provided here, no hand basin soap. I was not quite sure about the broom, mop and bucket in the corner next to the toilet but I suppose it would be useful if you were staying longer than one night and/or travelling with family members more inclined to make a mess just getting to the toilet.

We had thought we might dine at the advertised on site licensed café, only to find that a licensed café means you can buy a beer instead of a coffee. It did not seem that meals were served there.

Adelaide Shores is in a great location, wedged between the airport, large playing fields and the water (not sure if that is technically the ocean, gulf or river). It was pleasant to drift off to sleep with the sound of wind and waves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunyip63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Beach
2.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
2.0 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
2.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adelaide Shores Resort
Adelaide Shores Resort
#2 of 6 in West Beach
164 reviews
6.8 mi away
Adelaide Caravan Park - Aspen Holiday Parks
5.7 mi away
Marion Holiday Park
Marion Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Bedford Park
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Shores Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Shores Caravan Park

Address: Military Road, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in West Beach
Price Range: £39 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Shores Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park offers great value accommodation for families or retirees in a vibrant, community atmosphere. Choose from a wide range of camping and caravan sites and cabin accommodation, set amongst great facilities including BBQs, heated swimming pools, Splash Zone, a Games Room, and kids play equipment. This beach front property is rated by AAA Tourism and is a regular winner of the South Australian Tourism Award for Tourist & Caravan Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adelaide Shores Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing