We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty cabin and no amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Dirty cabin and no amenities”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of days. The park is generally nice, spacious and adjacent to the beach. The cabin I stayed in wasn't cleaned properly with belongings from the last guests and not cleaned properly. Amazingly, no shampoo or amenities were provided except soap and a tea towel size bath towel. The shower cubicle was tiny and took ages to adjust the water temp due to the 1970s style tapware. For about the same price as a city hotel very poor value. 3 stars

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We apologise for the experience you had when staying with us; your experience is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests. We value the feedback you have provided and are investigating what happened.

We would love to discuss your feedback with you further. Should you wish to do so, please phone our Customer Service Manager on 8355 7320.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    132
    49
    26
    23
See reviews for
158
104
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park for the first time in February this year and we loved it so much we have booked to stay again next year. We stayed on a premium ensuite site with sea views and the position was great. We had a concrete slab which was great, especially on the few days that it did rain. Good size site. Our ensuite was neat and clean and this was also cleaned and maintained during our stay by the park cleaners. The shower was great, good pressure and there was always hot water. We loved the pairs of ducks wandering around the park and visiting our site every morning and evening. The airport is close by with planes flying overhead but we didn't find the noise to be an issue. The pool was nice and clean and the park facilities are excellent. We enjoyed visiting the onsite café for coffee and take-away meal. The bike paths along the beach are great and it's not far to ride to Glenelg beach from the Park. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I called the park to extend our stay next year and it was no trouble modifying our booking. Overall, our experience has been excellent.

Room Tip: Beach front premium ensuite sites with sea views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyliej71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of what the Park has to offer. I’m particularly glad to hear you had a chance to use the coastal path to Glenelg - we are very lucky to be located right on the beautiful West Beach.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year in February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have been back to this Park again but few things have improved there. The shower/toilet blocs have been renovated but only with minor renovations. The shower heads are pathetic. They are so small hardly any water flows from them when turned on and what water that does come out of them goes in any direction but where you are standing. The water flow is bad and I mean bad as they have water flow restrictors n the shower heads. That is a good idea but they need a bit more water to be coming through not a trickle. The actual sites where your van goes are cement which is great BUT the grass around them and the Park in general is not mown when a guest leaves the site and is allowed to grow looking very untidy. The cost of a site varies and can be quite expensive. We cannot understand why a site for one person is $36 and for another $46 at the same time even though it is low season. Why is this, please explain. Also not being able to pick a site and know you will get this site when you arrive is just stupid. I understand if the site is having repairs done on it for one reason or another then you have to be put somewhere else but if that site you wanted is given away to another guest for no reason at all well that is not on. Management I understand has changed in recent years but this Park is definitely not a 5 star park by any means. I have been to much better and much friendlier parks. Also Management do not observe speed limits at all. We have seen people including staff driving much faster than they should. Do not complain to Big 4 either as they do not even acknowledge your email/letter when you contact them and even if they did they would never do anything anyway. Lastly some of the staff are rude and unfriendly. Some staff in Reception are very nice and friendly. The younger ones are good. One older lady there should rethink about whether to stay or leave. She never smiles or makes you feel welcome at all. I really do not like dealing with her and a number of other guests have mentioned the same thing.

Room Tip: Sites are large and always ask for a cement slab site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdelaideTetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
We apologise for the experience you had when staying with us; your experience is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests.

We value all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative and we are disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Our Customer Service Manager would love to discuss your feedback further. Should you wish to do so, please phone on 8355 7320, or send us an email (caravan.park@adelaideshores.com.au) with your number and we can contact you direct.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share you experience - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowood Australia
Level Contributor
373 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

First stop after flying into Adelaide and collecting our motorhome for our trip across the Nullarbor.
We got ourselves an ensuite powered site.o problems.
Because we had booked ahead there was no problem with bookin. Staff were spot on.
Good location.
Would recommend to people looking for a longer stay.
No need to go off site for supplies and meals as there is a goog shop with restaurant attached as part of the complex.

Room Tip: If you have a choice- perhaps a water outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our facilities.

Hope you enjoyed motorhoming across the Nullarbor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have been going there for over twenty years. We live in Adelaide but we go to work from here over summer. The customer service has always been questionable but never more so than last Xmas. Where despite what they say, we have always moved in in the morning, they would not let anyone in until midday, I believe this year it is two o clock. We checked our site and even spoke to the gardener our site was ready at 9.30. It was a forty plus degree day, cars and vans were backed up down the road. When we were finally allowed in the temperature was extreme and we had a large tent to put up. My husband got so ill we had to go to the hospital. My husband is only 58 I wonder how many older people were distressed setting up. The toilet blocks in twenty years have not been improved, they are too busy expanding the park. Not to mention we always book a few days before Xmas and leave on a weekend, so we pay for nights we are not even there.
So if you are happy setting up in extreme heat, wearing a ridiculous wrist band where a security guard stands at the gate questioning you like you were at school, I would seriously suggest you stay elsewhere. I believe Semaphore is a great caravan park or even Kingston.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocketPt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback from your stay with us last Christmas. Your enjoyment is our number one priority so it helps us to continue to improve our services.

Last year’s check-in was an exceptional circumstance and we would firstly like to apologise for the experience you had when staying with us. We can assure you that as soon as sites are ready from the previous night’s departure, guests will be able to check-in to their site this Christmas.

We would love to discuss your feedback with you further. Should you wish to do so, please phone our Customer Service Manager on 8355 7320.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I would have to say that I was very disappointed with the Adelaide Shores Caravan Park management. We booked our stay with them more than 6 months before arriving and we paid in full long before the date. Our stay was for 6 nights at $230.00 per night. We specifically asked for a cabin with 2 double beds and we were assured that the one and only cabin had been booked for us. When we arrived there was no mention of the fact that they were putting us into another cabin because they had double booked it. We went back to the office to complain and after waiting 1/2 hour for service we were told they couldn't do anything but put us into another room for the one night. We would then have to re-pack and move to the original room the following day once the other people had moved out. When we finally got into the correct room (the following day) the flush button on the toilet was broken, the tap in the toilet was not connected to the sink properly, the globe in the bathroom was blown and the blankets for the beds had pubic hair all through them. On top of this we were only provided with 2 towels (4 people). We were told that they wouldn't be changing the towels or providing us any services for the whole 6 days although we didn't get a discount for them not having to provide anything. --no cleaning, no milk, no tea or coffee replacements for six days. They did offer us a one night credit, but this didn't make up for all the problems. We were not the only ones complaining, we were with a group of 25, and they all were disappointed with the park. If you want to charge such high rates, the least you can do is give service.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UnhappyLady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
We would firstly like to apologise for the experience you had when staying with us.

Your experience is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests.

Adelaide Shores prides itself on its high percentage of returning guests and we take guest satisfaction very seriously. Your enjoyment of our facilities really is our number one priority. We were very disappointed to receive your feedback but appreciate the opportunity to share it with our management team.

We understand that you have since had communication with our Customer Service Manager however we'd love to discuss your feedback with you further. Should you wish to do so, please phone our General Manager - Sales and Marketing on 08 8355 7320.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunnaloo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in a 5 berth cabin. Very small. Was told my porta cot would fit in the second bedroom but it didn't. Had to move the bed in the main bedroom around against a wall to fit the cot in there. The cabin was old, small, not terribly clean (hair all through the beds, pubic hair in shower and on bathroom floor and floor looked unwashed) and dated and we were boxed in on all sides looking at other cabins walls from each view.
The facilities were good (jumping pillow, play ground, pool, splash park). We were there at the end of school holidays so expected it to be busy but was disappointed at the lack of staff presence ie other parks have a staff member occasionally walk past the jumping pillow and play ground to enforce the "rules" like bigger/older kids and grown men on the bouncing pillow somersaulting, fighting and bouncing small children off DELIBERATELY (no parents supervising)' bikes on footpaths. The other was late night noise from other guests well until the night/morning. Being in close proximity to each cabin accentuated this.
The staff were friendly and relatively accommodating (maintenance aimed to fix the washing machine that had an unlockable door with my clothes in it relatively quickly).
Overall I would recommend the park for its location but we feel the cabin was pricey for what it was and in comparison to other Big 4/caravan parks.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aamgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Beach
2.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
728 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
2.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Apartments
Esplanade Apartments
#1 of 1 in West Beach
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adelaide Shores Resort
Adelaide Shores Resort
#2 of 6 in West Beach
148 reviews
6.8 mi away
Adelaide Caravan Park - Aspen Holiday Parks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Shores Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Shores Caravan Park

Property: Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
Address: Military Road, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in West Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Shores Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park offers great value accommodation for families or retirees in a vibrant, community atmosphere. Choose from a wide range of camping and caravan sites and cabin accommodation, set amongst great facilities including BBQs, heated swimming pools, Splash Zone, a Games Room, and kids play equipment. This beach front property is rated by AAA Tourism and is a regular winner of the South Australian Tourism Award for Tourist & Caravan Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adelaide Shores Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing