We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

It is cheaper to fly our family overseas than to stay here now! Prices have become an absolute joke! We've been coming here for 16 years and are very disappointed with the direction of the caravan park. Shame on the owners/management for charging $5 for each person who visits you!!!!!
2 weeks at the Grand in Glenelg would be cheaper for us, guests who visit would feel welcome too!!
If you're going to fix and replace things, use products that will last, not cheap and useless. Stay elsewhere!!!!!!!

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank MyHonestFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Hi MyHonestFeedback

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I'm sorry to hear you were not happy with the rate charged during the time of your stay. I notice that you stayed with us in January, at this time we are at peak rate. We do provide guests a number of complimentary visitor passes, to allow friends and family to visit the park free of charge. Any additional guests do have to pay a $5 fee to use all the facilities such as Splashzone, pools, jumping pillow, TV Rooms etc.

I do apologize that you feel this was unreasonable and will pass on your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon and thanks once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I travelled to South Australia to visit our daughter & grandchildren in March, 2014. Previously we travelled from Sydney through Gundagai, Hay, Renmark then travelled to West Beach in our RV. The location of this tourist park is unbelievable. Its on the beach, it has very large & clean amenaties, water park, swimming pools, kiosk with restuarant, play areas etc. The tourist location is one of the best in Adelaide - it is first class. We actually stayed at this location longer than expected due to the wonderful facility. The staff at the Administration Office and those working to keep the park in prestine order were absoluutely friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend this facility and location at West Beach.

Room Tip: We were located on a RV site - but the other accommodation was first class like the facilities &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrusaderKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi CrusaderKings

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much you extended it! Your kind feedback is much appreciated and I will pass that on to our team.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The park is in an excellent location, the beach, the Airport, golfing, the hills and the City not far away.
The site was flat and plenty if room for our motorhome to set up. The facilities are good and clean and we enjoyed the cafe and supply shop being so accessible.
Yes we would come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Darren W

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm very happy to read your positive feedback and am delighted you enjoyed your time with us.

We certainly hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What an incredible caravan park. It is the biggest we've ever stayed at and it is so well managed. Spotlessly clean & fantastic management of so many families over the Easter Period (with the rubbish & recycling bins emptied daily during this busy time). Every site seemed to be filled & staff just quietly went about their jobs assisting where necessary.

The pools & play equipment were fantastic for the kids. So much to do for all.

We stayed just over 2 weeks & met many families coming and going without a bad word spoken of the park & many who we met rebooked year after year.

Congratulations to the managers & staff of this wonderful park.

Room Tip: We would definitely book again - great sites for a caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenB3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi KarenB3_11

What lovely feedback to hear! Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your comments and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

It's so nice to receive such positive words and I'll definitely pass this onto the team here.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We came down to Adelaide for the weekend, arriving after 8pm.
Our pack with directions to our cabin for the stay was ready upon our arrival and in short order we were kicking back and relaxing.

We had the "Turtle" cabin, suited to a couple which was clean, well presented and comfortable.

The proximity to the "Bay" and City makes this a great location to stay for a holiday.

The Café at the entrance does a great breakfast and all staff our friendly and courteous.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TombieAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi TombieAU

Thanks so much for all your positive feedback regarding your recent stay. I'm so pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay with us and were able to make the most of our unique location.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed over the Easter period and therefore paid top dollar. We travel alot and mainly only stay at big 4's and I found the facilities did not meet the price charged. The toilet block was often very dirty and also with empty beer bottles near the doors for days before anybody cleaned them up. We had booked a grass site and the grass was totally dead with so many prickles it punctured our bike tyres, not once but 3 times. The pool was a long walk and the waterpark is only good for little kids. I found 1 reception guy extremely helpful but everyone is very rude. Definitely not the best holiday we've had!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi Keentravellors

Thanks for taking the time to review Adelaide Shores. I'm sorry to hear you found some issues with maintenance and will pass your comments on to ensure we can improve in those areas.

Unfortunately some grass sites do take a little while to repair after peak season but we are certainly working hard to rectify this.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts and we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have had a very relaxing few days at this very comfortable resort in one of The Seaspray apartments.
The rooms are very spacious with all the mod cons, including a TV in the bedroom, which is great if you both want to. A King size bed, makes for a comfortable nights sleep. It's very quiet here.
It's only a 100 metres to the beach, which is great for walks.
We found it very easy to get to Glenelg restaurants, about a 5 minute drive.
Whilst we didn't have children with us it is a great family place to stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Moonahtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Moonahtree,

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you had a great time and enjoyed everything Adelaide Shores has to offer. We are very lucky location-wise being so close to the beach and local shops and restaurants!

We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Beach
2.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
2.0 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Adelaide Shores Resort
Adelaide Shores Resort
#2 of 6 in West Beach
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Glenelg Motel
Glenelg Motel
#2 of 8 in Glenelg
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aviators Lodge
Aviators Lodge
#1 of 1 in West Beach
87 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenelg Beach Hostel
Glenelg Beach Hostel
#5 of 12 in Glenelg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park

Address: Military Road, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in West Beach
Price Range: £54 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 1.2kms of stunning coastline at West Beach, BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park is a much-loved holiday destination. With a choice of sites in addition to spacious self-catering cabins, there is an option for every budget. What can you look forward to? A relaxing atmosphere, a brand new resort style lagoon swimming pool, Splash Zone, a zero-depth water play area, jumping pillows, BBQ areas, play equipment, go karts, games room and an onsite café! Seasonal events and school holidays Kids Club are all part of the Adelaide Shores experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing