We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachfront family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelaide Shores Resort
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beachfront family fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom deluxe cabin, which was comfortable and functional. While I wouldn't describe it as luxurious, I do t think that's what a person who stays here is looking for; we weren't. We were looking for relaxed family accommodation with a pool, a beach and some kid's activities and it was perfect for this. It is truly beachfront and the beach was clear and pretty calm. The pool, smaller than we had expected, was fine.

The beds were comfortable, the cabins airconditioned, and basic tea and coffee supplies as well as toiletries and towels, supplied. We had a BBQ on our terrace but there were also lots of public BBQ areas and seating.

Kids could hire go carts to get around the park, or hire out the tennis court at really reasonable rates.

The resort is located right next to the airport so it's very convenient if you are flying in or out. We didn't really notice the aircraft noise. It's also next door to its sister Big4 caravan park that has mini-golf and lots of other fun things to do.

It was a bit more expensive than I would have thought, but other than that I thoroughly recommend it for family or group holidays.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NLB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers – thankyou! I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    53
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
95
16
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Our family of four spent a week at Adelaide Shores Resort. The facilities were great and access to the beach was convenient. The school holiday activities were handy, including the twilight movies. On the down side, we thought the holiday unit we stayed in could of presented better. The walls were dirty, there was limited cooking utensils and the bathroom was located off the second bedroom, which was abit of an inconvenience needless to say. Also the bathroom could have done with a good clean and a makeover, the were spots of mould, the exhaust fan didn't work and the drains smelt. The bathroom also backs onto the neighbouring units bathroom, so we could quite clearly hear our neighbours showering and using the toilet! We would stay there again, but definitely NOT in the holiday units.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redcat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers Redcat79 – we really appreciate it! It is disappointing to hear about the condition of your bathroom - it is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests. However, we value the opportunity to share this with our management team.

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer and quick access to the beach. As the Holiday Units are our entry accommodation, I think you would feel a lot more comfortable in the next ones up which are the Villas; they are on their own and the bathroom access is from the hall.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

What a great place. I didn't realise Adelaide had something so good to offer families. The staff were welcoming, the villa was roomy & clean, the whole place was very well maintained, great facilities ex pools, play equipment, go carts for hire. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: villas at the back are a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Josie C, thank you for taking the time to share your experience– it is much appreciated! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will stay with us again. The team will be very happy to read your review :)

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Been a while since we have stayed here, but what great place to give parents a break ,and the kids of all ages a opportunity play. With the jumping pillow,pool and now the water park . With the beach in close walking distance a great place to have a break. Set in beautiful surrounds gives the feel of a little piece of tropical paradise without being made to feel crowded.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great all depends on what you are looking for there is something for all needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Debbie M – it is much appreciated! Glad to hear that you got a break when you stayed here – it’s what a holiday should be :). It’s also good to hear that you enjoyed the spacious-feel of the Resort.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Adelaide Shores Resort for 6 nights. The staff were very friendly, great service, clean rooms. The resort is very spread out, and doesn't feel like you are right on top if your neighbours. The beach is very close and clean. Pool area, play area and jumping pillow great for the family. We were 'upgraded' to an access bungalow, great for wheel chair access, nightmare for kids. Bathroom way too large, no recess for the shower (water everywhere, every night). All the light switches within childs reach, I could go on, you get the point. Great stay, wouldn't recommend the access bungalow unless you need it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SharaRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have previously stayed here before and was quite happy due to the recreational amenities for families, although for the price the cabins are a bit dodgy. The noise from hot water services located outside the bedroom window was terrible. The TV screen was so small and we had to rearrange the loungeroom so we were sitting very close in order to see it properly and the screen was so small that relevant details of the AFL games was not visible. The recreational amenities for kids is fantastic and the proximity to the golf course is amazing!!! But in saying that, the price of the cabin was a rip off.

Room Tip: Check that your cabin does not have hot water services outside the bedroom window. The cabin we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in July but were not overly impressed. Check in staff were very efficient and helpful, no faults there. The cabin was huge - two bedroomed, one with two singles, one with a queen. The beds were very hard, but otherwise the rooms were well appointed. The bathroom was massive, suitable for wheelchairs so the shower was set up for the disabled. (My husband can't do stairs so we had the disabled cabin which has a slope instead of stairs. Others have 3 or 4 steps). The lounge suite was quite comfortable. The carpet wasn't great, a bit stained and moth eaten down the join. It was equipped for 4 people, so it was a small table, which is absolutely fine but the room is massive and looked unfurnished. The kitchen is very well equipped, everything clean. There is a large deck with barbecue and a massive table. The noise from planes isn't really too intrusive though planes do start at 6am, but surely if you book somewhere close to an airport, it really isn't fair to complain about plane noise! The cabins are on stumps, as frankly are most cabins everywhere, and there will be a certain amount of vibration when people walk about - these are after all holiday cabins, not solid brick homes. The location is close to the beach and the boardwalk to Glenelg, but don't expect a sea view as the resort is behind the sand dunes. Where these cabins fall down is in the lack of privacy which is so bad as to be unacceptable. They are close together (no closer than most other parks) and have massive windows but there are no nets or vertical blinds, they are all roller blinds. That means that due to the large number of windows, if the blinds are up then you may as well be living in a shop window. The same applies to the huge patio doors - they are great, but the really bad thing is that in the evenings with the doors open and the light on there is absolutely no privacy whatsoever. It's really not acceptable. Beware the in-cabin information suggesting that the restaurant at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park is open from 7.30 for breakfast - it's not, and it's a 1km walk. That's ok, but not when there is a long queue outside and it's raining with nowhere to shelter. The golf club over the road is not open for evening meals, or early breakfast. The best bet for evening meals is the sailing club which is easy walking distance along the beach or the boardwalk, but beware the quality and service. Most people will end up needing transport of some kind to get to a decent restaurant. We won't stay here again, just happier with the smaller cabins in Adelaide Shores Big 4, with its restaurant on site for basic food.

Room Tip: This was a 2 bedroom bungalow, do not choose a villa unless you can walk up 15 or more stairs to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daydreamer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Beach
1.7 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
1.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
2.0 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
1.2 mi away
Esplanade Apartments
Esplanade Apartments
#1 of 1 in West Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Shores Resort

Property: Adelaide Shores Resort
Address: Military Rd, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in West Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide Shores Resort is ideal for an indulgent short break, for business travelers seeking space and privacy, or for families or groups wanting a base for an active holiday. Set in spacious grounds on the beach front, the Resort provides 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained accommodation, with the option to treat yourself with an upgrade to a spa bungalow. The location is close to the attractions and activities in neighboring Glenelg, and adjacent to an extensive public golf park, and a boat launch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing