We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Holiday units, close to glenelg, great for young kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelaide Shores Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adelaide Shores Resort
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Holiday units, close to glenelg, great for young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed for 5 days at Adelaide Shore Resort and the facilities were great. The holiday units are well designed, comfortable and basically band new. They have a great playground and jumping pillow for the kids and its right on the beach. The Staff were very helpful and friendly. And it very close to Glenelg and there is a bus stop right out the front. To one down side was the smell that carried from the sewerage treatment works nearby, it really depends on which way the wind blows. But it was no big deal for us. And expect some planes over head from time to time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiesteve83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi aussiesteve83

Thanks for taking the time to review Adelaide Shores Resort. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the kids had a good time on the playground and jumping pillow.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    51
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
91
16
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our second stay at the resort and we are still very happy with the standard of accommodation. We rented two villas side by side and found them to be comfortable, roomy and clean. We were located beautifully within the resort with the beach and the walking track at our back door and Glenelg shopping centre a stones throw away. A little pricey but will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: For comfort and space, choose a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandN255355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi SandN255355

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I'm glad you were able to make the most of the coastal path and Glenelg, we certainly are lucky with our location!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

First time staying at this "resort" due to a basketball tournament over the Easter long weekend. Most families from our team stay & recommended this place so we thought why not. It was really a mixed bag for us hence rating it only average. Firstly our cabin was probably in the worst part of the resort. Facing away from the sun to the back of the resort (C12) we got no sun at all and it seemed cool even though the weather was warm most of the time. Absolutely no view other than a big hill outside our front door. The cabin itself was marginally better than a caravan. A bit grubby, missing some cutlery, dirty windows,small living area, tiny TV and the kitchen did not have a an oven. The bathroom is stuck at the back of the cabin so to get through to it you have to cross through the second bedroom. We didn't have an ironing board even though we had an iron. I called reception after we checked in and was told they would bring one around which they never did. Also the ceiling fan was not working so every time you had a shower the room filled with steam. We should have known better as all of our other friends booked the more expensive "villas" which had larger rooms, bigger TV's, proper cooking facilities and a very nice deck facing either the morning or afternoon sun. The sad thing was we took over our booking from a friend so we didn't have a clue what we were getting until we got there. Everything you buy at the resort is expensive (washing powder $2.00 for barely a spoon full) you have to buy pegs for the clothes line etc. To top off the stay the airport is only 10 minutes away and as a result the planes take off from 6:00am every morning and believe me you can hear them. On the positive side there are alot of things to keep the kids occupied including a pool, jumping pit, bikes, scooters, mini golf so we were at least pleased about that. I think the resort is fine if you choose your cabin/villa wisely and spend a few dollars more to get something that is certainly liveable. I would probably come back if we had our kids with us but definately not if we didn't as there are a multitude of nice looking apartments dotted along the beach.The customer service could have been better; we never did receive the ironing board and they stuffed up our details twice even though I confirmed everything before we arrived.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a villa near the beach area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3644jv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi 3644jv,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Adelaide Shores Resort. It's great to hear your kids were able to enjoy the Resort's facilities during your stay.

Holidays Units are our entry level accommodation at the Resort and as you say, perhaps the Villa or Bungalow accommodation would have suited you better. I am disappointed to hear you experienced some difficulties with your booking, this is an issue I will be sure to pass on to our Customer Service Manager.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you back again, perhaps next time in a Villa or Bungalow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My family has stayed at Adelaide Shores multiple times previously with this our third. I have previously given some glowing reviews with 5 stars being awarded, but this time I cannot. Whilst Adelaide Shores is still a very nice facility, in my view Management need to have a serious think about the mixed bag of reviews they are getting on trip advisor of late and work out why. 5 stars is dropping to 4 and 3 stars. Here are a couple of things that could be worth looking at. (1) The front office staff need to remember they are the front face of the resort. We found them to be at best very matter of fact - some more friendliness and making an attempt to make guests feel welcome would not go astray (2) If you are going to give out a sheet of paper which allegedly has the bus times on it, make sure the sheet you give out (typed out locally prepared), actually reflects the current Adelaide Metro timetable - the timetable has changed - your sheet has not (3) If guests are staying for multiple days in a unit, whilst you wouldn't expect it be cleaned daily, surely housecleaning could pop on by and drop off some supplies like soap, dishwasher tablets and some fresh towels (4) fix the lights in your accommodation - frustrating when some bed side lights don't work and it shows that the units are not adequately checked on changeover, and (5) keep on top of maintenance. The bottom of blinds falling off is not a good look. Adelaide Shores is a very nice facility, but they do charge a premium rate and if you are going to do that, then you need to provide a premium service. In my experience the service is considerably less than it used to be and I wonder if there has been a change of management. I ask the question do the staff like working there because if they do that did not show. You can't trade on a past good name for too long - Adelaide Shores needs to pull its socks up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tranzactnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi tranzactnow,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to review the review Adelaide Shores Resort. Your feedback will certainly be passed on to help us improve our service and facilities.

I am very sorry to hear your experience on this stay did not live up to expectations. This is certainly not the desired result for us, we pride ourselves on exceeding guest expectations with our customer service and facilities. I will pass your feedback on to the Customer Service and Maintenance Managers for action. I would also encourage you to call our Customer Service Manager on 08 8354 7366 to discuss your concerns further.

Thanks again for your feedback and I hope we can show you we are still at the top of the game on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumby Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at Adelaide Shores as a group for a family reunion. We had 7 cabins booked spread throughout the complex. When we arrived at 1.50pm our room was not ready and had to wait awhile which was disappointing after a 6 hour drive. We were in Executive villa number 8.
This had a nice open plan living area with kitchenette, one room with 3 single beds and another bedroom with queen size bed. There was plenty of cupboard space and bed was very comfy. There seemed to be an ant problem with little black ants both inside and on the outdoor area. The mat at the front door was saturated due to heavy rain which meant we walked water onto the carpet on arrival, the old frayed mat should be replaced with a rubber one to prevent this happening, especially seeing we had to wait for the cleaner to finish before we could move in and she would have been aware of the problem. The fridge seemed to lean forward and the door didn't close properly so that needs adjustment, lack of maintenance lost a few points in my estimation.

Room Tip: Cabin 8 executive was in a good location with parking directly in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi traveller5605,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort. I'm sorry to hear the villa was not ready when you arrived but I'm glad you enjoyed the room and found the bed comfy. Thank you for bringing the ant, fridge and mat issues to our attention, I will be sure to follow up to resolve these.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you to Adelaide Shores again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom deluxe cabin, which was comfortable and functional. While I wouldn't describe it as luxurious, I do t think that's what a person who stays here is looking for; we weren't. We were looking for relaxed family accommodation with a pool, a beach and some kid's activities and it was perfect for this. It is truly beachfront and the beach was clear and pretty calm. The pool, smaller than we had expected, was fine.

The beds were comfortable, the cabins airconditioned, and basic tea and coffee supplies as well as toiletries and towels, supplied. We had a BBQ on our terrace but there were also lots of public BBQ areas and seating.

Kids could hire go carts to get around the park, or hire out the tennis court at really reasonable rates.

The resort is located right next to the airport so it's very convenient if you are flying in or out. We didn't really notice the aircraft noise. It's also next door to its sister Big4 caravan park that has mini-golf and lots of other fun things to do.

It was a bit more expensive than I would have thought, but other than that I thoroughly recommend it for family or group holidays.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NLB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers – thankyou! I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Our family of four spent a week at Adelaide Shores Resort. The facilities were great and access to the beach was convenient. The school holiday activities were handy, including the twilight movies. On the down side, we thought the holiday unit we stayed in could of presented better. The walls were dirty, there was limited cooking utensils and the bathroom was located off the second bedroom, which was abit of an inconvenience needless to say. Also the bathroom could have done with a good clean and a makeover, the were spots of mould, the exhaust fan didn't work and the drains smelt. The bathroom also backs onto the neighbouring units bathroom, so we could quite clearly hear our neighbours showering and using the toilet! We would stay there again, but definitely NOT in the holiday units.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redcat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers Redcat79 – we really appreciate it! It is disappointing to hear about the condition of your bathroom - it is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests. However, we value the opportunity to share this with our management team.

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer and quick access to the beach. As the Holiday Units are our entry accommodation, I think you would feel a lot more comfortable in the next ones up which are the Villas; they are on their own and the bathroom access is from the hall.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Beach
2.0 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
1.8 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
2.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Apartments
Esplanade Apartments
#1 of 1 in West Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Shores Resort

Property: Adelaide Shores Resort
Address: Military Rd, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in West Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide Shores Resort is ideal for an indulgent short break, for business travelers seeking space and privacy, or for families or groups wanting a base for an active holiday. Set in spacious grounds on the beach front, the Resort provides 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained accommodation, with the option to treat yourself with an upgrade to a spa bungalow. The location is close to the attractions and activities in neighboring Glenelg, and adjacent to an extensive public golf park, and a boat launch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Adelaide Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing