We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to explore the Yarra Valley near Melbourne!”
Review of Yarra Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yarra Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to explore the Yarra Valley near Melbourne!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Simple excellent hotel, surrounded by a golf course. Rooms where very good and comfortable offering local wines (charged) and local food. Everything you would find in a 4 or 5 star hotel. Personnel very friendly.

We had dinner almost every night in the Bella Restaurant. The food was great, but in my opinion they didn't change the menu that often. Breakfast was also at the same restaurant and it was great.

It has a very nice swimming pool, gym and spa. Best feature: Watch Kangaroos, parrots, ducks and rabbits in the wild at dusk!

It is located from 20 minutes from the most distant Winery.

If you are going that way, this is a great place to stop.

What I would add: Free bikes for guests to ride around the complex / area!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guscherni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    186
    46
    22
    13
See reviews for
93
252
9
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a very good stay here. The rooms are very nice and the setting lovely. Even though we don't play golf the grounds made it feel like you are many miles from suburbia. It was very quiet and the amenities were great. We had dinner in the bar and the meals were very nice. The one problem arose when we asked about a breakfast menu for room service. The reception staff were unsure and when we checked later we were told to ring room service and they would tell us what was available, or we could have it in the restaurant. We felt it was all too hard and we had breakfast after leaving. I got the impression we were being shaped into having it in the restaurant rather than the room. Despite this I would be more than happy to stay there next time we are over that way.

Room Tip: They all appear to be pretty good, the upper level has slightly better views but this is a well plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies that we were unable to provide you with information regarding our room service breakfast. There is a menu provided in each room and I will follow this up with my housekeeping team to ensure that we have one in all rooms.

Our Executive Chef has developed a fantastic showcase of the best seasonal Yarra Valley produce for our guests to enjoy in their rooms; everything from freshly baked items to hand picked fruit and a cooked breakfast that is a bit outside your standard Hotel room service breakfast offering.

I will personally ensure that our staff are aware of this offering, but concede that most of our guests do opt for the indulgent breakfast in Bella Restaurant.

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a fantastic few days at the Yarra Valley Lodge. The reception staff were very friendly, giving us maps of the property and the area. We then ordered room service for lunch which came very quickly too. The room was comfortable, clean and peaceful with a great view of the Heritage Golf course which my partner took full advantage of while we were there.

We also went to the spa which is only a short walk away and used the gym and pool which is a good setup for getting in some training while away from home as unlike many places there were free weights in the gym.

Yarra Valley Lodge is a great place to stay and relax, we are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Well for. $95.00 it was advertised as a three course meal with a starter to share. I am not a lover of antipasto, but this would be the worst - sour pickled vegetables that were large and very hard a small bit of pate, but had to ask for more bread as there wasn't enough for the number of people at the table. Suddenly the main course also turned into a share and serve yourself too. Although to be fair when we asked they did carve up the whole fish for us. Followed by a desert of deconstructed ice cream sandwich. This was pretty good and the standard I expected from the advertised hype. However my friends cookie was burnt! We could have been at any party as there were no New Years decos. Only a sad bowl of streamers and poppers placed on the table. It was a long time to midnight and we just stuck it out. What we thought would be a great experience was very disappointing. Not to mention the pool closing at 4pm on New Year's Eve and despite advertising that you would need to book early for the day spa on New Year's Day we were told it would be closed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jr2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
I was disappointed to read your comments regarding New Year's Eve at Yarra Valley Lodge. We hosted close to 150 people for the event and the overwhelming feedback on the night and again the next morning at breakfast was how fantastic it was.

The meal was designed to encourage sharing and our Executive Chef presented the very best of local Yarra Valley produce. The DJ, full sized video screen and music selection was everything we had hoped for and the dance floor was over flowing from the end of the main meal until after midnight.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience on the night as it is in complete contrast to the other guests at the party. Please e-mail me directly on anthony_logiusto@yarravalleylodge.com so that we can arrange this.

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 nights which was nice and relaxing. Room was great - very comfy bed and pillows and a reasonably priced mini bar. Great location to tour the area from - fairly central with most vineyards within 20 mins drive. Could improve the cleanliness of the bathroom area but all in all a nice stay and we would return. The hotel backs onto the Heritage Golf and Country Club so nice view from the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRfromNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Set in a beautiful setting Yarra Valley Lodge is nice and relaxing and close to some fantastic vineyards (grape escapes can show you around really well). The rooms are spacious and clean and are great value for money. Our bathroom was not as clean as it could of been with the shower tiles needing some attention and staff were not informative about facilities. Didn't tell us where the gym or pool were and as tree is no information in the room we had to search around to find things. We waited at the reception desk for five minutes to find out he location of one of the two bars and walked across to it only to find out it was closed. Something that I would have hoped reception would have told us. It was a nice stay though and I would go back.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank APar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

Please accept my sincere apologies that the service that you received on arrival at the Hotel was not up to our usual standard. I have personally followed up with my team to ensure that we are providing information regarding the facilities available across the property.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay and look forward to sharing this with my team. We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A beautiful setting. Large clean rooms with lovely views. Excellent golf resort. Great breakfasts. Very poor reception and booking. We were a large booking for a wedding. Paid and organised months ago. All guest received calls( some more than once) to say they were over booked. Would we change our booking to another weekend or bunk in with others!!!!, our actual check in was facilitated by an unfriendly and disinterested young woman.... .no information about the resort available in the room. When asked at the front desk we were referred to the internet or TV in the room... Couldn't find it on the TV. A map, info about the golf course, where is the pool ?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

Please accept my sincere apologies that some aspects of your stay were not up to our usual standard. Whilst the Hotel was heavily booked over that weekend, I will personally follow up with the service team.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay and look forward to sharing this with my team. We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Regards

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirnside Park
20.3 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
263 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
328 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
141 reviews
8.2 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Lodge

Property: Yarra Valley Lodge
Address: 2 Heritage Avenue | Heritage Golf & Country Club, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Chirnside Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yarra Valley Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the gateway to the Yarra Valley, Yarra Valley Lodge is a world class resort offering guests total luxury, surrounded by two championship golf courses. Take advantage of the hotels location on the doorstep to over 100 wineries. Exuding the warmth and timeless appeal of a private lodge, 102 spacious and superbly appointed guest rooms and conference rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yarra Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Hotel Chirnside Park
Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing