We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Lunch”
Review of Chew Chew

Chew Chew
Ranked #12 of 113 Restaurants in Moonee Ponds
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Lunch”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Visited Chew Chew for lunch today after reading some amazing reviews. Such a funky yet quaint space. We had the Pork & Beef Ragu and the 18hr Pulled Pork. Both dishes were exceptional, the Pulled Pork easily on parr with the best Pork Banh Mi I've ever had. Service was really lovely also, with all staff more than willing to do anything to help out. Finished off with a very yummy orange and almond cake and a really good coffee!! Highly recommended for anyone who really loves their food and great cafe experiences!

Helpful?
Thank CourtinaDaimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wow. . . was not expecting that!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Been eating in puckle st for many years and never even knew this place was here.I found my self getting off at Moonee ponds train station platform 2 and i see across the road a rustic looking cafe. . .the inside felt warm and cosy so i ordered a coffee from the Italian barista. he was very polite and cheerful and said i could sit where i liked. . a few tables were already taken so i sat in window. . . waitress gave me menu and water and told me that there is a special board.
I ordered the eggs Moonee which i thought was a clever name. . the coffee was fantastic. . .the meal was sensational and very well priced for the quality.I WILL BE TELLING PEOPLE ABOUT THIS PLACE ,, , ,great cafe. .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dominic d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secret Treasure in Moonee Ponds.....it wont be secret for long.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

SHHHHHH......keep this to yourself......Chew Chew is THE place to eat in Moonee Ponds.

Well worth the walk across the train lines.

Friendly staff that will look after you.

Great coffee made by baristers that love their job, and food that would make even the harshest critic melt. I am a fussy bugga and this place is consistently GREAT.

The chef will happily mix and match menu items for you just to make you extra happy.........talk to him, he is a cracker.

I stumbled on this place last year and now I am back at least twice a week. If you have a soft spot for the spoken Italian language this place will give you a bonus.

Try it for yourself......you will be hooked. Just leave my window seat free lol.

JCB

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jean claude b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“These guys know how to give service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here on a number of occasions in the past. A favourite meeting place for a client who works down the road. Nothing ever too much trouble but today was particularly impressive when after asking about WIFi access and given code "but don't normally" the owner called telstra and made decision to offer free wifi! See photo attached. Impressive response to feedback. Today's mushroom and goats cheese bruschetta was sensational too. Thank you to Kirsty, Stuart and Stephane you guys know how to get this stuff right.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I ate here for lunch on a Saturday and the food was amazing. The cafe decor was cool, the staff were friendly and the prices were great and food was fantastic!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Londontrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chew Chew also viewed

Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley
Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley
 
Essendon, Moonee Valley
Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley
 
Essendon North, Moonee Valley
 

Been to Chew Chew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing