We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samanee

Samanee
Reserve with
Samanee is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 107 Restaurants in Moonee Ponds
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and l dined here after we saw it in the entertainment book.
We will definately eat here again. Our meals were delicious and a good
Size. Waitress was very pleasant and provided a great level of service.
Can't wait to try other items on the menu. A very pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy21Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

a wonderful, tasty meal shared with friends. they knew what to order & we just followed on & ate..wonderful friendly staff

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maffjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
293 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was interested to read the review from 1mightmouse - maybe a bad night or something??
This was the first time I have been here and I love good thai food. As I am an Entertainment Book member, this restaurant was a newly featured restaurant. We asked to taste the wine first, which the waiter gave us effortlessly, he told us it sells well, tried it and bought a couple of glasses. Food - we ordered Miang Hoy (scallops in betel leaves), & Lon Moo (pork mince in coconut milk& peanut sauce), it was cooked beautifully and full of flavour. Mains we ordered a beef green curry & chicken stir fry with steamed rice. Rice was light & fluffy, chicken dish was the right amount of chilli and curry (according to my husband) was beautiful. We could not fault the food and will definitely be going back, but this time we will be taking some friends. My only gripe is that it was a bit cold. We did ask for the air-conditioning to be turned up which they did. I would recommend, but bring a jacket

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footscray, Australia
Level Contributor
481 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“food catered for aussie taste buds”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

receiving 50% special on food deal, we arrived with big expectations having read reviews on its authentic fine thai cuisine. firstly, we found the restaurant did not have adequate heating, secondly, there was not enough staff to cater to a busy night, thirdly, the green paw paw salad on special was more grated carrot than green paw paw accompanied by syrupy dressing (however, the soft shell crab tempura served with the salad was so good, we ordered a platter of it), fourthly, although the duck curry was cooked to perfection again it was too sweet and lastly, so was the coconut rice.

please, thai restaurants - it would be so fantastic if you would stop putting sugar in your dishes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1mightymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samanee also viewed

Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley
Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley
 
Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley
 
Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley
Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley
 

Been to Samanee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing