We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing from quest who are usually great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Moonee Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing from quest who are usually great.”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Room was ok walked around bare foot in room and feet became dirty as carpet was marked and dirty. King bed was hard and no spare pillows. Location for Moonee ponds and car parking good. Have stayed at a number of Quest apartments this one is by far the most disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezzasboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    110
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
85
55
23
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The two bedroom apartment was great. Spotless, comfortable and modern. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Car parking is limited so check in early to grab a spot. My partner and l would recommend the Quest and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a 2 bdrm apartment with by family. Apartment was clean and pretty roomy, with a very good kitchen. cable TV, DVD player, and a second bathroom for the kids. One down side to the kids room was that it had no A/C which made it a bit hot during the night. Car parking can be a bit of a problem, but during this stay, it was pretty quiet, so no hassles getting a park. Pool is small, but more than adequate for what my 2 young boys required. I would imagine that the pool would be very crowded on hot days, when the Quest has greater occupancy. Location is good, very quiet street, walking distance to tram/buses and all the dining options on Puckle St. Easy access from the Tulla freeway. Walking distance to a community pool and Queens Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlburyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I booked my mother in to this place for two nights from xmas eve. Upon arrival I was greeted by a very surly receptionist who seemed to not have the slightest interest in being welcoming, or even civil. He was so surly I had to ask him if there was a problem. Despite requesting upon booking for a ground floor room for my elderly, mobility impaired mother, she was instead booked into a first floor room up a flight of quite steep stairs. The receptionist blamed 'whoever took the booking' for not noting my request and, to his credit, did at least phone someone to check if another room was available. However it wasn't to be and my 80 year old mother had to struggle up and down these stairs. The room seemed ok although there was no veiw from the window due to the windows being frosted glass. Nobody I know will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frightwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed here for about 10 days during a business trip, Room was clean and comfortable with all the usual cooking utensils, electric hob and fridge, all you would need if you are catering for yourself.
Plenty of local restaurants and supermarkets within walking distance.
Great venue for a visit to the Moonee Valley Racecourse (just across the road).
Tram stops about 100mtrs from the apartments, which is very convenient for a trip straight into the city (Tram goes to end of line Flinders St Station)
Does not appear to have enough parking places within the complex, and if you arrive back late in the evening there may not be anywhere to park.
Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room if you're staying for more that two nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etypejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Booked on the Internet, offer of free breakfast and free Internet attractive as we wanted to plan next days activities. Check in friendly although could I just check tomorrow that payment has gone through, I am running so reports so I can not check at the moment explained young receptionist. Provide with free wireless device to plug in, no instructions. Unable to get it to work in the room returned to reception to ask for assistance, no idea how to get it working. As such no planning for next day. Returned device to reception on check out. Pointed out my frustration, to be told, I always tell people how to do it. My suggestion that maybe you should write it down so all the staff know, was greeted with the "you've got two heads look"..
Enough for me say, other places will be getting a chance at my business before I return to Quest M.V. Dec 2012

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ossieuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I only chose this place for a Saturday and Sunday night stay, because I was visiting family nearby and most Melbourne CBD hotels under $350 per night were booked out for the Saturday. It turned out to be a lucky choice.

The hotel consists of studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, over three stories, some with balconies. There is no elevator. It is opposite Moonee Valley Racecourse, but otherwise, is a couple of streets away from Pascoe Vale Road, which is quite busy. It has frontages on three streets, being Coats St, where the apartments face residential houses, McPherson St, facing the racecourse and Alexandra St, facing a large parking area. The racecouse wasn't any problem during my stay, even though there was some sort of fair taking place. During peak hour on weekdays, people use MsPerson St as a short cut, but it didn't seem to be a big problem.

I had a first floor studio, which was clean, bright and well appointed. It would have been comfy for two people. The small kitchen and bathroom were well appointed and the bed was comfortable. There are lots of pillows, spare bedding, an ironing board and iron, plus the usual things you would expect in a kitchen (no dishwasher). Decor is neutral in creams and mushroom tones and looks fresh. There's plenty of lighting, so you can read in comfort. Service was efficient and cheery. Parking onsite plus a BBQ area and swimming pool finish off the picture. It all seemed quiet and pleasant during my stay.

Nearby Puckle St has lots of cafes, shops, a supermarket and the usual shops you would need, only a 5 minute walk away. There are trams and buses on Pascoe Vale Rd, only 5 minutes away.

I was very content with my stay and will be staying here again later in the year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moonee Ponds
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quest Flemington
#54 of 159 in Melbourne
269 reviews
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#115 of 159 in Melbourne
132 reviews
Moonee Valley Views Apartments
#2 of 2 in Moonee Ponds
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Moonee Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Moonee Valley

Property: Quest Moonee Valley
Address: 1 McPherson St, Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3039, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moonee Valley > Moonee Ponds
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Moonee Ponds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Moonee Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Moonee Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing