We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and cozy hotel at excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stenugnen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Stenugnen
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small and cozy hotel at excellent location”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

One night stay in this hotel was good experience. Hotel is small and very cozy place to stay. My room was quite small but nicely decorated. Bathroom was bit cold but otherwise ok. Everything was extremely clean and decorated in sea-style. Lounge had nice sofa and chairs where we could spend some time with my friends in the evening.

Breakfast was nice too even that I missed fried bacon a bit. Staff was very helpful and did everything to make our stay enjoyable.

All in all this is nice place to stay. Would come again.

Room Tip: Downstairs room and next to the street where some passing noisy walker may wake you up if you are ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    49
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
72
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

"Do not judge a book from its cover" it might look small compare with the other surrounding hotels in the area. Hotel Stenugnen provide a safe and welcoming environment,a feeling of home away from home. Both staffs, ELLINORE and ERICA were very helpful. Breakfast were splendid with good variety of choices. The yummy home made bread and the super yummy crisp bread.(make sure to ask for recipes) there were coffee, tea and snacks 24/7. The ambience in the lounge room were fantastic and the bedroom was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we loved our stay in visby and especially we loved our stay in the beautiful and charming stenugnen hotel! very beautyful rooms, excellent breakfast, charming stuff. could not have been better! the only thing will be, that we come next time in summer ;-)

Room Tip: better in the main building!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We like this homely small hotel. We have visited the island of Gotland several times and stayed at a couple of other hotels, but the hotel Stenugnen is far the best. The service is excellent, the staff helpful and the breakfast is one of the best we have had. The location is great and it's easy to access to a parking, which is very rare in Wisby. Funny enough their room rates is lower than others hotels in Wisby. We highly recommend this place.

Carlos & Marie

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel is one of the easiest to get to on foot from the Ferry Terminal which was handy.
Staff were very friendly.
The lounge area and gorgeous little breakfast area are available to relax in and make a hot drink and enjoy home made biscuits.
Our room was a tad on the small side but this didn't bother us. It was very clean.
Bike hire is very close, jut down the road and it was great to go cycling around the ancient walls of this beautiful city as well as further out into the countryside. It's a picturesque island.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank novalane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I have been to Visby many times and stayed at different hotels, and this one is of the very best when it comes to location, service and general value for money. I'll certainly stay there again.

LOCATION
Just on the endge of the city wall - historical building and surroundings, yet much closer to the port that other hotels in "Visby innerstad" and it's easy to walk to the hotel if you arrive with a boat. We arrived with a car which in this case is much easier to have a hotel close to the outside than trying to squeeze through all the narrow streets packed with pedestrians to get to a hotel in the town center (actually in summertime the "outsiders" cars aren't even supposed to go there, getting to and from the hotels is an exception). The paid parking is available close to the hotel.

HOTEL
Very clean and cozy, staff is friendly and helpful. Reception is closed for the night, and they provide a doorcode for the guests to come and go as they please. One could also call a person on-duty if needed. Wifi is free and quite fast. They also helped us arrange the taxi on our way to the airport.

ROOM
We got the cheapest room which was quite small, but we weren't planning to use it a lot rather than for sleeping. The bed was very comfortable. We arrived 3 hours before the official check-in time hoping to leave our luggage before returning the rental car, but the room was already prepared and we could check-in right away. Housekeeping is on request in this hotel, but we didn't bother to ask for it.

BREAKFAST
Quite a lot of variety given the small size of the hotel. I was especially impressed by their selection of loose leaf teas, all local blends, as I am not so fond of lipton-styled teabags. Their breakfast room backed up by the Visby town wall itself is rather unique. We also used to sit around there late at night, drinking tea and helping ourself to a few cookies which management provided for the night.

RECREATION/RESTAURANTS
Right around the corner is the tourist information office where you can learn all you need to know about Visby and Gotland events. A few steps from the hotel there's the waterfront which is one of my favourite places to go for a walk. There you find a few decent restaurants close to the smaller harbour with sailing boats, also a cafe serving home-made ice cream (Glassfabriken) - the best ice cream I've ever tried! And don't forget the old town, it has a lot to offer during any season, but its time of the year is of course the Medieval Week which happens every year in the beginning of August.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room at it was small, but very good. If you like more space, choose a more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Normally I would feel the rooms are little and congested yet my stay was pleasant in a picturesque city of ancient Hansa’s. Friendly ladies as Erika and Lina made the stay very cosy and homely. The breakfasts were in nice atmosphere and the home baked breads were delicious. Erika honoured me with a home baked loaf to take with me. This was my first visit To the island and it wont be the last. I will return to the Stenugnen.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 15 in Visby
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 15 in Visby
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#10 of 15 in Visby
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 15 in Visby
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Strand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Borgen
Hotel Villa Borgen
#8 of 15 in Visby
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stenugnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stenugnen

Property: Hotel Stenugnen
Address: 6 Korsgatan, Visby, Gotland 621 57, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Visby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stenugnen 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stenugnen is a familiar and modern three-star hotel. Our hotel rooms are designed in maritime yacht style with en-suite bathroom and flat screen TV. We have free access to wireless internet for all our guests. We daily serve a fresh appetizing continental breakfast with freshly baked bread. Enjoy the historical Visby wall in our breakfast room where you can sit next to it and still be inside. Two of our hotel rooms are suitable for disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Stenugnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stenugnen Hotel Visby
Hotel Stenugnen Visby, Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing