We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok standard but poor for what you pay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Visby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Visby
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Visby
Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's ok standard but poor for what you pay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here only for a night as we have waited for the flat we rented to get free. We chose this hotel because of it was close to the ferry terminal, not far from the flat we were supposed to move to afterwards and it still had available rooms in July (we booked a week before the arrival or so).
This actually explains it all. If rooms are still available in the middle of July in Visby just a week before arrival it's not a perfect hotel to stay in. All best places are then taken for sure. Probably the weather which was kind of cold this year was the reason for that too.
The hotel is totally OK. 3 stars standard (we had a superior double room), clean, small table and chairs outside the room. Breakfast was also ok. Just standard but tasty and fresh. Staff was very friendly. Nothing to complain about in fact.
The only thing that you have to pay 165 euros for a night in such hotel is a bit weird. I know Sweden is an expensive country, I know Visby is especially expensive and thinking of Gotland lives on agriculture and tourism it's even more understandable but still... In comparison on a pretty expensive and very beautiful island Corsica hotels are also expensive but you get much better standard for this money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the house called "Lauter". It was quiet, next to the "breakfast building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gigaiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    101
    56
    11
    5
See reviews for
45
86
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two days and really enjoyed it.

Yes the rooms are basic but the beds were comfy and it waa spotless. In my opinion this is all you need from a 3 star room.

The breakfast for an English person was different but lovely. Choice of breads, fruit, salads, meats, cereals, cheeses and yogurt. It also provided different choice of teas. For an English person not used to a continental breakfast I thought there was a great selection.

To save money you can sneakily make sandwiches for your lunch. Win win!!

In all if you want a basic hotel close to the ferry port and centre with a good breakfast selection then come here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjwhyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for 2 nights. I would say there are much better hotels out there for the money.
The sleep quality was terrible as the rooms are very small and the walls are thin. Even when you are exhausted it is still very hard to sleep with people talking and carrying on in the adjacent rooms. The rooms are so thin you can hear the toilets and water running from the adjacent rooms.
NOTE: There is a huge sign in all rooms that reads "hot water will only last 10 minutes" They were certainly right on this one !!!!!!!! You decide if this is good or not.
The cleanliness was pretty good. It better be the rooms are tiny and therefore should be fairly clean.
Breakfast was pretty good. Based on the room I was actually scared about how bad the food would be. No real issues with the breakfast other than no fruits.
Location is very good. It is a 2 minute drive to the Ferry back to the mainland. It makes it much easier to catch the 7:20 Ferry back to the mainland.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lohja, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed one night in a budget room in Visby Hamnhotell. I was planning to stay in a hostel, but as they charge extra for breakfast, cleaning and bedding, the hotel ended up cheaper - 65 euro for a night in May. The room was on the second floor without balcony in a motel building. Small and basic, but clean. Not interesting of fab, but ok. Walking distance to old town and restaurants, and just opposite the harbor. Very comfortable, as my boat left at 7 in the morning and it gave me time to eat breakfast before leaving Gotland.

Room Tip: A good option compared to hostel, as breakfast, cleaning and bedding is included. I found the room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizaLaTiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

the hotel is close to the harbour, prices are very high, since comparable to other hotels on the island. Hamnhotell is very impersonal, has very small rooms.
The breakfast was satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco_Cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

You await a little bit more when you pay 250+ euro per night, even in expensive country of Sweden. Visby Hamnhotel is effective, but has no personal touch at all: a little bit like a motel (cheaper rooms are a motel, indeed).
Superior (!) rooms are rather small: only a bad, a desk and one armchair without any space between them. A bed was good, and the room itself is rather light due to 3 windows (we had a corner room). A sea (= harbor) view was delightful, although it wasn't very wide because of ship staying in harbor. There was no balcony in this room, but first floor rooms had a small terrace outside.
Cleaning wasn't accurate: once a maple leave flew into the room, and they hadn't removed it for 4 days (I was curious about it, so hadn't thrown it away by myself). But overall it was quite clean.
We weren't provided by any cosmetic supply other than soap and shower gel container.

The location is good with only 7 minutes by walk to the Old town, tourist information and so. I would definitely recommend to stay just outside the city center, because in this case you are safe from crowds and lack of space and parking problems.
Breakfast is very plentiful and tasty, and you can always (24/7) buy some snacks or water on reception which is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Degerhamn
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed here one night when the Visby-Oskarshamn ferry could not sail because of a bad storm. This hotel has a special rate for people stuck when there are ferry problems. The room was cheap in price by Swedish standards, small in size by American standards but typical of Scandinavia, very clean, everything worked, the hot and cold breakfast buffet was varied and ample, staff was very helpful and friendly, location excellent for getting the ferry (it´s right at the harbor) and for sightseeing in the beautiful medieval walled city of Visby. Ask for a harbor/sea view.

Room Tip: The hotel is actually 5 or 6 buildings on the cliffside facing the harbor but not all rooms have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECP135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 15 in Visby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 15 in Visby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 15 in Visby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Solhem Hotel
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Strand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#10 of 15 in Visby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Visby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Visby

Property: Scandic Visby
Address: 3 Faerjeleden, Visby, Gotland 621 58, Sweden (Formerly Visby Hamnhotell)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Visby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Visby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay comfortable at Scandic Visby in Visby Harbor with an unbeatable location just opposite the ferry terminal and with 10-minutes walk to the medieval town centre. As our guest you have free access to gym, pool and relax with sauna. In the restaurant, guests can relax with a good well-cooked food after season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Visby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Visby Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing