We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Cosy, Good Selection of breakfast”
Review of Scandic Visby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Visby
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while in Visby for a conference.
Pros
1. Rooms are clean, tidy with modern furniture and solid flooring. (no creeping sound when walking in the room)
2. Staffs are very friendly (Asked for electric kettle and the counter staff went all out to find one for me)
3. Huge selection of items for buffet breakfast (all kind of bread, ham, cheese, sausages, bacon, eggs (scrambled, hard boiled, soft boiled), all kinds of cereals, lots of fruits, juices and hot drinks)
Cons
1. A little pricey but probably it's just the standard in Scandinavian countries where things are expensive in general
2. Away from the town centre (About 10 minutes walking)
Note: - the cab fare from Visby airport to the hotel is around 170 Swedish Krona. During off-seasons, would be good to reserve a cab beforehand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfbfbfbfbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is right next to the ferry station, which also means only a 5 min walk to the Old Town. The pool is great, we could use it even in September when the sea was getting cold. (There is a small gym and a sauna that we didn't try.) The luggage locker room is also handy - you just need to pick your luggage before you walk over to the ferry. (By the way: there is no crosswalk between the hotel and the ferry station, and there can be big traffic. This is an improvement idea :))
The room was perfect (we didn't spend too much time there anyway), the beds were comfortable (not a double bed, unfortunately), the bathroom was clean (a bit small, but nothing to complain about).
The breakfast selection was good. We didn't try the restaurant.
We payed 'only' 1600 SEK for two nights, which is a much better price that someone previously mentioned here. (Is September cheaper?)
The hotel must have improved since the previous years (I read a lot of negative reviews). We had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balazs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have stayed at scandic visby several times before and I have never had a reason to complain before because the rooms we lived in previous was modern, pretty, small but pleasant. Everything has been good. This time around however it was a different story. In lack of other choices me and my partner got given a 'family room' in the separate yellow building beside the pool facing the harbour in the scandic hotell. This was a huge mistake.
Kids would scream and shout from very early hours and wake you up as the walls were very thin. If the neighbour kids did not wake you up the kids playing in the pool outside would..
Ok, we kind of had to suit ourselves for accepting a family room. I mean what do you expect? But in all honesty we did not think it would be that bad! At night time all the traffic and the ferries arriving/leaving would be quite noisy and wake you up. So if you wake easily this might not be the right place for you. And couples trying have a romantic time, under no circumstances choose this room...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Small rooms but very new. It is better to be on the 3rd floor otherwise the room is seen from the passage ways. There is a parking, small swimming pool, jacuzzi and gym. Every building is for different functions. Sleeping units, dining hall, gym and reception are separate buildings. They are not far from each other but it is better to know if you are visiting in the winter. It is 5 minutes walk to Visby center. Especially good for Almedalen week. At least for the night you are in a quieter place.

Room Tip: any sleeping building on the 3rd floor. It does not metter which building all of them has the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Chose this place for a business trip as we have a contract with them. Pleasantly surprised. Brand new, still smells of new plaster in places, garden soil still being delivered. Sets of rooms in different buildings, as is breakfast. A bit unusual in that respect but worked out fine (in good weather...). Carports for everyone.
Great location just a few minutes walk from town. Bit quieter here.
Some idiosyncraticies in the design of the bathroom, but it works.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The rooms here are spartan, but clean and the beds are comfortable and it's quiet at night. We used this hotel the last night we were in Visby because it was close to the ferry. We were able to walk to Old Town (head in direction of the ferry, not up the hill!) The breakfast was okay; the dining room is in a separate building. Compared to most of the other sites in Visby, there is nothing "charming" about this hotel. It's strictly utilitarian.

Room Tip: The front door is a bit difficult to find; it's around the corner and faces the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Rooms of this hotel are mall and you can think you are in a military camp, the bulding seem provisional. I didn't like at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank felix p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 16 in Visby
895 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 16 in Visby
469 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novi Resort Visby
Novi Resort Visby
#13 of 16 in Visby
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Strand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Solhem Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 16 in Visby
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Visby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Visby

Address: 3 Faerjeleden, Visby, Gotland 621 58, Sweden (Formerly Visby Hamnhotell)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Price Range: £100 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Visby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay comfortable at Scandic Visby in Visby Harbor with an unbeatable location just opposite the ferry terminal and with 10-minutes walk to the medieval town centre. As our guest you have free access to gym, pool and relax with sauna. In the restaurant, guests can relax with a good well-cooked food after season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Visby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Visby Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing