We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience”
Review of Hotel St. Clemens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Clemens
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We recently travelled to Gotland with 3 children. The Hotel St. Clemens were able to accommodate us into a family room. The location is fabulous and the staff are truly wonderful. The hotel rooms were immaculate. Gotland and in turn Visby, is truly a magical place. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whoneedstowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    100
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
106
189
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

You plan a foreign trip months in advance, particularly if you're going to a new country or area, and you take a leap of faith that what you book will live up to your expectations. Hotel St. Clemens exceeded our expectations. Old Visby is a fairyland. The hotel is set in the middle of it. It is clean and comfortable; the staff were exceptionally warm, helpful and inviting; breakfast was perfect. This was the ideal home base from which to explore Gotland. The rooms are small - not a criticism from our standpoint, just a fact that's good to know.

A note about Gotland. We didn't know much about the island, but were attracted by Visby's designation as a UN world heritage site. We wish we had booked a longer stay, and would have gladly traded a day in Stockholm for a third day (the bare minimum) on Gotland. If historic, architectural and archaeological exploration motivate your travel, you will love this ancient island. The little island of Faro off the northeast end of Gotland is a must.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABadgerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The service here was spectacular. We didn't really know what to do in Gotland, other than to walk around Visby, so the receptionist suggested we take a drive up to Faro. She even got us a cheap deal for a last minute rental car. Faro was breathtaking, by the way. On the last day, as we had to leave the hotel before breakfast time to get to the ferry, she packed us a lovely breakfast at no additional charge and booked us a taxi as well. The rooms were pretty good, considering that the building was old, and had its old world charm. Especially since the hotel was right next to a church ruin. I loved this hotel and would definitely return if I were to visit Visby again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SzeHsien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We loved the St. Clemons! Stayed for about a week and the whole experience was lovely. We had a top floor suite with nice views out over the rooftops to the water from the bedroom. The sauna in the bathroom was fantastic- we used it every evening. Wifi was fine, I worked several days using the wifi with no issues. The bed was great.

The location is perfect, and the staff is ultra- friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was quite good, and the dining room is very pleasant. I loved the basket of apples set out for guests to help themselves. The apples are tasty, and I believe they came from the tree onsite.

Thanks for making our stay in Visby special! We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Good location next to a church ruin in a quiet area of Visby.You can borrow the key from the reception and enter the ruin for closer inspection. Clean, comfortable beds and a very nice staff. Our room was big but had a very small bathroom. Free fruit, coffee and tea all day long.
Adequate breakfast buffet Swedish style. You can try at least 10 different types of tea.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0lf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

A nice hotel in the middle of old Visby. Really nice staff and the rooms were clean and the bed was perfect. Bathroom was missing conditioner, but no complains really. Sound did travel a lot, but on the other hand it is old buildings and they also provide earplugs in all rooms! Breakfast was sufficient and had a lot of choises even if the hotel is small. There is also a nice ruin in the garden that needs a visit!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmigrannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My only regret is not booking more nights in Visby at the St. Clemens. The location is ideal - perfect for wandering around and getting lost in the narrow, crooked streets, close to Botanic Garden, church ruins, and easy walk to all the shopping/restaurants. Take a cab from the ferry terminal. Staff made us feel right at home - they made dinner reservations for us and recommended an inexpensive place to rent a car for a day trip around the island. And packed a wonderful breakfast to go before we caught the ferry back to Stockholm - including extra cookies! The rates are very reasonable, especially if you book early. I loved this hotel.

Room Tip: We ended up with a room on the street, but it was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms.RUSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 15 in Visby
798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 15 in Visby
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scandic Visby
Scandic Visby
#3 of 15 in Visby
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Strand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#10 of 15 in Visby
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novi Resort Visby
Novi Resort Visby
#11 of 15 in Visby
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Clemens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Clemens

Property: Hotel St. Clemens
Address: 3 Smedjegatan, Visby, Gotland 621 55, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Visby
#1 Best Value Hotel in Visby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Clemens 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St Clemens is located in the inner city of Visby, inside the city walls. The hotel consists of five historical buildings next to the Botanical Garden and the cathedral. It is Gotland’s first environmentally labeled hotel, offering three-star accommodation. All rooms are non-smoking, with their own shower, toilet, TV and wireless Internet. Breakfast, daily cleaning and Internet connection are included in the price. All 32 rooms are unique in size and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St. Clemens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Clemens Visby, Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing