We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New part is nice, but service is on par with Scandic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New part is nice, but service is on par with Scandic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed over a weekend. The new rooms are very nice and beautifully architected. The breakfast is a pretty standard hotel breakfast. There is a nice lounge area and bar near the reception. One thing that surprised us upon arrival is how BIG the hotel is. It is much bigger than one expects from the outside. Although the staff at the reception was helpful, there were little to no attempts to provide genuine service. I'd rank them on par with Scandic-chains of hotels, meaning they consider themselves there to check you in and out - nothing more and nothing less.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the new part!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R3xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKasselback, Chef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Google Translation
Tack för Ert omdöme och självklart så kommer vi att se över det som vi kan bli bättre på.
Mycket välkomna åter!
Med vänliga hälsningar Pernilla Kasselbäck /Hotellchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    248
    58
    22
    10
See reviews for
118
302
31
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Meeting room was excellent with a nice view
Hotel room was very nice and silent. Climate control was good. Bed was a bit hard.
Bar area/lounge is one of the nicest I've seen
Placement in the middle of the town was very good.
Would recommend this both to business travelers and for leisure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobiewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKasselback, Chef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Google Translation
Tack så mycket för Ert fina omdöme, gör oss glada.
Mycket välkomna åter!
Med vänliga hälsningar Pernilla Kasselbäck /Hotellchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at Clarion Wisby Hotel in june 2014.

The staff at the reception desk was very serviceminded and helpful. Rooms not really that big, but cozy and the bed was very comfortable with huge pillows and very nice madrasses. Bathroom worked very well - minibar with really notning in it, a new experience, and iron and ironboard in the closet, but no steamiron, so you have iron the old fashioned way.
Hotel is very centrally located in Wisby, inside the old citywalls and with the harbour, botanical garden and all the cozy little squares and very old houses within walking distance.
The hotel has a nice breakfast, a restaurant and a bar, and is a very nice hotel
Wisby is a very nice and beautiful old town, which definitely is worth a visit for a couple of days. Only a 40 minutes flight or a three hours Ferryride of the Swedish mainland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKasselback, Chef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Google Translation
Tack för bra info här på Tripadvisor!
Mycket välkomna åter!
Med vänliga hälsningar Pernilla Kasselbäck /Hotellchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
g
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Staff are lovely and breakfast is very good. Room is nice but quite small, and given the price one would think small extras like e.g toothpaste would be included (instead 20k). Broadband is given through 24 hr use coupons per device... which was quite a surprise in this day and age, internet has to be renewed daily for each device and is a REALLY annoying process! Pool is NOT included in price, again a big surprise as the 100kroner entry to the pool was not mentioned in any of the literature I received showing the pool as a selling point to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sianbeavertron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKasselback, Chef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for good feedback! We will look in to the areas we can approve.
Hope to see you again - very welcome back!
Pernilla Kasselbäck / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinkjer, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Nice hotel on a good location in the inner part of Visby Town. The service was excellent and my room was nice, big and with a wonderful view down on the harbour area and the sea. The room was also clean and silent. But i got told that in the high season in the summer it can be very noisy around the hotel because of all the hotels, restaurants and bar you can go out on in the area around this hotel. But when i was there it was silent. The Kitchen and Table restaurant also had good food and excellent waiter. It look like they really know how to handle people on this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 007Geir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKasselback, Receptionschef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Google Translation
Tack för Ditt omdöme och hoppas att vi får hälsa Dig välkommen igen!
Med vänliga hälsningar Pernilla Kasselbäck Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The room was clean and tidy and had an excellent view over the sea-this was a superior room and we asked for sea view which we were given.

Use of the pool and sauna is poor-only available before 9am and staff do not welcome you to use it. We asked for the sauna to be put on but were told it took too long to warm up. We persisted and they eventually greed.

In general staff were not that welcome and at times unprofessional.

On the Friday and Saturday the main bar was used for events. We were unable to get drinks from the bar during this time.

Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKasselback, Receptionschef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Google Translation
Tack för bra feedback - mycket välkommen åter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great location and friendly and helpful staff.
The "Deluxe" room was very small with a mad spiral staircase up to the bed. No view. Just looked out onto a roof. Disappointing. Breakfast was hectic with stressed staff rushing about. If we had had a nicer room we might have come away with a better impression.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TMarie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKasselback, Receptionschef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hopefully we will see you again and make a better impression!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 15 in Visby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#10 of 15 in Visby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Strand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 15 in Visby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Visby
Scandic Visby
#3 of 15 in Visby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Solhem Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Wisby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Wisby

Property: Clarion Hotel Wisby
Address: 6 Strandgatan, Visby, Gotland 621 57, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Visby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Visby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Wisby 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Wisby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Visby
Clarion Hotel Visby
Visby Clarion
Clarion Hotel Wisby Visby, Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing