We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Solhem Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel is located just outside the city walls, very close to the old town and to the harbour. My room was spacious, clean and had a balcony with small table and chairs. Wi-fi worked perfectly. Breakfast was tasty, nothing to complain about. Staff was friendly and helpful. Generally, the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    62
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
43
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

Good clean and nice room. Nice lobby to sit in and good breakfast in am. Location is great. Can walk to old town very easily. Visby is old well preserved medieval town. Very Swedish feel despite the tourists. Most tourists seem to be Swedish both in town and at hotel Things and meals expensive in city. Hotel was perfect place to explore from.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jjajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I would highly recommend the Best Western Solhem to anyone looking to stay overnight on Gotland Island. When selecting a hotel for my stay in Visby I sought a place that was in the center of the old town, but that was also easily reached by road and with good parking as I would have a rental car. Solhem was perfectly located just steps outside the medieval wall on the south side of the old city and a short easy drive from the car rental office at the ferry dock. Streets within the old city itself are a maze of narrow lanes so I was happy to just walk rather than navigate a car through them. If you are arriving on foot, you may want to consider taking a taxi from the ferry terminal to the hotel as it’s a short but fairly steep uphill walk through a park from the main road leading out of the ferry terminal.

I booked my single room through the Gotland Ferry website at the same time I booked my passage and got a better rate than was available elsewhere including the hotel’s website. I was given room #320 located just off the lobby and had a nice view of the old city wall as well as a peak-a-boo view of the water. The room had two very comfortable twin beds, two armchairs, a coffee table, two bedside tables, and a desk. The television offered BBC News and three local movie channels with movies often in English. My only complaint—scratchy toilet paper.

The front desk staff was terrific. They provided recommendations of places to eat in town and loaned me a knife and fork when I brought in take-out one evening. My take-out came from a large supermarket with ATM in the Soder Centrum that is a five-minute walk from the hotel. In the lobby is a small bar which offers some simple food items. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with six kinds of cereals, fresh berries, several breads, assorted cold items as well as scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon. There was a machine that provided coffee, cappuccino, cocoa, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for view of old town or the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank comcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had the chance to try two rooms: one very spacious with sea view and a nice balcony, whereas the second was smaller with the window overlooking Solhem street. Both were comfy and clean, but the first was definitely better. Breakfast includes a wide selection of hot food, fresh fruit, jams, cereals, biscuits, local cheese and jams. For tea lovers, there was also a good selection of loose teas.
It is located just outside the city walls, so it is very close to shops, restaurants and the Visby historical center. It is also a 5 min-walk away from the bus station and from the port.
The hotel serves snacks and a small selection of hot food for lunch and dinner. Guests are provided with free parking and wi-fi connection. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sollentuna, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Comfortable rooms, clean, good breakfast buffée, close to city - situated by the great wall, close to many good restaurants, friendly staff.
- bad parking possibilities.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oskarshamn, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Decent hotel with helpful staff in à good location just outside the wall. The only negative thing is the internet connection through cable instead of WiFi. The connection did not workshops but the helpful staff got us a new and better room instead.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ionize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 15 in Visby
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Visby
Scandic Visby
#3 of 15 in Visby
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Strand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 15 in Visby
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 15 in Visby
104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novi Resort Visby
Novi Resort Visby
#11 of 15 in Visby
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Solhem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Solhem Hotel

Property: Best Western Solhem Hotel
Address: Solhemsgatan 3, Visby, Gotland 621 58, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Solhem Hotel)
Region: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Visby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Solhem Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Visby's well preserved city wall, you find Best Western Solhem Hotel. Beautifully situated next to the Palisad Park, just around the corner from the city centre.Best Western Solhem Hotel offers quiet and peaceful accommodation, despite it's nearness to the city center. The hotel continues to develop, and undergoes constant renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Solhem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visby Best Western
Best Western Solhem Hotel Visby, Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing