We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location for the ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Solhem Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I travelled here in September and found accommodation a bit of a challenge in Visby. Everywhere seems to get booked out fast. With the Solhem Hotel this was not the case, it was a bit more expensive than I hoped for a single room 1130 sek I think I paid. The hotel is located just outside the city walls and is very close to the ferry port if you have an early boat to catch. Rooms are large and I had a great sea view towards the harbour. There's a little shop in reception too selling cute sheep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the harbour.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Solhem Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Conveniently located just a few minutes (walking or driving) from the ferry and just a stone's throw from the beautiful walls of Visby. The nearest gate is perhaps 50 meters away and a short walk brings you to all the city attractions. Solhem has ample parking, including some shady spots inside their courtyard area. We chose this property since it is pet-friendly, and is it ever! Our dog enjoyed his own bed, bowl, treats and even a cute hook to hang up the leash. The hotel very thoughtfully has set aside two rooms in a separate cottage on the property which gives it a special feeling.

What separates this property from other hotels is the staff - friendly, personable and professional. I had the chance to watch several guests check in and out and every issue, be it big or small, was handled smoothly, be it a request for information, directions or a billing item.

Breakfast catered to every taste, from scrambled eggs and bacon to yoghurt and granola with fresh fruit. Not that it ever rains in Sweden, but I noticed umbrellas available for guest use, just in case!

Call me a fan - I've lately started looking at Best Western properties when we travel around Northern Europe. BTW, staff speaks perfect English if your Swedish isn't up to snuff!

Finally, I should note that the top management takes a personal interest in the guests - Jill, the hotel manager, met us all, our dog included, when we checked in. The next morning, for whatever reason, we left Zak in the room for a few minutes while we went to the breakfast room in the main building. Being a rather clever dog, and not wanting to miss out on anything, he opened both the room door and the outer door lever handles, and went looking for us. Apparently he patiently waited for someone to come along and open the main door and then he went to reception where he was again greeted by reception staff , including Jill, who recognized him and not knowing where we were, escorted him back to the room. Needless to say, he was really happy to see us a few minutes later when we returned.

Room Tip: 224 or 225 if you are with a furry friend
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monark540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel is located just outside the city walls, very close to the old town and to the harbour. My room was spacious, clean and had a balcony with small table and chairs. Wi-fi worked perfectly. Breakfast was tasty, nothing to complain about. Staff was friendly and helpful. Generally, the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Good clean and nice room. Nice lobby to sit in and good breakfast in am. Location is great. Can walk to old town very easily. Visby is old well preserved medieval town. Very Swedish feel despite the tourists. Most tourists seem to be Swedish both in town and at hotel Things and meals expensive in city. Hotel was perfect place to explore from.

Stayed: July 2012
2  Thank jjajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ano N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I would highly recommend the Best Western Solhem to anyone looking to stay overnight on Gotland Island. When selecting a hotel for my stay in Visby I sought a place that was in the center of the old town, but that was also easily reached by road and with good parking as I would have a rental car. Solhem was perfectly located just steps outside the medieval wall on the south side of the old city and a short easy drive from the car rental office at the ferry dock. Streets within the old city itself are a maze of narrow lanes so I was happy to just walk rather than navigate a car through them. If you are arriving on foot, you may want to consider taking a taxi from the ferry terminal to the hotel as it’s a short but fairly steep uphill walk through a park from the main road leading out of the ferry terminal.

I booked my single room through the Gotland Ferry website at the same time I booked my passage and got a better rate than was available elsewhere including the hotel’s website. I was given room #320 located just off the lobby and had a nice view of the old city wall as well as a peak-a-boo view of the water. The room had two very comfortable twin beds, two armchairs, a coffee table, two bedside tables, and a desk. The television offered BBC News and three local movie channels with movies often in English. My only complaint—scratchy toilet paper.

The front desk staff was terrific. They provided recommendations of places to eat in town and loaned me a knife and fork when I brought in take-out one evening. My take-out came from a large supermarket with ATM in the Soder Centrum that is a five-minute walk from the hotel. In the lobby is a small bar which offers some simple food items. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with six kinds of cereals, fresh berries, several breads, assorted cold items as well as scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon. There was a machine that provided coffee, cappuccino, cocoa, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for view of old town or the harbor.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank comcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had the chance to try two rooms: one very spacious with sea view and a nice balcony, whereas the second was smaller with the window overlooking Solhem street. Both were comfy and clean, but the first was definitely better. Breakfast includes a wide selection of hot food, fresh fruit, jams, cereals, biscuits, local cheese and jams. For tea lovers, there was also a good selection of loose teas.
It is located just outside the city walls, so it is very close to shops, restaurants and the Visby historical center. It is also a 5 min-walk away from the bus station and from the port.
The hotel serves snacks and a small selection of hot food for lunch and dinner. Guests are provided with free parking and wi-fi connection. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 16 in Visby
884 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Strand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Scandic Visby
Scandic Visby
#3 of 16 in Visby
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 16 in Visby
462 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novi Resort Visby
Novi Resort Visby
#13 of 16 in Visby
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#11 of 16 in Visby
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Solhem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Solhem Hotel

Address: Solhemsgatan 3, Visby, Gotland 621 58, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Solhem Hotel)
Region: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Price Range: £89 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Solhem Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Visby's well preserved city wall, you find Best Western Solhem Hotel. Beautifully situated next to the Palisad Park, just around the corner from the city centre.Best Western Solhem Hotel offers quiet and peaceful accommodation, despite it's nearness to the city center. The hotel continues to develop, and undergoes constant renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Solhem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visby Best Western
Best Western Solhem Hotel Visby, Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing