We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gute
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotell Slottsbacken(Visby)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
32
35
12
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
35
12
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtreceptionistfridgebedsgotlandferry
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Gute is a comfortable, quaint little hotel in the heart of the Old Town.

The room I stayed in was on the 3rd floor and had a gorgeous view over rooftops, ruins and the sea. Very good bed, a beautiful antique table and ditto chair, a rug on the floor, a writing desk, otherwise simple decor. No air conditioning, but there was a small fridge to keep food/drink. Breakfast included.

I booked late and for a busy period in Visby, so the stay was a bit too expensive for my taste, but if you get a good rate it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank theycallmej0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile


This not often the case but when it happens then prepare yourself. The rooms have no AC and at least ours was pretty (very) small. Wardrobes were very limited making the room even smaller since you need to put your clothes around the room. No working table, simply no space for it. No other off-loading surfaces either. This is a room to sleep in (if possible due to the heat) and the escape. The charge was 1400 SEK per night for a double and for me that is truly hefty for what you get.
Staff is friendly, breakfast is normal hotel breakfast, not more.
If I am not desperate and cannot find a better room I will not come back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mikael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Got an offer for flights from Malmö Aviation and booked directly. After looking around at different hotels, we decided for this one.

We were not disappointed

The price for two nights was 2300 SEK, which according to us was good. This included a breakfast with freshly baked bread and other delicacies.

The room was located on the second floor and it had a nice view of the street and house roofs. There was TV and a fridge where the cold drinks were stored.

The room was large, clean and had a comfortable bed to sleep. Hotel Gute is very centrally located and within walking distance to the city cozy restaurants and sights.

The staff was very nice and gladly helped with our questions.

I wish only one thing and that is that we had been able to stay longer.

I want to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kallander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Perfect location in historical Visby, very helpfull staff, friendly atmosphere in the hotel, comfortable room. Beautiful and quiet hotel!..................................................................

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Lenka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My brother and I stayed here two nights in August. We found the location perfect for exploring the little town of Visby, a UNESCO Heritage Site. The room was a good size with a good bathroom, but the usual small shower that gets water all over the floor. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff very helpful. We were able to walk to all the spots we wanted to see and a motorcycle rental located outside the walled city. This hotel is only a few blocks from the Visby Museum, a really wondeful museum for the small size town. Visby also has a gorgeous botanical garden, also within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews