We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple but great food in a nice auberge”
Review of Auberge de Dully

Auberge de Dully
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dully
Price range: US$23 - US$72
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“simple but great food in a nice auberge”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Nice Auberge in the small village of Dully.It is simple but delicious with a set menu consisting of a salad with a big bowl, roasted chicken, lamb and rösti. Big wine cart with wine of the region. We keep going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teodóra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    28
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go if you like Chicken!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Its a great place and we love it. Order the green salad to start which comes in a big bowl with a big dollop of dressing and you mix and serve is yourself.
Chicken is really the only thing to have for main course. Its cooked on a rotisserie beside a vertical BBQ - warning, don't sit near the BBQ, it gets very warm! They bring the plate of chicken and place it in the centre of the table for you to help yourselves then they bring around veg. They usually have potato dauphinoise but my advice is skip that and go for the rosti. They are both great but the rosti is delicious!
When you place your order ask them for the dessert. Its a fantastic cream tart which they tell me is nothing more than cream and sugar poured onto a hot dish or stone and it goes crispy. It is fantastic!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gravey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Nice Auberge in the small village of Dully, very simple concept with a set menu consisting of a salad, roasted chicken and rösti. Pretty large wine cart with wine of the region.
Food was good, but too expensive and also the wine were a little bit expensive to be wine from local producers.
I returned Auberge after some time and I noticed that there was a price increase of about 40%. Which is not all justifiable.
Defintly not value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gama322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but impossible to forget why a diamond is so valuable!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Unless you really do know your way around the great sights between Geneva and Lausanne, the Restaurant in the ground floor of the Auberge de Dully is a well-kept treasure. The locals know the restaurant as the "chicken place". This is because the thing to get here is the rotisserie chicken. The only other choice for a main is leg of lamb (I have never seen anyone pass up the chicken). The place is packed with all the people who know about it, and you have to get there spot on 7:00 PM to get a table. The chicken meal is cooked on an open flame in the restaurant (five on a skewer; five skewers rotating continuously). You have never, never, tasted better chicken. The entire bird is removed and cut into about eight pieces, enough for two people at CHF 38 per person. Included are a green salad, bread, and all the absolutely scrumptious Swiss Roesti potatoes anyone could eat. Wines are plentiful and good, from glass to half or full bottles; local, French, Italian, Spanish, etc. If you have room (you probably won't), there is also the dessert of the house that is famous as a special torte that must be ordered with the meal. Service is efficient, friendly, speedy, cheerful, and welcoming. The ambience is pure Swiss French; the entire place is dripping with it, and you are surrounded by centuries-old wood and stone (the stone is tufa, as most of the castles around here have been constructed from this material) and carved wood. Whether you are a dark or light meat person, there won't be anything left in your platter of wonderful food. The place is closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, but, is open on Sundays, which is a real anomaly in Switzerland. Surely one of the many jewels in this pleasant and delightful country.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We lived in Geneva,Switzerland for over 5 years and whenever we had visitors or a special occasion, we would visit Auberge de Dully, in the village of Dully. Low ceilings, chicken and lamb roasting on a huge open spit, rosti potatoes...it is Switzerland to a "T"! We took our children there about 10 years after we moved from the area and it was exactly as it was before. Luckily they knew they were doing things right and didn't change a thing...the decor, the food and I'm sure some of the waitstaff were just the same. It was and still is one of our favorites, if not THE favorite restaurant in the world.

Helpful?
Thank LauraMcT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge de Dully also viewed

 
Gilly, Nyon District
 
Vinzel, Nyon District
Rolle, Nyon District
 

Been to Auberge de Dully? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing