We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”
Review of Deer's Mead

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erpingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer's Mead
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for a weekend 2 weeks after they opened. It was a perfect break away. This is a lovely, new site. The facilities are exceptional, spotlessly clean, beautiful design and loads of hot water. The pitches are all a good size with all amenities you need pitch side. It's a very quiet, small site but we loved that and have booked for a week in July. Friends I recommended Deers Mead to also loved it and are re-booking. We had our 2 dogs with us and we found some great evening walks from the site for them. It's well located for all the well known destinations in the area and the fish and chip shop in the nearby village served delicious grub. What a great find!

Room Tip: Pitches in the late teens and 20's get good evening sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darwen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just returned from a week here on plot 14 would definitely recommend it to couples as the facilities are excellent loads of hot water and the showers were better than any hotel I have stayed at. Very quiet and peaceful but close to coast and towns We had wonderful weather which obviously helped but hard standing kept awning clean Can't wait to go again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericbranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here last weekend for just one night, we recently purchased a camper van and wanted to try it out and I'm glad this was our first destination, facilities are excellent lovely and clean and very modern, we took our 2 little dogs and found lots of nice places to walk them would definitely recommend x

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed on this campsite in May half term. The site had only been open a week following it's refurbishment. The facilities are superb and the owners are incredibly helpful and welcoming. It's a short walk to the pub where the food is excellent. This experience has definitely decided us to book adult only sites wherever possible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jentie691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here when it was Little Haven and fell in love with the tranquility of it. Returned this weekend after refurb and what can we say?! They've managed to keep the small, quiet and relaxing site but transformed the Utility block! Looks fab on the outside, is beautiful on the inside! The pitches are fully serviced, pressed gravel and grass, spacious and the site remains pretty! A very warm welcome on arrival. We'll definitely be back! Xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We are currently staying at this wonderful site (May 2014). We booked some time ago for its location and the prospect of new facilities, not really appreciating the quality we would find. We have not been camping in the UK for a few years although in the past have stayed across the country. But this has to be one of the most well appointed sites we have ever stayed on. Granted there is no shop or other such facilities (frankly not needed anyway), the key things you need like clean toilets, showers, washing up area and laundry room are exactly what you might hope for. Even the chemical toilet emptying facility is impressive!! When we booked our pitch there was another first for us (in the UK) we were able to select the pitch number from the site map. I realised after booking that many pitches are hard standings and was anxious about pitching a tent on gravel, but actually it's great (remember to bring gravel pegs with you, plastic won't do it!!). Our new tent will not get muddy at all, and although it has rained heavily at times there is no worry about there being any 'boggy' patches. The hosts/owners have been friendly and helpful and all seem proud of their new site, and so they should be. The thing we wanted most from this holiday was a peaceful and restful time, and we have certainly had that. (The only disturbances have been the joyous sound of the country birds - a cuckoo...etc., cows and occasional helicopter and tractor traffic but all in the distance... The world encroaches everywhere!). It is an adult only site and being 'post young children' ourselves it's wonderful. But if you have a young family Deers Glade also owned by the same family is very close by and I gather has a good reputation as well. We have booked to come back for shorter stays in June and August. That should say enough!

Room Tip: Some grass pitches are slightly sloping but the majority are level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent the week before Easter at Deers Mead and were very impressed. The pitches are large and have all the facilities that you need. The wash/ shower rooms are immaculate as are the wash up and laundry areas. This campsite has undergone a complete makeover and the owners have thought of everything. There is a warden to meet and greet with a lovely warm welcome who then leaves you alone to enjoy your holiday. There are no lists of dos and dont's everywhere just a reception full of brochures for the area. Our only advice would be to not book the first few pitches they can become noisy when cars are coming and going in and out of the site. Other than that we could not find fault. We will return in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElaineB896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Deer's Mead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer's Mead

Address: The Street, Erpingham NR11 7QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Erpingham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Erpingham
Price Range: £25 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Deer's Mead 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults Only Camping & Caravan Park in North Norfolk with all weather Fully Serviced 'Super Pitches'. A tranquil & rural setting with luxury modern facilities. Deer's Mead truly meets the high expectations of the 21st century guest. Local Pubs within walking distance & the Coast just 5 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing