We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermiston Guest House
Ranked #3 of 8 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We'd visited Hermiston before and can only agree with all the other reviews: clean, modern, welcoming and with an attention to detail sadly lacking in many similarly-priced B&B's.
This time we visited for a long weekend with my aging parents - for whom one of the ground floor rooms was ideal - although they did report feeling a little exposed without net curtains in the front-facing window!
Proximity to pubs and restaurant in the village was also a great plus-point - along with the warm personal welcome; relaxed atmosphere and the FANTASTIC breakfast (thanks to the sterling work of unsung heroine in the kitchen, Tracy!) with fresh fruit salad and a simple choice of full Cumbrian or smoked-salmon scrambled eggs. (You have to stay 2 nights just to try both!) along with nice touches like the linen napkins. Magnificent views over Skiddaw from the front rooms topped it all off and we had a great weekend, thank you to both Steve & Tracy.

Room Tip: The rooms are ALL good - but the views of Skiddaw from the front are impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed here for one night without having pre-booked. Very pleased with whole experience; room was spotlessley clean and adequate size for short break, location is 2 minutes from Braithwaite village centre which was just fab; owner was very friendly and helpful; breakfast was fanstastic and pleantiful with wide choice (fresh fruit salad was brilliant). Only slight downside was the proximity to main road, but this wasn't a problem for us as the double glazing stopped road noise from being a problem to us. Would definately stay here again. The drive to / from this place is stunning once you get into the Lakes itself

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeatsNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This was our second stay at Hermiston and I recommend this B&B to all. It is a fantastic place to stay in the Lake District.

The rooms (well, the whole house) are spotlessly clean, modern, quiet and well decorated; the location is wonderful being less than a five minutes drive from Keswick and only around a fifteen minute drive from beautiful Buttermere.

It is within easy reach of some of the best Lakeland walks and also overlooks the stunning Mt Skiddaw; an impressive sight from the breakfast room. Speaking of which, the breakfasts are a delight with plenty of alternative options if you do not want a 'full English'. A perfect start to anybody's day. Steve & Tracy are very, very welcoming and provide fantastic local knowledge.

There are several lovely locally owned and run pubs within easy walking distance which serve lovely dinners and provide good refreshments if you do not fancy driving into town.

We will be sure to return for a third time and if you are considering staying here you will not regret it and i'm sure you will soon find yourself re-visiting year upon year.

A gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Citydweller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

This B&B is simple beautiful, the surrounding area is perfect for hikers/casual walkers and lots of shops and nice looking villages close by.
Rooms are spotless, modern and clean. Very welcoming, friendly people, thanks steve and tracy!
The full english is the morning is superb and sets you up for the day!
Will be back next year! Perfect break away! (good for couples and families of all ages)
Well recommended! a HOME FROM HOME!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inspectornath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My husband & I have just spent a week at Hermiston, the accomodation is very good, beautiful bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, nice sitting room to relax in and a sunny deck to sit on and drink a glass of wine or cup of tea after a long walk. Good choice at breakfast which were extremely good, thanks Steve for the little extra on our plate.

Steve and Tracy are very welcoming and we were made to feel very at home, it is a lovely house, enjoyed seeing the red squirrel on the lawn.

The area has some wonderful walks which we really enjoyed and there is great scenery for people who are not into long walks.

We will definately be going back one day, it is a pity we live so far away.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysRgr8Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

This is our second stay at Hermiston and we will definately make it our regular stop in the lakes. You will receive a lovely welcome, beautiful rooms and an excellent breakfast. Its the extra things that make this B&B special, there is a comfy little sitting room with a log burner and lots of magazines and the owners are bikers and covered our bike for us a night which is really appreciated.
There are a couple of pubs in a few minutes walking distance that are nice with good food.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betterholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This b&b is in a lovely location - great views and close to both Keswick & Cockermouth. We were offered a choice of rooms when we arrived - either a super-king size or a double with a view (we chose the view!). The bed was very comfortable (I think the whole house has recently been refurbished and all the furniture seems almost brand new). The breakfast is huge and fills you for the day. Tracey & Steve are very welcoming and make you feel very much at home. We will certainly be back. The only slight drawback is that payment has to be by cash or cheque- this is ok if you are only staying for a couple of days but a longer stay means you may have to hand over a large amount of money at one time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
0.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
577 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
0.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 177 in Keswick
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermiston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermiston Guest House

Property: Hermiston Guest House
Address: Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermiston Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hermiston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermiston Guest House Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing