We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable and good breakfast. Made very welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermiston Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable and good breakfast. Made very welcome”
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My husband & I have just spent a week at Hermiston, the accomodation is very good, beautiful bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, nice sitting room to relax in and a sunny deck to sit on and drink a glass of wine or cup of tea after a long walk. Good choice at breakfast which were extremely good, thanks Steve for the little extra on our plate.

Steve and Tracy are very welcoming and we were made to feel very at home, it is a lovely house, enjoyed seeing the red squirrel on the lawn.

The area has some wonderful walks which we really enjoyed and there is great scenery for people who are not into long walks.

We will definately be going back one day, it is a pity we live so far away.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysRgr8Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mansfield
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

This is our second stay at Hermiston and we will definately make it our regular stop in the lakes. You will receive a lovely welcome, beautiful rooms and an excellent breakfast. Its the extra things that make this B&B special, there is a comfy little sitting room with a log burner and lots of magazines and the owners are bikers and covered our bike for us a night which is really appreciated.
There are a couple of pubs in a few minutes walking distance that are nice with good food.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betterholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This b&b is in a lovely location - great views and close to both Keswick & Cockermouth. We were offered a choice of rooms when we arrived - either a super-king size or a double with a view (we chose the view!). The bed was very comfortable (I think the whole house has recently been refurbished and all the furniture seems almost brand new). The breakfast is huge and fills you for the day. Tracey & Steve are very welcoming and make you feel very much at home. We will certainly be back. The only slight drawback is that payment has to be by cash or cheque- this is ok if you are only staying for a couple of days but a longer stay means you may have to hand over a large amount of money at one time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briton Ferry, South Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This is a modern and very comfortable place to stay with spectacular views and scenery. Most welcoming hosts with a breakfast to die for!!! (Try the salmon & scrambled eggs) Especially biker friendly, with safe off road parking. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We have just returned from a short stay at the Hermiston B&B in Braithwaite. We had a great time, the B&B was lovely as were the owners. The rooms were clean and serviced daily including fresh towels if required.

The B&B was situated only a short drive from Keswick town centre where there are plenty of bars for the evening. In Braithwaite your only a short walk from 3 pubs (one of which we couldnt find!). We are not avid walkers but we set off out of the B&B and found a brilliant walk up Barrow Fell which once you get to the top offers great scenery.

The breakfast was great, a nice hearty full english sets you up ready for a good walk or a lighter breakfast is offered if your appetite is not up to it!

We would most definately stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hykeham,Lincoln
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We decided to stay overnight in Braithwaite near Keswick on our way back from our Scotland holiday and stayed at the Hermiston Guest House and what a find. It is a really lovely place with super furnishings and a great breakfast. We will certainly stay there again when next in that area. They are a lovely couple who run it and deserve our recommendation. Shame about the weather though.

  • Liked — everything new and fresh
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanHykeham_lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

This is the second time we have stayed at this lovely B&B and it was just as good as last year.

The setting is great, we are not walkers but we do enjoy the scenery around this area. The B&B itself is lovely. The rooms are well designed and spotless. Our room had a massive bed and was very comfortable. The dining room is also very pleasant with modern decor.

The breakfast is ace! Smoked salmon & scambled eggs with the offer of a glass of Bucks Fizz to go with it, what more can you ask for!

  • Liked — The big bed
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommoHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
0.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
0.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Braithwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermiston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermiston Guest House

Property: Hermiston Guest House
Address: Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermiston Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hermiston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermiston Guest House Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing