We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is my third stay at Maple Bank. This time I visited with my teenage daughter. The great thing about Maple Bank is that it has ample parking. It is close enough to walk to Keswick and you don't have to queue or pay to park, it is also close to so many great walks and things to do. Other great things are; Tommy, Rhona and their daughter Amy are so welcoming and helpful offering ideas for us to do locally, tips on best parking in places etc. The breakfast was delicious with local produce and eggs from the chickens in the garden , very fresh.The views from the guest house are stunning and all local amenities including some great value places to eat are in walking distance. We would have had to pay more to stay in Keswick and the hospitality would be hard to beat. I would recommend a stay there to anyone.

Room Tip: Front rooms have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedfordJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a lovely review, Tommy and I are delighted that you enjoy your stays at Maple Bank, we always look forward to your visits and feel a little sad when you leave.
Looking forward to seeing you in October Rhona, Tommy, Amy and Derek X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

When we found Maple bank on the internet we thought it would tick all the boxes for our weekend away for my wife's 50th birthday with our immediate family and my wife`s sisters and there families, but we were wrong it not only ticked the boxes, it put them in italics ,bold , underlined and positively gold plated the boxes.
There were 13 Adults, 1 teenager and 5 little ones in our party, the house accommodated us perfectly and contained everything we could have possibly wished for or needed, from the iPod music system in the kitchen which got the party going on the Friday evening to the many TVs throughout the house which gave everybody a bit of space to do there own thing from teenagers watching DVDs to little ones with there ceebeebies. We had a self prepared 3 course family meal and fancy dress murder mystery on the Saturday and once again the house came up trumps, the professorial standard kitchen appliances were perfect for the job and came complete with every kitchen device pot, pan or implement you could imagine. The space in the lounge and dining room were ideal for our gathering and provided the backdrop for a truly memorable evening.
After the hectic beginning to the weekend the house and surroundings provided a further facet on the Sunday with some of use choosing to take in the local countryside and breathtaking views and scenery, some visiting Keswick for a stroll and browse in the shops and others just chilling out in the comfy sofas which are in abundance.
Whilst I appreciate we where in good company and people make a good time together not always the location I firmly believe that the house played a massive part in the memorable time we had and I could not envisage any occasion that it would not cope with or enhance, space for a party ? peace and quiet ? places to gather as one or retreat and be alone? functionality ? excellent quality furniture and fittings ? and finally spotlessly clean, this house came up trumps and far exceeded our expectations on all these and more and I will be recommending it to all my friends.
We never got the chance to meet Rhona and Tommy as they where away during our stay but in our conversations and email correspondence prior to our stay they were always helpful and informative and always responded to any questions within a few hours and I look forward to meeting them when we visit Maple bank again.
If you do decide to book ring direct as I got a discount from other re-sellers advertised prices and you will not be disappointed.

Steve Jayne

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

WOW!! Thank you so much for the fantastic review!! Tommy and I are delighted you and your family had such a wonderful time at 'Maple Bank' and that you will all have such great memories of your wife's 50th Birthday. When you told me in your email that you were planning a 'Murder mystery' night, I thought it would be perfect.
Tommy and I work really hard keeping the house in tip top condition. We run the house as a B&B most of the year and have just started letting the house in the quieter winter months as a self-catering holiday let.
To read a review like that makes all the hard work we put into the house worthwhile.
Thanks again Rhona and Tommy
P.S. We look forward to meeting you in the summer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Beautiful house everything we needed and more. Tommy and Rhona always on hand to help out . There were 12 adults and 6 children loads of room for all . We had a perfect weekend in this amazing family home . Thank you both for letting us stay at your home my mum had a special weekend one to remember by all .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazlar2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you for writing us a lovely review, were thrilled you and you family enjoyed your stay at Maple Bank and delighted that your Mum's 70th Birthday will be the source of such special memories for all of you!
Hope to see you all again! Rhona & Tommy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Very pleasurable stay at Maple Bank, fantastic house, beautiful location, especially the view of the Skiddaw. Very personalised and welcoming hosts, eager to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Tommy and I are delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas at our home Maple Bank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have just celebrated Christmas in this lovely family house. We rented the whole house for Christmas week so that all the family (and two dogs) could be together or the holidays. Tommy the owner was a great sorce of local information and really nice and friendly. The house was very comfortable and a great base from which to visit the Lakes. It was very tastefully decorated for Christmas and we had a wonderful Family time together. Big thank you for allowing us to spend a wonderful week in your lovely home :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your Christmas at Maple Bank and that you appreciated the decorations that my daughter and I put up together. Thanks again Rhona & Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Beautiful House!! A surprise for my 50th Birthday, hired out whole house as self catering for 15 family & friends and a dog. All rooms (and en suites) well presented with good views. Rest of house perfect for our requirements, comfortable, homely and practical. 10min walk to The Royal Oak pub in the village, great food and friendly staff. Although we were self catering Tommy was on hand to ensure we had no problems. I would definately return and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Front of house for good views of Skiddaw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragon99Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you for your review we are pleased that you had a memorable 50th birthday at Maple Bank and would be delighted to welcome you and your family to our home again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Lovely hosts, very welcoming and gave us advice on what to do in our short time in the area! Clean rooms with a fantastic view and great breakfasts. Couldn't ask for anything better from a B&B. Great!

Room Tip: Room 1 had a fab view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mills27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thanks for the review, Tommy and I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Maple Bank. Rhona and Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
3.0 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#79 of 189 in Keswick
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hermiston Guest House
Hermiston Guest House
#1 of 6 in Braithwaite
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coledale Inn
Coledale Inn
#2 of 6 in Braithwaite
275 reviews
2.4 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#45 of 189 in Keswick
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Bank Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Bank Country Guest House

Address: Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range: £79 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maple Bank Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Bank is a magnificent Edwardian residence set in an acre of beautiful gardens near Keswick and commands uninterrupted views across the Derwent valley towards Skiddaw and Latrigg. It is ideally placed for walking, climbing, water sports, and other less strenuous activities like fishing or visiting local pubs and eateries!We pride ourselves on our service and wish to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.Large private car park and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maple Bank Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Bank Country Guest House Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing