We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

once again we returned to Maple Bank for 4 nights while we attended the Keswick Convention.
our 6th visit and just as good as always.
Tommy, Rona and Amy greet us warmly and can not do enough to accommodate myself and my 82 year old Mum.
The fruit salad for breakfast is the high light of my stay whilst my mum's is the fresh eggs from their own chickens!
As long as Tommy and Rhona are at Maple Bank we will be staying there.
Thanks again all of you.

Room Tip: we usually have room 3, a twin. Comfortable beds, quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorktriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you Claire for this excellent review, It is always a pleasure welcoming you and your Mum to Maple Bank.
Hope you had fun on the motorbike on your way home!
We look forward to seeing you again next year, and we manage to get over to York to see you in the winter.
Call direct to avoid paying commission!!!

Rhona and Tommy xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

lovely views from front rooms a bit of road noise but the views made up for it Rona and tommy looked after us very well and we would re vist them excellent breakfast rooms very comfy nice places to eat in the village the ivy house was our favourite well worth a vist Tommy was very obliging snd let us put our motor bike on his garage overnight We will certainly re vist lovely area of the lake district

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheenalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you Sheena and Neil for this great review, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was very nice to meet you both and Tommy is always happy to welcome fellow motorcyclists to Maple Bank.
Don't forget to call direct for best prices!!!

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed for two nights and came up for SCAFEL PIKE, from the SEATHWAITE approach. Weather was brilliant and we completed our walk with brilliant views at the top. Derwentwater was lovely and the four of us went kayaking on the lake as soon as we got here.

MAPLE BANK is a lovely place to stay and the rooms were a good size and very clean. We had a double bed room overlooking the front of the property. Wonderful views from our room. Tommy and Rhona were fantastic, friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Could not fault a thing. Wonderful experience helped by Tommy and Rhona.

Thanks for map and help with the cold water on a very hot day !

Bruce, Emma, Frank and Kate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you Bruce for this great review, we are delighted you all enjoyed you visit to the Lake District and to Maple Bank and that your planned mission to climb Scafel Pike was successful, we look forward to seeing you again on your next mission!!

Regards Rhona and Tommy
Please call for best prices!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was our first visit to the north lakes and we weren’t disappointed. The weather was kind; Derwentwater and the hill-walks beckoned and we stayed at Mapel Bank with friends for the weekend, which made the visit complete.
On arrival the house stood proud and inviting and there was plenty of parking for all. Rhona & Tommy welcomed us warmly with essential details we needed to sort ourselves out. Our room was very spacious & comfortable; en-suite with a roomy shower and plenty of fresh towels .
Other reviewers have detailed the breakfasts and we can confirm that the quality was excellent and they were happy to accommodate our requests. Breakfast was a relaxed affair for us; earlier risers were accommodated too. Fresh eggs from hens in the garden were a treat as was the expertise in the cooking. Having stayed in numerous B & B’s over the past few years we can honestly say that this was one of the best. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you Rob for this fantastic review, we are thrilled that you all feel that Maple Bank is one of the 'Best' B&B's you have stayed you were all lovely guests and we look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Regards Rhona and Tommy.
To avoid paying commission please call and book direct!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I travelled up to the lakes with my parents who were in the UK for a couple of weeks. Rhona, Tommy and family were wonderful hosts and very accommodating at short notice, including locking up my race bike for the evening. Our rooms had a nice 'homey' feel to them and breakfast is terrific with mix of fresh fruit & cereal as well as cooked to order. In all very comfortable and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you Darren for this smashing review, we are very happy that you and your parents enjoyed your stay at Maple Bank and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards Rhona and Tommy
Please call us for best prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Trawled the Website for a place that takes 2 dogs !!! Not an easy task....but stumbled across Maple Bank who were doggy friendly.Though initially thought it may be a little too far from Keswick but it proved to be good walk anyway and is also served well by a bus stop virtually outside if you want to leave the car. The surrounding villages are lovely to walk around especially when the pubs sell good beer and reasonably priced good food. Talking of food ..the breakfast at Maple Bank was fab...good choice and cooked to order. Parking is no problem with your own space ..secure at rear of property. Room was surprisingly big ...took dogs cage easily and en suite was well decorated. Our excellent hosts Rhona and Tommy were very friendly and helpful. Couldn't of asked for better.We have still lots to vist in the area ...so as Arne says 'we'll be back'.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you very much Paul and Phill for this great review were thrilled you had such a good time at Maple Bank and in the lovely villages around Braithwaite. Tommy and I will be very happy to welcome you and your gorgeous little King Charles' back to Maple Bank at any time.
Please call us for best prices.

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Having always been interested in walking the beautiful mountains of the Lake District for forty five years now,its nice to have somewhere to stay and be waited on. So looking on the website I came across Maple Bank guest house at Braithwaite,it looked perfect and had no hesitation in booking a weekend at Maple Bank.Once we got there the surroundings are very clean and tidy and made you feel instantly at ease.We were met by Rhona who was really very nice and pleasant and showed us our room which was a double room and exceptionally clean with lovely views of Skiddaw and Fells.We met Tommy hard at work in the garden (ha ha) who gave us his time to have a chat.The breakfast was execellent and any requests no trouble to them to suit your needs.Overall it was perfect,peaceful,you wont be dissapointed.Ronnie&Lynn

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you very much Ronnie and Lynn for this brilliant review. Tommy does do an excellent job of taking care of the grounds hare at Maple Bank, he's delighted that you noticed and appreciate all his hard work.
We look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

Kind Regards Rhona and Tommy.
Don't forget to call us direct for best prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
3 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#84 of 189 in Keswick
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hermiston Guest House
Hermiston Guest House
#1 of 6 in Braithwaite
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#4 of 6 in Braithwaite
298 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#64 of 189 in Keswick
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Bank Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Bank Country Guest House

Address: Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range: £83 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maple Bank Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Bank is a magnificent Edwardian residence set in an acre of beautiful gardens near Keswick and commands uninterrupted views across the Derwent valley towards Skiddaw and Latrigg. It is ideally placed for walking, climbing, water sports, and other less strenuous activities like fishing or visiting local pubs and eateries!We pride ourselves on our service and wish to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.Large private car park and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maple Bank Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Bank Country Guest House Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing