We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We can only echo what others have said, a gem of a guest house run by the perfect hosts. This was our first visit to the area and will definitely return. I see no reason to go anywhere else when we do return other than the Maple bank country house.
As others have said, Tommy’s breakfasts were excellent, plentiful and tasty with plenty of refills of tea and extra toast etc.
Thanks to Rhona’s knowledge of the area we found somewhere to visit on our last day with stunning views (Latrigg viewpoint).
2 days were not long enough to visit this beautiful area of the country and we cannot wait to return, but it will probably be next before we do, Maple bank will then be top of our list. Thanks again to Rhona and Tommy, we were made to feel more like friends than guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you Chris for this great review we are very happy that your first visit to the Lake District was so enjoyable. Tommy and I would be happy to welcome you back to our home anytime.

Kind Regards Rhona and Tommy

Please call us direct to avoid paying commission!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Thankyou Rhona, Tommy and Amy for making us so welcome. Maple Bank is lovely and warm as you walk in which makes it so welcoming.
We often pop up to the Lakes for a long weekend and I can honestly say this was one of the best we've had. The room was beautifully clean, fresh and warm, and the views were amazing, Breakfast was fabulous, good variety of cereal, fruit, yogurt and of course full english etc, all helped by friendly atmosphere all round.
We managed some lovely walking and found good places to eat locally.
All in all we had a lovely weekend, thankyou all so much. We'd love to come back soon.
Gill and Martyn, Derbyshire.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you Martin and Gillian for taking the time to post this wonderful review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us especially Tommy's breakfasts.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Please call direct for best prices!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

and again we had a great stay. We stayed for three nights and wished we'd booked a few more. Rhona and Tommy are the perfect hosts, so lovely and friendly. The breakfasts are delicious and filling, keeping you going until teatime. The room we stayed in was clean, en suite had lovely toiletries provided, and we certainly had a room with a view - overlooking Skiddaw. We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon_Barnsley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you Sharon and Rob for another great review and for choosing Maple Bank again for your visit to the lake, It's always a pleasure to welcome you both to our home, so glad your arm has recovered and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Please call us direct for best prices and to avoid paying commission!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Maple Bank for a relaxing weekend away.
It was the perfect break. Rhona and Tommy met us the morning of our arrival with open arms and at once made us feel at home. The room was alot bigger than we expected and extremely clean.
Rohna was also extremely helpful with ideas on things to do and places to go in the area. Every suggestion we loved.
I would not hesitate to recommend and I would go back in a heart beat.

Thank you Rohna and Tommy for such a perfect break away!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelastbroadcast_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you so much Charlotte and John for this fabulous review we're thrilled that you thought your visit to Maple Bank was 'amazing' and that it exceeded your expectations. I would like to thank you also for showing yourselves in when you arrived, that was a big help to us!
You were lovely guests to have and we hope to see you again next year.

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Please call direct for best prises!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed only two nights, which was way too short a time to spend here. Wonderful location, accommodations, food and the best people. They made us feel like family. Thank you Tommy, Rona and Amy you made our short time in the Lake District very special. Would love to come back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john316hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you so much John and Joan for taking the time to post this lovely review, we are delighted we managed to make your visit to the Lake District very special. We'd like to thank you for all the advice on how to plan our trip to America (when we get to go!) can't wait to visit Nashville!!!

Kind Regards Rhona, Tommy and Amy

Please call us for best prices!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Sorry it's taken such a long time to review this place. I was so impressed with this little gem of a hotel it has sparked my first ever Trip Advisor review. My partner and I booked this a little over 2 weeks before going (always ring direct for best offers) and Rona couldn't have been more helpful. We arrived with a very warm welcome and were shown to our room, facing out onto the road. A lovely, spacious yet cosy room with great tea making facilities, modern TV and the most comfortable bed I've stayed in away from home. The road noise was never an issue for both myself or my partner, we even had the windows open during one night.

Breakfast was another treat - Rona and Tommy go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and recommend places to visit in the local area too. Very informal with guests chatting between themselves and Rona and Tommy - really nice atmosphere.

There's nowhere else we'd consider staying than Maple Bank when looking at Keswick again, as we were made to feel so welcome. One particularly wet afternoon we came traipsing in and Tommy popped our soaked-to-the-bone walking boots in their airing cupboard, even leaving them by the front door later for us to collect!

Not to be missed, we'll certainly be visiting again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to join TA to post this splendid review for us, I'm sorry but as it was last October that you stayed with us I don't remember who you are?
All the same, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and mentioned guests chatting and the relaxed atmosphere, as this is what we aim for.
We hope to see you again and maybe I'll be able to put a face to the name!
Please call for best prices a avoid paying commission.

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our 4-night stay in Room 7, facing the back yard, not the A66 highway, was quiet and comfortable. The family running the Guest House was very friendly and helpful. The room was large with plenty of floor space (and a luggage rack) for our suitcases. There were nightstands, a wardrobe with hangers, a comfortable chair (requisite for 4-star Stay English rating) and a dresser with an electric kettle, mugs, etc. The bathroom was also a good size with a warm drying rack, that was turned on in the evenings and the mornings. Breakfast was the Full English Breakfast, with cereals, yogurt, and fresh fruit available. Fresh eggs were supplied by their hens in the far back of their property. We would enjoy staying again.

Room Tip: Back Room avoid noise of highway, though front windows seemed to keep things quiet. View of yard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you Carol and Max for this excellent and informative review. Tommy and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Maple Bank. If you are ever visiting Britain and the Lake District again we would be very happy to welcome you back to our home.
Please call direct for best prices, you could pay more if you book online!

Kind Regards Rhona and Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
768 reviews
3 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#86 of 189 in Keswick
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hermiston Guest House
Hermiston Guest House
#2 of 6 in Braithwaite
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#4 of 6 in Braithwaite
298 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#62 of 189 in Keswick
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Bank Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Bank Country Guest House

Address: Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range: £83 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maple Bank Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Bank is a magnificent Edwardian residence set in an acre of beautiful gardens near Keswick and commands uninterrupted views across the Derwent valley towards Skiddaw and Latrigg. It is ideally placed for walking, climbing, water sports, and other less strenuous activities like fishing or visiting local pubs and eateries!We pride ourselves on our service and wish to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.Large private car park and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maple Bank Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Bank Country Guest House Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing