We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first rate stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Thank you to Rhona and Tommy, our great hosts at the Maple Bank Bed and Breakfast, Keswick. We had a lovely room and great long conversations over breakfast which included fresh eggs from Tommy's hens. Our hosts suggested entertaining pubs and fine local restaurants to visit as well as wonderful hikes and scenic drives. It's worth staying a couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you very much for writing this wonderful review for us 'A first rate stay' is a very pleasing title. Tommy and I are delighted that you had such a lovely time in the Lake District and at 'Maple Bank'. I have to agree with you, the eggs from 'Tommy's girls' are yummy.
We hope to see you again some time in the future.

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Call direct for best prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Maple Bank Country Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

A delightful guest house with exceptionally friendly owners . Lovely clean and cozy room. Beautiful views over skiddaw.
Perfectly placed for walks to friendly pubs and restaurants, and a lovely gallery and tearoom just up the road at Thornthwaite.
Superb breakfast to set you up for the day. Well worth a stay . We will definitely be going back to stay with tommy and Rhona

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLY1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you Oliver for taking the time to write this smashing review for us, were very happy that you enjoy so much about 'Maple Bank' and this area, Including the lovely Tearoom at Thornthwaite Galleries, we look forward to seeing you very soon.

Rhona and Tommy

Please call direct to avoid paying commission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

On a recent trip to climb a couple of Lakeland mountains we had the very great pleasure of spending three nights at Maple Bank and this wasn't nearly long enough. Every aspect of our stay was first class.

Our room was bright, airy, spotlessly clean and had an uninterrupted view of Skiddaw. The bed was very comfortable, the en suite was lovely with a powerful shower and the room was well stocked with refreshments and toiletries. Breakfast was of a consistent high quality every morning and included fresh fruit as well as cereal and lots of cooked options which were impossible to resist, in spite of good intentions to just stick to the fruit!

The owners were very friendly and welcoming and we found the overall atmosphere to be very relaxing indeed, making it a short break we will remember for a long time to come.

I am certain we will return to Maple Bank the next time we visit the beautiful Lake District.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

'WOW' Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, with such kind words for us, Tommy, Amy and myself work very hard to ensure our guests feel welcome and comfortable at 'Maple Bank', To read words such as 'Outstanding' make us feel very proud and all the hard work worth while.
A good breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere is what we aim for!
Hope you got some good photos!

Kind Regards Rhona, Tomm and Amy.

Please call us for best prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Nice bed and breakfast that was dog friendly! Lovely hosts and nice breakfast! Good value for money. Room was nice and clean if a little dated. Bed appeared small for a double! Lots of parking at the bed and breakfast itself which is sometimes not always possible with lakeland b&b's.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenclaws82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are always happy to welcome well behaved dogs and are pleased that you thought 'Maple Bank ' was good value for money.

Rhona & Tommy

Please call direct for best prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We can only echo what others have said, a gem of a guest house run by the perfect hosts. This was our first visit to the area and will definitely return. I see no reason to go anywhere else when we do return other than the Maple bank country house.
As others have said, Tommy’s breakfasts were excellent, plentiful and tasty with plenty of refills of tea and extra toast etc.
Thanks to Rhona’s knowledge of the area we found somewhere to visit on our last day with stunning views (Latrigg viewpoint).
2 days were not long enough to visit this beautiful area of the country and we cannot wait to return, but it will probably be next before we do, Maple bank will then be top of our list. Thanks again to Rhona and Tommy, we were made to feel more like friends than guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you Chris for this great review we are very happy that your first visit to the Lake District was so enjoyable. Tommy and I would be happy to welcome you back to our home anytime.

Kind Regards Rhona and Tommy

Please call us direct to avoid paying commission!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Thankyou Rhona, Tommy and Amy for making us so welcome. Maple Bank is lovely and warm as you walk in which makes it so welcoming.
We often pop up to the Lakes for a long weekend and I can honestly say this was one of the best we've had. The room was beautifully clean, fresh and warm, and the views were amazing, Breakfast was fabulous, good variety of cereal, fruit, yogurt and of course full english etc, all helped by friendly atmosphere all round.
We managed some lovely walking and found good places to eat locally.
All in all we had a lovely weekend, thankyou all so much. We'd love to come back soon.
Gill and Martyn, Derbyshire.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you Martin and Gillian for taking the time to post this wonderful review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us especially Tommy's breakfasts.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Please call direct for best prices!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

and again we had a great stay. We stayed for three nights and wished we'd booked a few more. Rhona and Tommy are the perfect hosts, so lovely and friendly. The breakfasts are delicious and filling, keeping you going until teatime. The room we stayed in was clean, en suite had lovely toiletries provided, and we certainly had a room with a view - overlooking Skiddaw. We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have amazing views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon_Barnsley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you Sharon and Rob for another great review and for choosing Maple Bank again for your visit to the lake, It's always a pleasure to welcome you both to our home, so glad your arm has recovered and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Please call us direct for best prices and to avoid paying commission!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
653 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
203 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#14 of 17 in Keswick
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Bank Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Bank Country Guest House

Address: Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range: £78 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maple Bank Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Bank is a magnificent Edwardian residence set in an acre of beautiful gardens near Keswick and commands uninterrupted views across the Derwent valley towards Skiddaw and Latrigg. It is ideally placed for walking, climbing, water sports, and other less strenuous activities like fishing or visiting local pubs and eateries!We pride ourselves on our service and wish to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.Large private car park and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maple Bank Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Bank Country Guest House Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing