We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Ranked #4 of 7 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a delightful B&B. We had a room at the top of the house for our 2 night stay with fantastic views. The room was very clean and comfortable. Rhona & Tommy are great hosts & do a cracking breakfast. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marianne_lewis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much Marianne & Adrian for writing this lovely review for us, we're very pleased you had a good time and enjoyed the views from 'Maple Bank' and that you would be happy to recommend us. We hope to see you again.
Kind Regards Rhona and Tommy.

For best prices please call direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
120
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a really nice B&B, the breakfast was very good and the hosts very friendly. Our room was at the top of the house with a wonderful view of the hills. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you Margaret for writing this lovely review for us, we're very pleased you enjoyed you stay with us at 'Maple Bank' and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards Rhona Tommy and Amy.

Please call direct to avoid paying commission
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just got back from staying here for 2 nights.

This is a very nice bed and breakfast. Room was nice, perfectly sized with everything you need (TV, hair dryer, tea/coffee/hot chocolate and a bed of course!)

My only downside to the room was that room 4 only had a view of the garden, it would have been nice to be at the front of the house with the lovely hill views but I guess that's my fault for not booking far enough ahead as it was fully booked at the weekened)

Make sure you ask for a room with a view at the front of the house if there is availability still.

The owners were very pleasant and breakfast was definately one of the best we've ever had in a b&b. Lovely full english breakfast with 2 sausages, 2 bacon, egg (cooked however you want), fried bread, mushrooms, beans and toast. They also have cereal, fruit juices and fresh fruit salad which was very nice. They constantly refilled the juices so they never ran out and it seemed like they do breakfast very efficiently (seems silly to say but we've stayed in b&b's which were nowhere near as efficient as this)

Plenty of parking at the front and also round the back of house and only a few minutes drive to Keswick where there's plenty of pubs/restaurants.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room with a view, room 4 unfortunately only has a view of the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flashsam7267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello Sam Thank you so much for taking the time to write this brilliant and very informative review for us. We're delighted to here that you thought Maple Bank was very efficiently run, we do try really hard.
You are quite right about the room allocation, we have four rooms at the front of the house which have the views for Skiddaw and surrounding fells and three rooms at the back which look out over the gardens and car park and hens. We allocate rooms on a 'first come first served basis'. So if you would like a room at the front please call us and we'll do our best to assist you.
I can see from your picture that you had a great time with the 'Lemur's', we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards Rhona Tommy and Amy

Don't forget to call us direct for room allocation and best prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for one night and arrived really early. Tommy was great and we were able to check in straight away. The views from the front of the hotel are spectacular. Our room was on the top floor at the back and was really peaceful. We had everything we needed, even a fan if it got too hot during the night. The bed was so comfortable, it was the best nights sleep I've had in a while! Breakfast was really tasty, fresh coffee and juice, fresh fruit, muesli, yoghurt and a full English breakfast. It was more than enough to set us up for the day ahead. Rhona made a real effort to tell us where to visit and how to get there, which was a great help. We will definitely visit again, thank you!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front will have a great view, but I couldn't fault mine on anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaynecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you Jayne for taking the time to post this excellent review for us, we're delighted you enjoyed your visit with us. It's so nice to read such kind words, we look forward to meeting you both again sometime, give us a ring if you would like a room at the front and we'll make sure we direct you to a decent pub serving decent meals!
Kind Regards Tommy, Rhona and Amy.

Please call direct for best prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The biggest compliment I could give Rhona and Tommy is that others thinking of going into this business should pay a visit to see how a guest house should be run. You get a warm welcome and a great breakfast particularly the freshly prepared fruit. We got some great advice that made our 2night stay all the more pleasurable. Namely if planning to take the boat trip around derwentwater water starting at Keswick, don't park at the open air theatre next to the jetty as it's £5 for only 4 hours. Park instead by the pencil museum where it's only £4 for all day and it's only a 10 mins walk to the jetty. There is a good pub in braithwaite, the royal oak, which serves good food. If you turn immediately left at the pub and drive down the new lands valley you have spectacular views. Park on the hillside above the bridge inn to avoid congestion then go for a lovely walk around butter mere and finish with a pint of cocky blonde ale in the fish inn pub. The weather was 27 degrees and cloudless but there was a fan in the bedroom just in case you needed it. If you need to use the wifi stand on the landing or go down to reception to get a good signal. Maple bank is well located with plenty of parking and great views and equally great hosts. We would stay again without hesitation.
T

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeloflove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much Chris and Claire (C&C) for this fantastic review, a great compliment indeed.
We're thrilled you had such a great time with us at Maple Bank and enjoyed our breakfasts and all this area has to offer. What can I say about the WI-FI - we are looking into improving it, but as we're both 'tech-no-phobs' we don't really know what's best. It was very nice to meet you both and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards Rhona Tommy & Amy

Please call us for best prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our usual guest house in Keswick was full due to the Convention in the town. As we wanted a last minute break we looked on t'internet and found this fabulous guest house in a beautiful location. Rhona and Tommy made us very welcome. Our room had breathtaking views, especially the sunset. The room, breakfast and overall ambience was wonderful. We met other guests who have kept returning here over several years. What better recommendation is that? Thank you, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you Christine and Paul for writing such a fantastic review for us, it's so nice to read such wonderful comments about us,our house and surrounding area. We're glad you managed to catch a fabulous sunset. You were lovely guests to have and we look forward to welcoming you to our home again in the future.

Kind Regards Rhona Tommy and Amy
Please call direct for best prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Maple Bank is situated on the outskirts of the delightful village of Braithwaite. It is easy to locate and has ample on-site parking. It is a quiet, peaceful setting, yet minutes away from the town of Keswick, and has easy access to the northern and western fells. The friendly and attentive hosts, Rhona and Tommy, made sure I had everything I needed. My room was larger than average and had everything you would expect. Breakfast was excellent in quality and quantity.
Overall, this is a place I would certainly return to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you Dan for taking the time to write this smashing review.
We're so glad you enjoyed your weekend walking and felt that Maple Bank was an ideal base, we hope to see in the future sometime.

Kind Regards Rhona Tommy and Amy

To avoid paying commission please call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
2.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hermiston Guest House
Hermiston Guest House
#2 of 7 in Braithwaite
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Bank Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Bank Country Guest House

Property: Maple Bank Country Guest House
Address: Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maple Bank Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Bank is a magnificent Edwardian residence set in an acre of beautiful gardens near Keswick and commands uninterrupted views across the Derwent valley towards Skiddaw and Latrigg. It is ideally placed for walking, climbing, water sports, and other less strenuous activities like fishing or visiting local pubs and eateries!We pride ourselves on our service and wish to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.Large private car park and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maple Bank Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Bank Country Guest House Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing