We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great village pub”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Royal Oak Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braithwaite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great village pub”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We always make a point of visiting the Royal Oak when we are in the Lakes - its a great village pub, always busy, always a friendly greeting and lovely food. Back here this August for the first visit to the Lakes in a couple of years and the Royal Oak is just a as good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Compactduvetflon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    27
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
36
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I didn't stop over, but instead I took advantage of the menu. I had a Yorkshire Pudding for mains, with Sticky Toffee Pudding for afters. Both were superb - really good pub food and very tasty. Would highly recommend the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu-type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have visited the Royal Oak for food and drinks for the last two years and decided to stay there this year for two nights. We have previously tried to book rooms before so I would recommmend that you book early in high season. The room was spacious and very clean with twin beds, the bathroom was large with a bath and shower and lovely fluffy towels. Other family members had a double room with a four poster bed, a travel cot was provided which was in excellent condition and there was still plenty of room. The staff are really friendly and very hospitable ensuring their guests needs are met. Breakfast was excellent and boasts a good range of cerials and cooked products, the menu for meals offer a wide choice at good prices. The Royal Oak is an excellent place to stay, its great value for money set in a beautiful location. I would recommend that people visit for themselves and enjoy the hospitality that the Royal Oak provides!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biglands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

coming down after the coledale horseshoe a group of us needed a quick lunch and drink,we were very lucky and only got a table as 1 family left- so fully expected a long wait for food
much to our surprise food all came very quickly and i can honestly say it was the best £5 lunch ever. generous portion, lovely side salad , simply amazing value for money.
live fairly local so cant wait to go back with wife and kids
top marks to all the staff ! will be highly recommending to all

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We've been in the Royal Oak many times for food and drink in the past but, this was our first time actualy staying there. Couldn't fault the place - it was wonderful. Very spacious room with four-poster bed, very clean and warm. Great views from our windows. Evening meals - very substantial as was the hearty Cumbrian breakfast. The log fire in the bar is a great feature and perfect to sit beside after a hard day on the fells with a great pint of ale. A superb inn in a superb setting. Would love to return again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecavanaghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Having stayed at the Royal Oak many times my wife and I make it our first choice if we are in the Lakes. The rooms are comfortable and the food is good ( smaller portions are available not just for children) The staff are most welcoming and the atmosphere is friendlt and relaxing.Great place to stay if you are a walker.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have baths, otherwise its showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here for three night in the middle of january, not exactly the perfect time of the year to visit the lake district but we had a fabulous time. We were lucky enough to stay in the room with a huge four poster bed which was beautiful and the views outside the window were amazing. Rooms are warm, clean and a slightly small bathroom but sufficient shower.
For breakfast there is a choice of different cereals, fruit, yoghurts and juice. Then a staff member takes your order for a cooked breakfast such as bacon, sausages, eggs, tea and coffee etc. Can't complain at the choice and quality. We also had a few lunches and evening meals and although the menu isn't very extensive, the food is top notch and delicious (would highly recommend the mushroom pasta).
The bar is well stocked and even during the daytime off peak season can still get reasonably busy. Staff are always available and very friendly, offering tips and avice whenever asked.
There are plenty of walks around the area ranging from small and easy, to full day super fitness required walks. You easily lose track of time as the surrounding area is quite stunning; snow capped mountains, rolling hills, lakes and wildlife.
Loved my time here and the best part after a long and strenuous walk was to come back to the pub and sit in front of the fire and have a nice drink.
Would deffinitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.2 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Braithwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coledale Inn
Coledale Inn
#1 of 7 in Braithwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing