We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Royal Oak Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braithwaite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Our first stay here was about 5 years ago, tried to book up twice last year but it was full. We had a lovely room, comfy bed, great views, big TV. Ate 3 nights in the bar, food was excellent. Red wine was at perfect room temperture. Open fire was on so the atmosphere was warm and cosy. It is the ideal location for walks in the north/north western lakes/fells. We will be back, if we can get booked.

Room Tip: Pillows are a bit hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

A very busy pub but only allows dogs in after 9pm which is understandable,we got around this by asking if we could order and eat it in our motorhome which they had no problem with.
We could not sit outside as it was one of the wettest nights ever 30/12/12
The food was excellent , i had the best slow cooked belly pork i have ever had. We will be seeking out 'The Royal Oak' on our next visit to the Lake District.
I highly recomend their food and hospitality
Just wish we could have gone back for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1_Andy_Croydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in Braithwaite and surrounding areas, walking and sight seeing. The Royal Oak was a great place to stay. The bedrooms really comfortable, the food was excellent, with a extensive menu, breakfast first class. Nothing was too much trouble, helpful and friendly staff too. A cosy pub with roaring fires and lovely Christmas decs. We will be back again in the summer, superb value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaGraphicsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Having been double -booked elsewhere we arrived on a very cold Friday afternoon for a 2 night stay. The staff were very pleasant (as they were all weekend!) and welcoming and the room with 4 poster bed was spotlessly clean. A roaring real fire in the bar area meant it was very cosy and warm - as was the mulled wine!
We had dinner on both nights and all meals were good quality, plentiful and very filling. Breakfast was exceptionally good too. Juice, cereals and a very full English breakfast (scrambled/fried/poached egg, bacon, sausage, black pudding, tomato, mushrooms, beans and fried bread or any combination of ) complete with as much toast, tea and coffee you could want. No one had any excuse to go hungry!
The Roal Oak is situated perfectly for plenty of walks or a quiet stay.
All in all, we had a lovely stay. I note others have said in their reviews that the matresses were uncomfortable - but we had no problem. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank das1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

The staff were resentful of customers, the food was abismal but expensive. The furniture is tired and grimy.

Frankly it seems only to survive because it's in the village centre.

Avoid this place. There are much better options.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dibblydowcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My daughter, giant Schauzer and myself stayed at the Royal Oak for two nights. After a long journey from London the welcome was warm. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bar area was cosy and inviting. The dinner and breakfast menues were good and the portions generous. Only fault was that the walls inbetween the rooms are very thin and you can hear what is going on very clearly!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed here last weekend. The location is perfect for walking the pub/hotel was comfortable nice and warm with a warm welcome. The food was very good and good value for money. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The only negative was that the mattresses need replacing in some of the rooms as they were noisy and kept us and others with the same problem awake!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mataxalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
0.1 mi away
Coledale Inn
Coledale Inn
#2 of 6 in Braithwaite
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#4 of 6 in Braithwaite
298 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#68 of 189 in Keswick
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermiston Guest House
Hermiston Guest House
#1 of 6 in Braithwaite
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing