We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb country pub !!”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Royal Oak Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braithwaite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Almost don't want to say how fantastic this pub is in case you all want to rush there and we have to fight to book when we want to go !!
This homely cosy pub never fails to please. The welcome from Terry and all his staff is warm and friendly and continued throughout our five night stay - nothing was too much trouble. Chefs deserve a huge pat on the back for producing excellent food in record time.
The absence of piped music accentuates the excellent ambience and promotes the sound of conversation and laughter. Well done Royal Oak -don't change the recipe !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

My sister's been going here every autumn for years, and it is a brilliant place. downstairs it's a proper English Pub - no piped music, professional bar staff, nice atmosphere. the restaurant meals are available in a very pleasant dining room, and the bar (where we ate), and the food is excellent! in fact we ate there every night. the rooms are clean, comfortable, all amenities, great views (and mine was over one end of the pub, but not at all noisy). breakfast is a combination of buffet - cereals, yoghurt, etc; tea and coffee are freshly made and brought to the table, as is any hot food, including traditional cooked breakfasts, kippers, excellent porridge..
Braithwaite itself is a beautiful village, well situated within the Lake District, with walks from the hotel, or via car or the lake ferries.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertRain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Royal Oak is a brilliant pub for a meal with a brilliant atmosphere. Although it was full to capacity, the meal was ordered and delivered in excellent time. The food was excellent. The staff were friendly and, what I think was the landlord, was friendly, amusing and it was a pleasure to be there. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lunn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

6 of us ate here as we were camping at a nearby campsite. Although we sat just outside the restaurant as the pub was busy, we asked the waitress if we could order at our table to which she responded with a grunt that we must order at the bar (a little daft considering there were 6 of us and were seated within inches of the restaurant anyway). The cutlery was then brought over with a slam on the table and nothing more said and then on collecting the plates, we werent even asked if the food was ok.

We got the distinct impression that we werent welcome in the pub and considering we spent well in excess of £70, we werent even given a thankyou as we left.

I would not recommend going back to this pub as they clearly have better things to do than serve their customers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

good beer but disinterested and miserable staff

unable to comment on the food - we couldn't eat there because we had a puppy

will stick to the two friendly places in Braithwaite - Middleruddings Hotel & Coledale Inn

a great pity because the pub seemed OK

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed at this lovely B&B in early August for a walking holiday with the family.

From the outset the landlord and his staff were friendly, welcoming & the pub/restaurant & my room was immaculate.

We walked every day and the location of the B&B is near to the start of some well known walks such as Cat Bells & Haystacks (to name but a few!) and also Keswick is only a short drive away.

The B&B is above a busy pub that serves walkers, people from the nearby campsite & those in the time share properties adjacent to the B&B, but lovely and quiet at night.

The breakfasts were delicious and also if you ask the staff they will make up a fresh pack lunch to take on a day's walk if your don't want to make your own.

Also, if you are planning on taking your dog on a walking holiday, this is a good choice as the B&B is dog friendly and welcomes well behaved dogs.

All in all, a great venue with lovely clean and well furnished rooms together with nice service and friendly atmosphere. We will be booking up for next summer!

Room Tip: Room 9 is above the annex and furthest away from the bar area if you wanted no noise at all during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirstie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We recently stayed at Thornthwaite Grange B&B and the Royal Oak was recommended. We dine twice in the pub and were very satisfied with the meal and the variety. We were made to feel very welcome and treated like regular customers by the staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
0.1 mi away
Coledale Inn
Coledale Inn
#1 of 6 in Braithwaite
291 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#60 of 196 in Keswick
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#4 of 6 in Braithwaite
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermiston Guest House
Hermiston Guest House
#2 of 6 in Braithwaite
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing