We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Special Lunch - must visit”

The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$76
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Award winning restaurant with rooms featuring the best of Cumbrian produce
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Special Lunch - must visit”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and stopped for lunch, without a booking, and with our dog. It was no problem at all. We sat outside, the view was amazing.

The noise was amazing - silent!! It was just lovely place to sit and eat some really good food.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The food was lovely, the portions appear very small but actually for lunch were perfect. I didn't even have dessert.

My husband loved the raspberry jelly cube severed with coffee, I loved the pigeon. But it was by far the best malt bread i have ever eaten!!

So glad we stopped and had some time here

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cherry_Daniella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    32
    16
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hallelujah! Fine dining in the Forest”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I am so grateful to Kath and Liam for treating me as a VIP. The restaurant, attached to the B&B has become renowned not just to guests but throughout the Lakes and beyond. Located in the Whinlatter Forest near Braithwaite, this lovely couple have poured their love and passion into cresting a haven out of a former rundown cottage, now a showcase of a B&B with modern amenities and an great view. They even have their own spring water piped in from atop the hill. They have crested a truly fine dining establishment with a young and creative chef at the helm and every dish, I'm the amuse bouche to the truly decadent Palet D'Or chocolate extravaganza dessert, is a winner. You can order a la carte but it is a set menu, seasonal, local and surprising in the high quality of both the meal and the service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirribilli, Australia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Special night out”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our party of 4 saved this for our last night in the area - and were delivered a polished evening of fine food & service in a lovely setting. Warm welcome, knowledgable on the wine, and we were not hurried, allowing us to savour this special experience. The food is definitely of the fiddly variety with so many high notes, it was almost overwhelming but the quality was without question. Enjoyed bites with aperitif (accompanied by a fine G n T), amuse bouche soup, then onto our choices from the small balance seasonal menu. For me the salmon starter and then the wood pigeon, all very delicate, and finished up with a selection of local cheeses. My husband was at first put out by the small choice but was nonetheless pleased with his finessed beetroot starter, followed by the fish. We did like the look of the set menu but were not able to commit to a meal of that length.

With several bottles of wine, we certainly paid for the priviledge but were rewarded with a memorable evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheConstantEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Another lovely experience at The Cottage.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A Tuesday evening return trip to `The Cottage in the Wood` , Braithwaite in the heart of the English Lake district. I decided to go for the a la carte this time as the Summer Tasting menu was still running from my last visit in April. Warm welcomes and friendly smiles all around set the standard as soon as i entered the restaurant. It`s good to see smiles and it put me in a great mood from the off.
There`s two choices at dinner here. The first choice is the 8 course Tasting menu which apparently will be changing with the seasons. This menu is currently running at £ 60. The a la carte menu offers a second choice at £45 for 3 courses and consists of 4 starters , 4 mains , 4 desserts. Not a great deal of choice but with a small team operating out of a tiny kitchen and putting quality food on the plates then this is totally understandable.
The head chef young Chris Archer is now settled in and it`s obvious that his previous employers have carved him into a bit of a perfectionist in the kitchen.Chris comes with a good C.V having worked at Midsummer house , Winterningham fields and Yorke arms.
A stunning location in the heart of the Lake district National park and an amazing escape from the perils of city life. A `must go to` destination for lovers of nature , walking , photography , food and basically lovers in general. Great service from genuinely nice people. A small but well thought out and reasonably priced wine selection with some nice wines available by the glass. The food – well I would have liked to have seen more choice and some new dishes on the a la carte but what`s on there is all faultless, very well cooked and presented.
Only one negative ( for me ) and that`s the same as my last visit ……Cmon guys , and get some Wild food on to those plates. The forest is alive and it`s right outside the front door , it`s like walking into a Wild Supermarket. I`ll get Chef a foraging book for Christmas.
For those on a budget then there`s a very well priced lunch menu on , 2 starters , 2 mains , 2 desserts at £20.95 for 2 courses and £25.95 for 3 courses….No excuse not to go really.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cumbriafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splendid food”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent food, excellent service. Only slight gripe was that they were very happy to replace bottles of water without telling us that they cost £4 each. Not enough to spoil the experience though, by any means.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing