We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bisoi B&B Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braithwaite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bisoi B&B Suites
Ranked #1 of 8 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“A special find!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at Bisoi for 2 nights which is our only regret as we wished we could have stayed longer! We stayed in the Latrigg suite with its own decked area overlooking the breathtaking views. The bedroom and separate lounge are very spacious and the bathroom has a fantastic power shower and White Company bath products! Everything about our stay was amazing...the little things like our own bathrobe, the Nespresso machine, the best breakfast ever, freshly cooked homemade cake every day and, of course, owners Stewart and Judith who are fantastic, all of which made our stay very special. I am hoping next time, as you say Stewart, that my husband can leave his work at home to explore a bit more, however, it is the ideal place to just relax in and take in the views if that's what you want to do. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance and several walks from Bisoi...menus and guided maps are left for you to browse. My husband managed to leave some clothes in the wardrobe and Stewart very kindly posted them to us which was very much appreciated! As other people have said you have to experience it for yourself to truly appreciate what an amazing find Bisoi is...I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Latrigg Suite has its own decked area via patio doors from the lounge...nice to sit on in the sun in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateFarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart_Tauber, Owner at Bisoi B&B Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you Kate for making us your first review. It is always lovely to hear how much our guests have enjoyed themselves. It was a pity that David had so much work to do, but at least you managed to enjoy the decking and get out for a good walk up Barrow.
We are pleased that you intend to return and we look forward to it.
Regards,
Stewart (and Judith)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
272
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in the Skiddaw suite on the first floor. The separate bedroom and lounge with lots of little touches was great - something we have struggled to find before in the UK unless you fully self cater. The suite was immaculate and the breakfast each morning was in the lounge area with views of the mountains. The food was beautiful with a wide choice to suit all tastes and appetites! The fresh fruit, porridge and home made marmalade were all delicious, as were the cooked breakfasts. In the afternoons we returned to a different home made cake each which was quickly devoured with a cup of tea after a long day out walking.
Judith and Stewart were great hosts and we left feeling like we had made new friends. We will definitely return in the near future.

Room Tip: Both rooms have the same fantastic view and bedroom to the rear. The Skiddaw on the first floor has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart_Tauber, Owner at Bisoi B&B Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you Anne Marie for your kind words. We are, of course very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you plan to return. You certainly got plenty of good walks in, including the very recently sold Blencathra, and in good weather. I'm pleased Paul enjoyed his Gyroplane flight on your way home.
We look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Stewart (and Judith)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Latrigg suite for two nights during our May 2014 driving tour of the UK and we both feel that the Lake District was a major highlight, primarily based on our stay at this lovely Bed and Breakfast. The facilities are wonderful, homey and comfortable, yet gorgeously decorated.

I travel a lot for business and hotel bathrooms are a pet peeve. This one is outstanding. The shower head has plenty of pressure and the temperature is always perfect. It may sound like a small thing, but coming home after a day out on the lake getting rained on, it's heaven!

Communication throughout the booking process was excellent. The service was perfectly balanced, warm and friendly without ever approaching overbearing or pushy. Breakfast in the room was a delight. Stewart and Judith were lovely hosts, available for questions and offering helpful tips for our stay. It was truly like staying with friends. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Bisoi to friends and have already done so many times over!

Room Tip: Some reviewers mentioned noise from the floor above, but we never heard a peep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart_Tauber, Owner at Bisoi B&B Suites, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you Kathy for that great review, and for your kind words.
You certainly had a good tour of the UK and amazed that you find the drivers here polite, although, yes, on the highways, in general they are.
It was really lovely meeting you and Mark, and you never know, we might pop in for a cuppa when in Florida.
Regards,
Stewart (and Judith)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is the best place you could ever hope to stay. I could end there. However, a little detail for those who need more persuasion...
The room itself is exceptionally comfortable, well-equipped and clean. Emphasis on the exceptional! It is difficult to get across, in words, just how incredible the accommodation at Bisoi is. You will just have to see it for yourself.
Stewart and Judith are superb hosts. They just know exactly how to deal with their guests.
The breakfast is fantastic! It might be worth staying at Bisoi just for that (if all the other reasons aren't enough for you!).
Just go there... you will be talking about it for weeks afterwards.

Room Tip: There's only two. We stayed on the ground floor and it was excellent (outside decking a big plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart_Tauber, Owner at Bisoi B&B Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
What a lovely review Luke, thank you very much.
We were so pleased all your plans came together. Sophie was surprised when you drove up and she realised it wasn't a campsite. I would love to see your timed photo of you on one knee, proposing to her on the fells, and in great weather.
We wish you both lots of happiness, and hope to see you again.
Regards,
Stewart (and Judith)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife & I looked everywhere for somewhere to stay for 8 nights in the Lake District with accommodation that compared to places we have stayed abroad- especially Homestay in New Zealand. There they have independent living units, with a separate lounge, bedroom and bathroom and you can have breakfast in your room (usually a continental breakfast delivered the day before). It's like looking for needles in haystacks to find anything like that in the UK!

But we really struck gold with Bisoi! It ticked all the boxes and more. Stuart & Judith are most attentive and welcomed us with tea and newly baked cakes. What's more, we had new cakes every day when we got back in the evening and we had fresh milk in a jug in the fridge for drinks- none of this artificial stuff you get in most B & Bs and hotels. There's even an expresso coffee machine.

The suites are purpose built and are luxurious- no expense spared. There's a separate lounge with leather & suede sofas, a separate bedroom with a very comfortable bed and lovely shower room, equipped with luxury towels and toiletries as well. We had the Latrigg suite, so outside we had our own veranda where we could sit and enjoy the view over the hills opposite. Yes the A66 runs in front as well, but Bisoi is set back from this and we had no problem with noise- especially as the bedroom is at the back.

Breakfast is ordered the night before and delivered personally to your lounge area by Judith and/or Stuart where you eat at your breakfast table at your own designated time. Choice of food is really good and if you want something not on the menu, they get it for you- in our case Apple juice (and they didn't get any old Apple Juice- it was the best)! We especially liked the granola with yogurt & fruit and the porridge is something else- best we have tasted anywhere.

It was kept superbly clean and we were well supplied with clean towels, linen, etc., even if we didn't really need them. If we had to find a fault, it would be the limited selection of TV channels (they use DTV, which is far fewer than Freeview/ Freesat), but as we didn't watch much TV that didn't really spoil our stay. They do also have a DVD and modern MP3(?) players if you don't want the telly.

All told, we have never stayed anywhere that compares to it in the UK and it deserves all the accolades it is getting. It claims to be good and it is- it really is superb!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms. We chose Latrigg on the ground floor so we had a veranda, but Skiddaw upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart_Tauber, Owner at Bisoi B&B Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Well thank you John for your excellent detailed review. It was a pleasure having you and Heather stay with us for the 8 nights. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your marathon tour of the UK and especially that you enjoyed Bisoi so much. You were very lucky with the weather, being able to sit on the patio before and after breakfast planning your day, and then again in the late afternoon with your afternoon tea and cakes.
We do hope that you visit us again.
Regards,
Stewart (and Judith)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

All of the other reviews are accurate. Bisoi is a wonderful place to stay. There was so much more space than a typical room, the food was great and there are a lot of hill walks very close by. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DontWorryBeHappy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart_Tauber, Owner at Bisoi B&B Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your review Beth. It was good to see Peter relax after his nightmare drive to us and I hope he got back to Boston with less stress.You did have splendid weather for your walking.
Regards,
Stewart (and Judith)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were lucky enough to spend 2 nights in the Skiddaw suite in late June, and I can honestly say that I cannot recommend Bisoi highly enough. The Skiddaw suite is blessed with breathtaking, panoramic views of the Skiddaw mountain range which can be enjoyed from the comfort of the luxurious living room. The bathroom and bedroom (complete with kingsize bed) are also fantastic and are far superior to your bog standard B&B. The breakfasts were superb- we had porridge, fruit platters, a full English breakfast and toast with homemade jams on both mornings we were there. And as a porridge connoisseur I would go as far as saying that Stewart's porridge was the best I have ever had the pleasure of tasting! Apparently Stewart's secret was/is the use of jumbo oats, so the first thing I did when I got home was to buy some jumbo oats- they have revolutionised my life! I digress somewhat, we also had fresh lemon drizzle cake waiting for us on our arrival. That was followed by delicious homemade chocolate brownies on our second day- it is worth staying at Bisoi for the food alone.

Braithwaite is a fantastic little village with more than its fair share of restaurants/pubs in walking distance from Bisoi. It is also a great base to explore Keswick and the beautiful mountains which are right on your doorstep.

There are only 2 suites at Bisoi. As a result you get an unrivalled personal service from Stewart and Judith which you simply wouldn't get at another B&B. Breakfast is brought to your room and Stewart, Judith and Oscar the dog are so friendly and attentive, they did everything in their powers to make our stay an unforgettable one.

In summary, if you are thinking of staying in a B&B in the Keswick area, look no further. The Skiddaw suite is 5 star luxury which, coupled with the amazing food, make for an unforgettable break. It has barely been a week since our stay but my wife and I are already planning our next stay at Bisoi.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart_Tauber, Owner at Bisoi B&B Suites, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Well, thank you so much for that in depth review Mark, and can I say it was a pleasure having you and Sarah stay with us.
I may have told you the secret to my porridge ingredience, however I didn't tell you how many times it has to bubble once it has boiled.
Thank you for helping Judith look for Oscar (he can smell dead sheep from 2 miles), although he would have returned eventually. I bet you cursed that you bumped into her on the final leg of The Coledale Horseshoe, adding another 15 minutes to your walk.
We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Stewart (and Judith)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
577 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
565 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
315 reviews
15.2 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 105 in Ambleside
1,086 reviews
2.1 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 177 in Keswick
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bisoi B&B Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bisoi B&B Suites

Property: Bisoi B&B Suites
Address: Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bisoi B&B Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 6th.April 2012, Bisoi was awarded 5* within 3 months. The highest accolade was awarded after a stayover by Visit England in July 2016, 5 star Gold and Breakfast award. It has consistently been awarded Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence. Each suite has an adjoining door to your own lounge overlooking Skiddaw and Latrigg, where you will be served your breakfast in peace, also a decanter of sherry in your lounge for your pre-dinner drinks. Free wifi and off the road parking. The village of Braithwaite is two miles from Keswick and has a good choice of real ale pubs which serve good bar meals and restaurants for finer food, in fact there are four eateries in walking distance. You can easily walk to several fells. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bisoi B&B Suites Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing